We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Traviata, intimate and inspiring.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Opera at St. Mark's Anglican Church

Opera at St. Mark's Anglican Church
Book In Advance
$63*
and up
Florence Concert and Dinner
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Love Duets’ Concert: you do not have to be a lover of Italian Opera to enjoy this wonderful evening. It’s set in a small church from 1800’s. You have a piano, soprano & tenor performing Opera’s love song and Italian love songs. The setting and performance is overwhelmingly powerful. You’ll be moved to tears by the emotions. Not to be missed.
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“La Traviata, intimate and inspiring.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Having pre-booked four tickets to see La Traviata we had mixed expectations. After all, an adapted version for only four singers is an ambitious project. However, we were thrilled and delighted by some wonderful operatic moments; Violetta's (Chiara Panacci) controlled and expressive coloratura, Alfredo's (Maurizio Marchini) plaintive and beautiful rendition of 'Amore, Amore', the thunderous 'squillo' of Giorgio's (Lisandro de Guinis) baritone and the sweet sound of Flora/Annina's (Eva Mabellini) dulcet voice along with sympathetic, humourous and dramatic acting. Moreover, the amusing summarising of the narrator (Franz Moser) added to the overall intimacy and entertainment. We would thoroughly recommend anybody, be you fans of opera or not, to book tickets for a wonderful evening of culture in the heart of Firenze! Enjoy!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Pen7376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    778
    120
    21
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wow!Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I booked this before we went as had read about it on here.I Wasnt quite sure what it was going to be like as in a church not a theatre..WOW! From the first opening notes that wer sung you knew you were in for a real treat! I can not emphasize enough just how amazing this was! As it is set in a small church it is so wonderfully intermate and the acoustics were fantastic! It literally made your hairs stand on end!! PLEASE go and see!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Intimate Opera”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

An amazing night out in Florence. La Traviata in four acts with great singers and a fabulous narrator. The setting is wonderful, a church just south of the Ponte Vecchia, you sit very close to the singers and feel part of the performance. The whole experience was marvellous, we would highly recommend this to anyone, opera lover or not. We have very rarely been to the opera before and loved this evening.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OldmanPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

For what it is, the opera at St. Mark's is pretty wonderful. We were just 5 minutes late and it created such an interruption, but the cast were comical about it. The church is beautiful and the people were warm and friendly. We'll be visiting again the next time we are in Firenze :)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MissSociology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This was our first opera and was a wonderful experience. We saw La Boheme in 4 acts, before each act the narrator explained the scene before it was played out, which was very helpful and entertaining in itself. There was a brilliant atmosphere and the singers were fantastic, we will definitely go again when next in Florence, could not recommend this enough.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opera at St. Mark's Anglican Church also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Opera at St. Mark's Anglican Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing