We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Florence Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
J & J Historic House Hotel
Ranked #171 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Peaceful Florence Hotel”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

This is a gorgeous hotel down a quiet street very near the Duomo and walking distance to many great restaurants. It has a lovely courtyard which you can relax in and have a drink. The rooms are decorated beautifully and you can tell there has been real care and attention to detail with the interior design. The staff are very friendly and we had a lovely breakfast each morning. This is a true little boutique hotel.

Room Tip: We had the lovely room just off the courtyard which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshO11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    150
    60
    21
    22
See reviews for
70
257
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I can't say enough about how enjoyable my stay was at Hotel J & J. I stayed for 6 nights and would have stayed another 6 nights!

First, this hotel is like walking into a very well appointed home that was prepared just for you. Every little detail was perfect. The comfy sofas and chairs throughout, the books, lighting, rooms, beds, breakfast in the morning and so on. The staff was very attentive and accommodating. Richard at the front desk was great.

The rooms were nicely appointed as well. We stayed in room 12 and it had a lovely terrace if you wanted to step out in the morning to have a nice up of coffee or tea. It was a nice little sanctuary in the morning and evening hours.

The hotel is conveniently located to the Domus and other attractions. Many shops, restaurants and mini markets close by for water and other items.

The hotel itself is on a quiet street which was very serene.

I would highly recommend to all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gandy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spokane, washington
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I have stayed here on three prior occasions in 2012 and returned this May. This is truly a wonderful place with accomodating staff, excellent breakfast and comfortable rooms. No request was too much for the staff. I have stayed now in 4 different rooms and they are all more than adequate with clean bathrooms, antique furnishings, and exude the charm of an old inn.My only warning is that one must be strong to get up the stairs to many of the rooms. If not, request a ground floor accomodation. Look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Many rooms require a climb up steep stairs so if you are older or infirm, request a ground floor roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puttvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2014

when we walked in we were kindly recieved and we could ask whatever we wanted. They would book every restaurant and show us the whole city on a map. service wise it is good!
But the rooms aren't as fancy as on the pictures and it's not really cosy.
Also the breakfast wasn't good at all. They start the breakfast at 7.30 and when you arrive at 9 the food isn't good anymore.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valentinebelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2014

As you walk into the reception you see this is not just another 4* hotel, the furnishings are exquisite 2 Large sofas await and you are met by a very welcoming receptionist and you are taken through the dinning room into a courtyard where the smell of Jasmine knocks you back, heavenly. Into your room in our case off the courtyard the main room with the bathroom off and in the corner a old stone staircase leading up to a mezzanine with a comfortable chair and a wardrobe. The furniture was all beautiful and the room spotless. Breakfast was simple but adequate with scrambled egg and bacon. We came back to the hotel in the evening after our evening meal and would sit in the courtyard smelling the Jasmine and having a last drink of the day, heaven.

Room Tip: All the rooms were different and although we didn't see another rooms people who a spoke to said...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

A beautiful historic building tastefully renovated and furnished does not automatically make a great hotel. The place appears to be run by junior staff with a limited understanding of the hospitality business. With so much competition in this city service needs to be impeccable and the breakfast more than just a few packets and jars from the supermarkets opened.

We had a room on the first floor which had a nice "trendy" looking bathroom which was not fit for purpose (shower flooded bathroom as glass screen too small and water didn't drain from sink down the designer slit plug hole...). Internet service was a joke (we got reception sitting on one cushion of the sofa in the sitting room but not the one next to it).

This is nothing more than a well-placed over-priced bolt hole. Luckily Florence has so much to offer you barely need to spend any time at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This was an excellent choice of a 4 star hotel with good location in a studentish part of centre of Florence. Near enough to everything. Rooms are all different so check them out first - go far junior suite if you can

Room Tip: suite high up on front recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ds213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
#118 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cellai
Hotel Cellai
#83 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Monna Lisa
Hotel Monna Lisa
#86 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Home Florence
Hotel Home Florence
#90 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Pitti
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Starhotels Tuscany
#100 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J & J Historic House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J & J Historic House Hotel

Property: J & J Historic House Hotel
Address: Via di Mezzo 20, 50121, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#92 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#143 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — J & J Historic House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 4 star hotel located in the historical centre of Florence... wonderful buffet breakfast, Free Wi-Fi internet and a charming and accomodation staff are what awaits you at our wonderful hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your J & J Historic House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel j And
j And Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing