We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Some Kind of Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of J & J Historic House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
J & J Historic House Hotel
Ranked #152 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Some Kind of Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

Make no mistake, the J and J is a hidden gem of a hotel. Location-wise, it's perfectly placed within walking distance of the main sights, but far enough away to give you a feeling of serenity when you're walking back down its quiet side street (Via Mezzo) at the end of a busy day. A former 16th century monastery, it retains enough original architectural and decorative features to give you at least a flavour of a serene monastic retreat, and the little courtyard is simply gorgeous. If you want a romantic retreat (like my Partner and I), and are brave enough to ditch the predictable comforts of the Hiltons and Marriots of this world, you should definitely check this hotel out. It seems as if many of the previous polarised reviews (either extremely good or extremely bad) were given on this basis - i.e. that the J&J doesn't live up to it's 4* status. If it's that kind of predictable luxury you're after, don't even consider this hotel. But in our opinion, it's the many differences and quirks it offers that makes it so charming. It's also in a really cool, slightly-studenty area, with many great eating establishments within easy walking distance. The area is also very 'non-touristy', so learn a few words of Italian, and try your best to mix with the locals. My only grumbles about the place are that the breakfast buffet is adequate rather than impressive, and the bar bills are outrageous (6 euros for a coke?!), but you live and learn. As some of the other reviews pointed out, the rooms really differ in style and location within the hotel. Rooms 1 and 2 are right on the communal courtyard, so if you're shy, it's probably best to avoid these! We had a superior double, and it was lovely. It felt like a private apartment rather than a hotel room. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flamenco_Sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    135
    52
    20
    19
See reviews for
64
227
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2008

The bedroom was ok. The bed fairly comfortable but bedding a bit shabby. There were no tea/coffee facilities in the bedroom and nowhere to relax apart from on the bed. The room was dark. The bathroom was the highlight of the accommodation with a huge bath and cascading shower. The breakfasts were absolutely shocking for the standard of accommodation. Stale bread rolls and pastries, dubious looking scrambled egg every other day. Yoghurts and cheese (?!). Bad coffee which was disappointing given we were in Italy. We wouldn't go back!

  • Liked — The bathroom
  • Disliked — The location, the darkness of bedroom, lack of areas to relax, lack of facilities, breakfasts
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sandrinhgam50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crickhowell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2008

My Mum and I stayed at this hotel in February. We booked a junior suite using lastminute.com.

We arrived at the hotel at 8pm and were taken to our room. We were initially given a very large room on the ground floor (no.11 I think). The bathroom was very large and recently modernised (all marble fittings and very nice). Unfortunately, after staying one night in this room we had to be moved as the heating did not work. The following day we were given another room which was also a junior suite with a mezzanine. The mezzanine had room for a double and one single bed (see photos) and downstairs there was a small lounge and bathroom. Again, the bathroom had been recently modernised and was very nice.

We found the hotel staff to be very helpful and the breakfast was fine although a little limited.

The hotel is located off the beaten track but within 10 mins walk of the Duomo. The hotel staff recommended two local trattorias for evening meals and we found them both to be excellent. One is about 20 metres from the door of the hotel (on the corner) and the other was called Natalinos which was just around the corner. We were very pleasantly suprised how reasonable all of the prices were for food and wine throughout Florence.

The only bad point was the lack of internet access. I took my laptop on the trip as I had read that the hotel had complimentary wifi access (and this was one of the reasons why we booked this hotel). However, when we arrived I found that wifi could only be accessed in the lobby area and would also cost 5E an hour and had to be used in one go. There was no other internet access in the hotel - I was suprised by this as, by experience, I have recently come to expect a complimentary PC with internet access as standard in the lobby area for guests to use free of charge.

  • Liked — The bathrooms
  • Disliked — No internet access
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GeeeBeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murwillumbah, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2008

Our third stop in Italy was Florence. We once again chose this hotel after reading reviews from TripAdvisor members.

The quaint, cosy setting particularly appealed to us. We had booked a double deluxe room and were upgraded to a Jnr Suite. The room had all the charm we had been hoping for. A cosy loft style bedroom and ample lounge area downstairs. The bathroom was finished in stone and was a perfect, homely feeling hotel.

The hotel was only a short walk from the Duomo with supermarkets located close by also.

The dining area was small and personal, with a common area with comfortable lounges and reading material for a quiet moment between seeing Florence's wonderful sites.

Highly recommend this hotel to any travelers passing though Florence!

  • Liked — The cosy, personal service.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank davidandpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARMA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2008

After a long search between charming hotels in Florence, my choice was at J AND J... My bet was won! Since the hotel is a real jewel of Florence.. It's like discover a secret place.. you'll never imagine that in that street you'll find a place like this! The 19 rooms are all different one to the other since the hotel was a medieval coventry once.. The suites are enormous.. we slept in room N° 5 which was a deluxe and I really suggest it because it's special.. there is also a bathtube at the side of the giant bed!
The only disappointment was the breakfast.. too small for a 4**** hotel.. Also the foreign service could be better...

  • Liked — The medieval athmosphere
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FRANKLEONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scandinavia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

Myself and my girlfriend were both looking much forward to see Florence and we had booked a small but seemingly pleasant hotel called J and J via recommendations on this and other sites.

The carefully renovated little reneaissance palace turned out to be a hotel jewel, one of the most charming little hotels I have visited to date ! A very spacious and beautifully decorated jr suite, wonderfully quiet although in the heart of the city, was our airconditioned luxury home for one hot week in August. It was a delight to wake up for the generous breakfast buffet in the morning. The elegant and timeless interior of J and J is perfectly matched with a subtle modern touch such as a discrete plasma screen tv in the room, and a very inviting mosaic bathroom. The friendliness, professionalism and absolute customer dedication of the staff is normally only found in global five star hotels. Nevertheless, the little J and J has managed to keep their hotel atmosphere very homely and informal, which is just right when you are on a holiday. No stressed conference people running in there, no ugly corporate meeting signs. Just timeless Italian elegance at its best.

  • Liked — Overall atmosphere of a small but delicate hotel
  • Disliked — It was a bit difficult to find
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank style_uncompromised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

This is a great little gem of the beaten track. All the attractions of Florence are within a 15mins walk and it feels less busy than in the centre of town where most of the hotels are located.
Looks and feels like a Boutique hotel with a little seating area in the front and the breakfast room overlooking a lovely courtyard. Staff were extremely helpful. I ordered a bouquet of roses for my partner to be in the room on arrival and they turned out to be the largest long stemmed red roses I had ever seen. Staff also made great restaurant recommendation. One evening we dined in a small restaurant in a part of town where most tourist wouldn't go. I must say it was one of the best meals we ever had with the antipasto platter being freshly prepared in front of us.
The room we stayed in was on the small side but had a large courtyard on the back which would have been great in summer. We also had a large canopy bed which I had always dreamed of sleeping in.
This is the kind of hotel I would always recommend to anyone.

  • Liked — The Character
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MGlaessel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
#121 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 664 reviews
Santa Croce
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
#51 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,297 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cellai
Hotel Cellai
#85 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel River
Hotel River
#96 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 690 reviews
Duomo
Grand Hotel Cavour
Grand Hotel Cavour
#117 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 1,353 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Home Florence
Hotel Home Florence
#78 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J & J Historic House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J & J Historic House Hotel

Property: J & J Historic House Hotel
Address: Via di Mezzo 20, 50121, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#143 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — J & J Historic House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 4 star hotel located in the historical centre of Florence... wonderful buffet breakfast, Free Wi-Fi internet and a charming and accomodation staff are what awaits you at our wonderful hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your J & J Historic House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel j And
j And Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing