We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel”
Review of Sina Villa Medici

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sina Villa Medici
Ranked #94 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga
Level Contributor
113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Grand Villa Medici is beautiful. I believe it used to be a personal residence. It is an easy walk to the centre of Florence where the historical sights are. It is not right in the middle of the historical centre. It was walking distance from the train station. The room was large with a balcony overlooking the pool which was very nice for sipping nice Tuscan wines. The only issue is that the bathtub likely needs to be recaulked as it leaked when you took a shower. The staff was friendly and helpful. It is close to restaurants. The grounds were also nice for sitting and relaxing by the pool.

Room Tip: Try to get one overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annrcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    205
    85
    21
    17
See reviews for
143
310
21
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helotes, Texas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Room was spacious, bed was comfy, bathroom was huge! But a/c could not be turned on. It was cool enough to open windows but our room faced the street side and we were across from a very loud bar. We were sold an internet card and told we could use it on two devices, just not simultaneously, but we couldnt.
Breakfast buffet was fit for royalty! Delicious, healthy selections and i opted for mimosas both mornings.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mymexicaneyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in early October as part of a Perillo tour. The hotel itself is nice, the rooms are large, the bathroom nice, etc, However, felt the staff was unfriendly, and the desk clerk on duty for the 3 nights we were there was downright arrogant, They still use old fashioned keys on this big bulky keyring that will weigh down your bag, and they only give you one key, kind of a problem when there are 2 of you in one room and you have different itineraries or don't want to be glued at the hip the entire time, When we rec'd the key and I questioned the aforementioned clerk about only one key, he was almost belligerent with "Yes!!! Only one key!!!" Wasn't very impressed with the breakfast, not bad but very ho hum. It was quite warm while we were there, but the hotel had turned off the a/c for the season, and didn't seem too concerned when everyone in our tour complained of being hot at night. We did open our windows, which helped, but we had a front room which sits on a very busy street and the traffic woke us up continually throughout the night (we were only on the 2nd floor). Also, even though their website advertises free wifi, this is not the case. Not only that, but you can't just use it and have it billed to your room, They don't have a "flat fee" - you have to buy a prepaid card at the front desk that has time limits. Again, when we questioned the desk clerk about the wifi (because we had researched the issue before arriving and read free wifi), he rude about that a well, "Wifi is NOT free!" This hotel is far from inexpensive, the staff could stand to be a little more pleasant to its guests. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone, and if I ever get to Florence again, I certainly won't be returning here.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Our stay was pleasant, staff very friendly, rooms fairly sized, nice and clean, and close to everything. Breakfast was included and we had this in garden area with champagne inclusive. Vey quiet area, total relaxation

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Umberto F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dracut, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel. Large clean room with AC and clean bath. Lovely pool area to sit and enjoy drinks before dinner out. The staff was friendly and helpful with every request. Location offered many places to choose from for lunch or dinner within a short walking distance. Breakfast buffet offered many selections and the fruit was as fresh as can be,

Nice large lobby area, friendly staff, good food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Williams84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINA_Hotels, Direttore at Sina Villa Medici, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you so much for posting your excellent feedback regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Medici.
It is a pleasure for me to learn that you enjoyed and have a pleasant sojourn.
I really look forward to welcoming back soon here in Florence.

A presto,
Gaetano Torino
General Manager
Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

A week in Florence in 30c + heat was made more bearable by staying at this hotel. The gardens and pool provided a cool sanctuary when the sightseeing was over for the day. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and we couldn't have asked for more. The room was great with good views over Florence. Ok the room may have had a bit of faded elegance but then all of Florence is like that. All bedding and towels were changed every day. Wi-Fi was free but having to get fresh cards when the time ran out was a bit of a pain and the hotel should look to improve that aspect. Would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: rooms on the fifth floor have the best views as some of the room on other floors can have an obstruc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINA_Hotels, Direttore at Sina Villa Medici, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you so much for your excellent comments about your recent stay at Grand Hotel Villa Medici. It is always a pleasure to read that our Clients enjoyed their stay with us and appreciate our services.
I really look forward to welcoming you back soon for another memorable sojourn.

Arrivederci,
Gaetano Torino
General Manager
Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londerzeel, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Villa Medici. Very clean hotel. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Personnel at reception desk gave us very good advice on typical italian small restaurants in the neighbourhood. Upon our request we have been given a room upgrade. Breakfast is great. Swimming pool and garden are a nice extra. On walking distance from the historical centre. Top ! One small minor point : WiFi is not free of charge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINA_Hotels, Direttore at Sina Villa Medici, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you very much for your excellent review posted about your recent stay at Grand Hotel Villa Medici.
I am really happy to read that you have appreciated our service and location. I truly look forward to welcoming you back soon for another pleasant stay.

Arrivederci,
Gaetano Torino
General Manager
Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montebello Splendid
Hotel Montebello Splendid
#58 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#17 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
#132 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#14 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sina Villa Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sina Villa Medici

Property: Sina Villa Medici
Address: Via Il Prato 42, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Florence
#47 Family Hotel in Florence
#52 Business Hotel in Florence
#58 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#78 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sina Villa Medici 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fine art of hospitality in the heart of town in an 18th century noble palace featuring a splendid garden with outdoor swimming pool, a fully equipped fitness club and meeting rooms overlooking the domes of Florence. At the roof top some suites with jacuzzi on the terrace boast a superb view over the town.The Restaurant “Lorenzo de’ Medici” and the “Conservatory” on the pool offer an all year round enjoyable dining room. The “Jockey Bar”, balancing modern with traditional style is an ideal corner for relaxing moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sina Villa Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Medici
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing