We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low-fi but worth it”

Opera at St. Mark's Anglican Church
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.94*
and up
Florence Concert and Dinner
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Love Duets’ Concert: you do not have to be a lover of Italian Opera to enjoy this wonderful evening. It’s set in a small church from 1800’s. You have a piano, soprano & tenor performing Opera’s love song and Italian love songs. The setting and performance is overwhelmingly powerful. You’ll be moved to tears by the emotions. Not to be missed.
Edinburgh, UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Low-fi but worth it”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

very intimate and very accessible. Great experience. The host made it simple to understand what was happening in each act and the singers / actors were great. We loved it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank busastep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    848
    127
    21
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Opera Experience - La Boheme”
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were visiting Florence for our 30th anniversary and I wanted to surprise her with a special evening and bought tickets for La Boheme. Very different and intimate experience as the furthest seat from the "stage" is only 25 feet away. Professional cast in full costume performs on a minimalistic set accompanied by an excellent pianist. Each act was introduced by a narrator in english so the uninitiated can follow the plot. Rudolpho, Mimi, Marcello and Musetta were all wonderful. If you come in the winter dress warmly as the Church had very little heat and the outer door to the street was open for unknown reasons, but it fit with the setting of a winter in Paris. Enjoyed it so much we're going back in two days to see Madame Butterfly.

Helpful?
2 Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“An unforgetable evening!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We booked a package which included dinner followed by the Opera. The church made a beautiful backdrop, and was historic and romantic. The show is made up of just three individuals; the pianist, male singer and female singer, and yet it was a captivating performance with several great opera pieces performed. It felt like a private opera show, and is a must see in Florence.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmanphill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We booked this opera night out online and duly went along and really enjoyed it all. only 4 people were involved...a soprano,tenor and pianist....but it was soo delightful..

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank veranda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Musical evening in Florence”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

A visit to this church during our recent stay in Florence was one of the highlights of our holiday. We saw Carmen the particular night we were there and the quality of the singing was excellent. They have a varied programme and would definitely go back to hear them again. The church adds to the atmosphere of the evening; and what with the glass of prosecco during the interval and the friendliness of the organisers, we found this to be a very enjoyable evening. We emailed them directly and they reserved the tickets for us.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MorganG315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opera at St. Mark's Anglican Church also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Opera at St. Mark's Anglican Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing