We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of best bargains in Florence”
Review of Sina Villa Medici

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sina Villa Medici
Ranked #84 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel absolutely deserves a higher ranking on tripadvisor. Big, comfortable rooms... Excellent service... Relaxing, clean pool - it's got everything. The only possible reason for not staying here would be the fact that it is not located in the city center. But don't let that affect your decision - the city center is just a ten minute walk away. Great deal. Great hotel. Ask if they have any free upgrades available. Worked for us.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank dc3998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (808)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

384 - 390 of 808 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel with beautiful rooms (including bathrooms), excellent service and nice grounds + swimming pool. Location is good too, walking distance to all the major spots in Florence. The patio upstairs is perfect to enjoy beautiful views of the city during the day and night. And their breakfast is yummy - with lots of options.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nomadic_Piggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel is located about 15 minutes walk from the center of Florence, in a somewhat quieter area although on a main road. There are pros and cons to being away from restaurants, museums, etc., although the hotel operates a free shuttle service for guests. The staff is very friendly, from the doorman to the reception clerks and the housekeepers. I would agree with other comments regarding the bathroom. It was huge and luxurious. While the room was well-furnished and clean, it was uncomfortably hot, because guests cannot control their own thermostat. The weather was quite cold while we were in Florence, and opening the window to get some relief from the heat was only a temporary solution because it quickly made the room too cold, as well as noisy from traffic below. I would also note that the hallways were a bit shabby.

Room Tip: If you need to open your window, try for a room that does not face the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 103JonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINA_Hotels, Direttore generale at Sina Villa Medici, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for sharing with us your good impressions about your recent stay at Grand Hotel Villa Medici.
I am anyway sorry to learn that you were partially dissatisfied about your stay in regard to the A/C system and please forgive us for that.
I really look forward to welcoming you back soon and I will be more than delighted to make personal arrangements for your next stay.

Arrivederci.

Gaetano Torino
General Manager
Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This hotel has well -appointed rooms - the bathrooms are luxurious and the lobby is breathtaking. But, many other parts of the hotel are tired looking. We found the English speaking doorman very helpful. The rooms were overheated. The walk to old town is around 15 mins.
We were disappointed to find that after paying for our accommodation for two days in advance, in cash, and after requesting the final costs up-front- that we paid in full; upon checking out, we were issued with an additional tax (2 TAXES HAD ALREADY BEEN PAID).
Considering the price of this hotel, very little care is taken of their paying clients: wi fi wasn't included, no in- room coffee or tea making facilities available, the courtesy bus wasn't available when we asked and the hotel offered no parking. Although, they will arrange the parking of your vehicle with the parking garage across the road for 40 Euro per day - strangely enough, we walked across the road and they parked our car for 10 Euro per day less. Overall, we found this hotel below par for the price.

Room Tip: Find out in advance what you will be charged for and try to pre-pay for this accommodation getting d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shauna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINA_Hotels, Direttore generale at Sina Villa Medici, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am very sorry to learn that you were not totally satisfied of your recent stay at Grand Hotel Villa Medici. I am furthermore sorry to read the misunderstanding with the Reception about the City Tax, which I wish to clarify is a tax imposed to all hotels in town by Florentine Municipality. I can anyway assure you that you did not pay twice the same tax.

With regard to the car parking, as most of hotels in downtown, we have no garage space therefore we offer a valet parking for the guests which we believe is reasonably a bit more expensive than when a guest drives and park the car by himself.

I am sorry again for that but, above all, that I did not have a chance to meet you during your stay.

We really hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to Grand Hotel Villa Medici, in which case I will be delighted to arrange you future stay personally .

Arrivederci,

Gaetano Torino
General Manager
Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Firenze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I visited Florence over Thanksgiving and stayed at this hotel on the recommendation of American Express travel service. We were very satisfied with our stay. The hotel was very well kept and the rooms were spacious and well-appointed. We had a balcony overlooking the pool/garden area that was nice for relaxing with a glass of wine after dinner. Like most other hotels, there is no air conditioning in the room, so it can get warm. Opening the balcony door cools the room pretty quickly but also lets in the mosquitoes. A screen door would be a nice addition. The wi-fi was a bit inconvenient. You have to buy these prepaid cards from the front desk.

The staff was friendly and helpful and were very eager to help with making dinner reservations and giving suggestions on place to visit. They were also very helpful in providing directions. I was told that there was also a courtesy car to shuttle you to and from the center of town but we never used it. It seemed like a silly feature since its only a 10 minute walk to the city center anyway.

Breakfast was very good- much better than the standard breakfast you find at your typical Italian hotel. We also had dinner at the hotel one evening and were very pleased with the food and service. We were surprised that there was only one other table seated the entire time we were in the restaurant.

The location was good as well. It is very close to the train station and a pretty quick walk to the city center- again maybe 10-15 minutes. It is also only a couple of blocks away from the Hertz and other car rentals, so it was very convenient for us since we rented a car to take a day trip to Pisa.

Overall it was a very positive experience and I would recommend this hotel and will definitely consider staying here again on my next trip to Florence.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINA_Hotels, Direttore generale at Sina Villa Medici, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Thomas,

I would like to thank you for posting your positive feedback about your recent stay at Grand Hotel Villa Medici. Your excellent impressions are value-added for us to always maintain the tradition of high standards and good service.
Thank you very much again and I look forward to meeting you soon personally here in Florence.

Arrivederci.

Gaetano Torino
General Manager
Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The view is amazing. The staff is friendly, and so is the pool staff. The pool is a great place to cool off in on hot days. The breakfast buffet is ok but I do not recommend the pancakes. The ice cream shop around the corner is i've best I've ever had in my life. The rooms are all one of a kind. I wish I could be there right now!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINA_Hotels, Direttore generale at Sina Villa Medici, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear EB,

We appreciate your comments regarding your last stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Medici. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. We continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the near future.

Arrivederci,

Gaetano Torino
General Manager
Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Had an amazing experience. Beautiful interior and super smart and friendly staff.
Would recommend this hotel to friends and family!
Very great and memorable trip. The gym was quiet small and dull but useful. The rooms and spacious and the bathrooms are huge with a bathtub.
The location is close to the train station and right in the center.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erickaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINA_Hotels, Direttore generale at Sina Villa Medici, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Erickaf,

Thank you so much for your beautiful review.
Your excellent impressions are value-added for us to always maintain the tradition of high standards and good service.
I truly hope of welcoming you back soon to Grand Hotel Villa Medici where we will do our utmost to exceed your expectations again.

Grazie,

Gaetano Torino
General Manager
Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#17 of 411 in Florence
1,359 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#43 of 411 in Florence
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lungarno
#7 of 411 in Florence
1,351 reviews
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol - Starhotels Collezione
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sina Villa Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sina Villa Medici

Address: Via Il Prato 42, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Florence
#38 Family Hotel in Florence
#53 Business Hotel in Florence
#54 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#78 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $240 - $930 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sina Villa Medici 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following a 9-month refurbishment the prestigious Sina Villa Medici has a new and resplendent look. The entire hotel underwent the makeover which respected the allure and history of this ancient palace that has attracted so many celebrities down the years. The rooms have parquet flooring, modern furnishings, fabrics in shades of grey coordinated with the relaxing colours on the walls, TVs starting at 42”, USB outlets and lighting that sets just the right atmosphere. The new look has also been adopted in the bathrooms which have been completely modernized. Almost all the rooms have balconies or terraces with views overlooking the hotel’s lush private gardens and Florence’s monuments. The modern antique pieces that have been added to the ground-floor hall, the gallery and the lounge bar include charming photographs representing Catherine de’ Medici and details of the collection of paintings in the Uffizi Gallery, specially designed for the Sina Villa Medici by the artist Marco Lanza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sina Villa Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Medici
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing