We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More minuses than pluses”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
B&B Il Gattopardo Firenze
Ranked #326 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Pluses: good location, clean rooms, decent bathroom and shower.
Minuses: not a real "B&B." You help yourself to whatever is in the kitchen and that's the breakfast. Kind of a joke. WiFi is basically nonexistent. Only accessible in the common room, and only one or two people can be logged on at the same time. Otherwise the system crashes. Manager Alkmini gave us restaurant recommendations which were subpar (overpriced food, poor quality). Beware the kiosk next door is a 24-hr hang out for locals who sit and drink and talk all night on the door stoop. Noise level could get bad at times especially at night.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MindyLePooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 100 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

The b&b is professionally run.

It offers a large shared living room, a small shared kitchen and free wifi.
Rooms are for rent with private or shared bathrooms, so check this when booking.
Rooms are small, but clean and comfortable.
Beds are made daily.
Breakfast is offered at a local cafe around the corner and is very basic with 1 croissant and 1 coffee.

The b&b is at the heart of the city which is very good.
The downside is a lot of noise at night from people, cars and the city cleaning service. We experienced this before in another b&b close by, so you can not hold this against il gattopardo. You just have to deal with it.
There is no airco which would be nice at summer.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
Thank HHoover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I have nothing but the best things to say about IL Gattopardo! The location cannot be beat, the accommodations are extremely clean, and the service is outstanding. Our vacation included a group of 11 women renting out the entire bed and breakfast as an apartment. We arrived in Florence earlier than expected, but still very late in the evening. Alkmini was able to meet us at the apartment within 20 mins without any prior notice. Once there Alkmini was extremely helpful and informative while showing the apartment. The entire group was blown away by how wonderful everything was...we even left our bags at the apartment while we spent the day shopping. The only problem was that we were only staying one night…if we had known how comfortable we would have been we would have booked at least two additional nights!

Alkmini, thank you for a fabulous time in Florence!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErinT127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

You simply can't beat the location of this place. Your walking distance to pretty much everything worth walking to around Florence. The place is clean, the rooms are a good size and the kitchen offered everything one would need. The manager Alkmini was great. We even left items we had purchased in Florence in our room and she was kind enough to ship them to us in the States. Great person to deal with. The last time in Florence we were in a hotel but after this experience I wouldn't even consider it. Instead, save your money and take advantage of this place!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksharpe98021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Il Gattopardo. You can't get any closer to the center of Florence. The apartment is really beautiful, although we didn't spend much time in there. (Several bedrooms have shared access to the rest of the apartment.) We really enjoyed chatting with Alcmena, too. Our room was very clean and had everything we needed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shekkish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

It was fun to discover where and how the B&B was situated. Indeed, the location was perfect !
The staffs were very frendly, especilly Alk was really helpfull at any moment!!!
This is the place where we can really remmonded to our friends.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uchino_Oni-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

it's a wonderful hotel with perfect location! you just have to walk 5 meters to find yourself in the heart of florence! the building itself (and the apartment) is amazing!!
and it was quite fun to have a private bathroom outside our room)))

Room Tip: all rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#132 of 409 in Florence
669 reviews
Duomo
B&b Casa di Dante
B&b Casa di Dante
#422 of 659 in Florence
65 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Cestelli
Hotel Cestelli
#238 of 659 in Florence
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Florence Metropole
#153 of 409 in Florence
2,038 reviews
San Lorenzo
Plus Florence
Plus Florence
#15 of 325 in Florence
2,555 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#48 of 409 in Florence
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Il Gattopardo Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Il Gattopardo Firenze

Address: Via Dei Magazzini 1, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #326 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $54 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gattopardo B&B is located in the heart of Florence, between the Dome and P.zza della Signoria. It's furnished with precious furniture, beautiful rugs, under a vaulted ceiling with frescoes and wooden beams, completely renovated. The comfortable, chic bedrooms all have a private bathroom, a 26” LCD screen television and free wireless Internet connection. You are also welcome to use the kitchen facilities for the preparation of coffe, tea ecc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B Il Gattopardo Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing