We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“More minuses than pluses” 3 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Il Gattopardo Firenze

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B&B Il Gattopardo Firenze
Ranked #270 of 631 Florence B&B and Inns
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“More minuses than pluses”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Pluses: good location, clean rooms, decent bathroom and shower.
Minuses: not a real "B&B." You help yourself to whatever is in the kitchen and that's the breakfast. Kind of a joke. WiFi is basically nonexistent. Only accessible in the common room, and only one or two people can be logged on at the same time. Otherwise the system crashes. Manager Alkmini gave us restaurant recommendations which were subpar (overpriced food, poor quality). Beware the kiosk next door is a 24-hr hang out for locals who sit and drink and talk all night on the door stoop. Noise level could get bad at times especially at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MindyLePooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    21
    11
    8
    1
See reviews for
5
47
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

The b&b is professionally run.

It offers a large shared living room, a small shared kitchen and free wifi.
Rooms are for rent with private or shared bathrooms, so check this when booking.
Rooms are small, but clean and comfortable.
Beds are made daily.
Breakfast is offered at a local cafe around the corner and is very basic with 1 croissant and 1 coffee.

The b&b is at the heart of the city which is very good.
The downside is a lot of noise at night from people, cars and the city cleaning service. We experienced this before in another b&b close by, so you can not hold this against il gattopardo. You just have to deal with it.
There is no airco which would be nice at summer.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HHoover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I have nothing but the best things to say about IL Gattopardo! The location cannot be beat, the accommodations are extremely clean, and the service is outstanding. Our vacation included a group of 11 women renting out the entire bed and breakfast as an apartment. We arrived in Florence earlier than expected, but still very late in the evening. Alkmini was able to meet us at the apartment within 20 mins without any prior notice. Once there Alkmini was extremely helpful and informative while showing the apartment. The entire group was blown away by how wonderful everything was...we even left our bags at the apartment while we spent the day shopping. The only problem was that we were only staying one night…if we had known how comfortable we would have been we would have booked at least two additional nights!

Alkmini, thank you for a fabulous time in Florence!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ErinT127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

You simply can't beat the location of this place. Your walking distance to pretty much everything worth walking to around Florence. The place is clean, the rooms are a good size and the kitchen offered everything one would need. The manager Alkmini was great. We even left items we had purchased in Florence in our room and she was kind enough to ship them to us in the States. Great person to deal with. The last time in Florence we were in a hotel but after this experience I wouldn't even consider it. Instead, save your money and take advantage of this place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ksharpe98021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrison, CO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Il Gattopardo. You can't get any closer to the center of Florence. The apartment is really beautiful, although we didn't spend much time in there. (Several bedrooms have shared access to the rest of the apartment.) We really enjoyed chatting with Alcmena, too. Our room was very clean and had everything we needed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shekkish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

It was fun to discover where and how the B&B was situated. Indeed, the location was perfect !
The staffs were very frendly, especilly Alk was really helpfull at any moment!!!
This is the place where we can really remmonded to our friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Uchino_Oni-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

it's a wonderful hotel with perfect location! you just have to walk 5 meters to find yourself in the heart of florence! the building itself (and the apartment) is amazing!!
and it was quite fun to have a private bathroom outside our room)))

Room Tip: all rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Prestigia Rooms
Prestigia Rooms
#245 of 631 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Duomo
B&b Casa di Dante
B&b Casa di Dante
#366 of 631 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Duomo
Bronze Horse
Bronze Horse
#206 of 278 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Condotta House
Condotta House
#300 of 631 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Cestelli
Hotel Cestelli
#172 of 631 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Duomo
Soggiorno la Pergola
Soggiorno la Pergola
#362 of 631 in Florence
3.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Il Gattopardo Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Il Gattopardo Firenze

Property: B&B Il Gattopardo Firenze
Address: Via Dei Magazzini 1, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 631 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gattopardo B&B is located in the heart of Florence, between the Dome and P.zza della Signoria. It's furnished with precious furniture, beautiful rugs, under a vaulted ceiling with frescoes and wooden beams, completely renovated. The comfortable, chic bedrooms all have a private bathroom, a 26” LCD screen television and free wireless Internet connection. You are also welcome to use the kitchen facilities for the preparation of coffe, tea ecc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your B&B Il Gattopardo Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing