We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residenza Il Carmine
Ranked #33 of 302 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed in the Domus apartment which was great value. From the moment we arrived, the service was amazing. The lady that checked us in was so helpful, showing us around the apartment, recommending local restaurants and marking things on the map for us. The apartment was beautiful and spacious with a kitchen for cooking. The location was good to get a feel for the non-touristy side of Florence. It was still walking distance to the sites, but just a bit of a hike. Also worth noting is that the apartment was super secure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NicR89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
55
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed for three nights at Il Carmine in March. The apartment, Oro, had a nice little kitchen, living room, bathroom, and bedroom, all opening into a pleasant garden. The price was very fair in comparison to other places in Florence. The best thing about Il Carmine, in my estimation, was the location. It is close enough to all the sights in Florence that you can just come back for lunch, a nap, whatever, and then head back out once you're rested. This makes for a great base for exploring Florence. The apartments are also located in an area with fun bars and restaurants at night (Santo Spirito). The owners were also quite accommodating and responsive. Recommended.

Room Tip: Oro is good for two people, but not more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kernsands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American Samoa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Residenza Il Carmine in September at a very reasonable cost. We had five in our group and rented three of the one bedroom units, all just off the garden area. Our units were really apartments with a separate bedroom, bathroom, and a kitchen area with a table, refrigerator, and a cooking unit. The rooms were stocked with breakfast items such yogurt, pastries, jam, and coffee. We sipped wine and ate snacks in the lovely garden area. Catherina was extremely helpful, giving us several great recommendations for dinner and gelato in the Oltoarno area. All in the group were extremely happy with the stay and would definitely stay again at Residenza Il Carmine on future trips to Florence.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IslandboyAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Our daughter is studying in Florence, Italy this semester and my older daughter and I went to visit her during her fall break. We stayed at Residenza ll Carmine and throughly enjoyed the entire week. I have to mention, we had some problems in the beginning with no luggage, lost passport etc. and Emilio and Caterina were at our side helping up resolve the problems so my daughters and I could experience Florence together. When we arrived we were greeted by Caterina and our apartment was stocked with water, snacks, tea, coffee and yogurt, a welcome site for weary travelers. My daughters and I enjoyed meals out in the beautiful courtyard. I would highly recommend staying at Residenza ll Carmine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaC5763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fermo, Italy
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at this B&B in January 2012 and we had a wonderful stay here. It is conveniently located in a quiet area, just 10 minute walk from Palazzo Pitti and 20 minute walk from the city center. The owners are very welcoming and when we arrived they left some fruit and snack for us to enjoy during our stay. Everything is immaculate and taken care of in the slightest detail. We would definitely stay again at this B&B.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilaria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Residenza is indeed the perfect base for exploring Florence, starting with the Oltrarno neighborhood, which is not touristy at all, but filled with great restaurants, shops and only a 10 minute walk across the bridge to the center of the city. Our studio apartment was charming and immaculate and stocked with basics which made our stay easy...yogurt and croissants for the first morning, a bottle of water, salt and pepper, olive oil and vinegar. So thoughtful. There is also a lovely garden and the area is quiet. We will never stay anywhere else in Florence!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Spa, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

While our daughter was studying overseas in Florence, we were fortunate enough to visit Italy twice in 6 months. Both times we stayed with Emilio and Caterina, and found the apartment-style living absolutely fantastic! We actually stayed in three different apartments during the two trips, and each one had its own charm. The furnishings are beautiful, and the owners could not be more gracious. It is a located across the river from the more famous tourist attractions, but that is part of its charm, as you gain a great appreciation of the day-to-day life of the full-time residents of Florence.

Now we are extremely excited to be going back for another visit, and we wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else. Each apartment is affordable, clean, and beautiful. And having a kitchen in each apartment makes staying and eating in Florence more affordable. There are markets nearby, with wonderful fresh vegetables and fruits, and it's a brief walk to the beautiful Piazza Santo Spirito, which is full of nightlife all year long (it's also the home of some of the best restaurants in the area ... see my reviews of the three Gusta restaurants!)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Piazza del Carmine
Piazza del Carmine
#296 of 675 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Residenza D'Epoca Al Numero 8
Residenza D'Epoca Al Numero 8
#176 of 675 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Pitti
Residence Palazzo Belfiore
Residence Palazzo Belfiore
#1 of 302 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Residence Michelangiolo
#26 of 302 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Casale dei Cento Acri
#7 of 302 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Dimora Pieri
Dimora Pieri
#82 of 302 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Il Carmine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Il Carmine

Property: Residenza Il Carmine
Address: Via d'Ardiglione 28, 50124, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 302 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residenza il Carmine is the ideal alternative to a standard hotel.We are located in the Oltrarno ( meaning "Beyond the river Arno ),in Santo Spirito area,just few steps from Ponte Vecchio,Pitti Palace and Uffizi Gallery.One of the most fascinating parts of the city,where the narrow streets,little squares,old trattorias,markets and craftsmen'sworkshops,still breathe the spirit of old Florence.Our apartments,well furnished and particulary warm,are located in our beautiful garden and in the historical 17th century Palace.Residenza il Carmine è la perfetta alternativa ad un hotel.Ci troviamo nell'Oltrarno,nella zona di Santo Spirito,proprio a pochi passi dal Ponte Vecchio,Palazzo Pitti e la Galleria degli Uffizi.Questo è uno dei luoghi più pittoreschi e affascinanti della città,dove le stradine, le piazzette, le vecchie trattorie e i mercati ci fanno ancora respirare il legame con la Firenze antica.I nostri appartamenti,totalmente e finemente arredati,si trovano nel giardino della Residenza e nel Palazzo storico del 1600. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing