We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably used to be 5 star....”
Review of Sina Villa Medici

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sina Villa Medici
Ranked #89 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel has a very nice staff... the common areas are historic and lovely.... the rooms are certainly acceptable, however for the price ??? All in all we had a good stay but they definitely need to give a little TLC to their rooms.... or drop the price so it's reasonable value.... I give sleep quality a poor as the a/c didn't work and we couldn't open the terrace (though it was lovely) as the mosquitos did us in!.... We were there in late November and still mosquitos... I suggested they put screens on the windows.... as I said... they have a lovely staff.... I really like the hotel and wish them well....

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oztravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINA_Hotels, Direttore generale at Sina Villa Medici, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for sharing with us your impressions about your recent stay at
Grand Hotel Villa Medici and we are sorry to learn that you were partially dissatisfied about your stay.
I assure you that we welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better.

I really look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you again for very positive comments about our staff.

Arrivederci.

Gaetano Torino
General Manager
Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

380 - 386 of 788 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Our initial experience arriving in Florence was horrible. We called American Express and they recommended this hotel. Though a little expensive, they offered breakfast and a complementary dinner the first night. Both the breakfast and dinner service was excellent. The staff spoke excellent English and were very helpful. The hotel is close to the main tourist attractions and the train station. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kendilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINA_Hotels, Direttore generale at Sina Villa Medici, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Kendilks,

We thank you for posting your positive feedback about your past stay at Grand Hotel Villa Medici. Your excellent impressions are value-added for us to always maintain the tradition of high standards and good service and we truly hope of welcoming you back soon to Grand Hotel Villa Medici.

Grazie,

Gaetano Torino
General Manager
Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here for three nights whilst visiting our son who is currently studying in Florence. Usually we stay at a Starwood or equivalent but we got a reasonable deal by phoning the hotel direct and Trip Advisor crits seemed generally favourable.
Initial impressions were good. The building is historic and the staff were warm and welcoming. Downstairs the public areas are impressive but upstairs the corridors etc do appear a little shabby.Our penthouse room was however, lovely, with a large terrace complete with sun loungers and a great view of the city. Amenities in the way of toiletries etc.. were adequate but nothing special and on a personal note I do dislike not having tea and coffee making facilities provided in the room. As others have said, WiFi was also an irritation as one has to buy a card and the whole procedure seemed needlessly complicated.
We did not eat in the hotel but found a wonderful cafe for breakfast (Curtatore Pasticceria) just two minutes walk away going in the direction of town. Two cappucinos and the most wonderful croissants oozing with custard and eaten on the open air terrace came to 10 euros.
We had a nightcap in the bar one evening - expensive drinks but a pleasant ambience if eerily quiet. (We had to go and find the barman after waiting for ten minutes).
On a more positive note, the courtesy car was a nice touch and we used it on several occasions to get into town although as it can't be booked in advance it can't be depended upon if one needs to get to an appointment. Walking into the centre takes about 15 minutes and a cab costs about 10 euros.
Overall on our next visit to Florence we will probably look at staying nearer to the centre but if you can get a good deal this is a pleasant enough hotel that could be great with just a few amedments.

Room Tip: Our penthouse room had a large spacious terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINA_Hotels, Direttore generale at Sina Villa Medici, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Alison52,

We appreciate your positive comments regarding your last stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Medici. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and constructive criticism to improve our service. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to serve you in the near future.

Arrivederci.

Gaetano Torino
General Manager
Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

First let me say, we were coming here after four days at Castello Di Casole so Villa Medici had their work cut out for them following that incredible hotel. With that said, we went there with an open mind realizing it was a very different area then where we had come from and we were loving Italy and not looking for anything to be unhappy about. This hotel failed in every area. It is very old, which we knew, and they have done a great job of keeping the lobby majestic but the hallways and the rooms are very old and tired looking. This hotel is way overpriced. Every hotel we stayed in during our Europe trip included a lovely breakfast but not here. Wi-fi is also not free and it is a hassle. You have to enter a code every 24 hours to keep it active and you have to pay. I talked them into giving it to us because we were staying in the Penthouse Suite. You would think this suite would come with a few extras. The hot tub on the veranda was ready for the trash. It was old and not sure how often they emptied and cleaned it. The bath tub was broke (supposed to be a whirlpool). This hotel needs to become more service oriented and update the rooms. The doorman, I'm sure is a very sweet older gentleman, but I thinks its time for them to put someone at the door that actually can understand the guests and help them. We had a total language barrier and he has no idea what service is. We pulled up in a rental car and ran in to ask the desk a question and he about tackled us. He chased after us because you can't leave a car out front. I tried to tell him we would be right back but he wasn't having it. He stood right behind us and followed us back out. I would stay away from this hotel.

Room Tip: The Penthouse Suite is definitely not worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kdo7383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINA_Hotels, Direttore generale at Sina Villa Medici, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Guest,

I thank you very much for sharing with us your impressions about your recent stay at Grand Hotel Villa Medici.
We are extremely sorry to learn that you were dissatisfied about your stay and I assure you that we welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better.
It is clear that we were not performing to our usual standards in that occasion and I have personally addressed the problems with our Heads of department to be sure that similar situation will not happen again.

I really look forward to welcoming you back soon and I would be delighted to be personally contacted to make personal arrangements for your next stay.

Thank you,

Gaetano Torino
General Manager
Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

While a this is theory a five star property, it falls well below the mark because of reservation tricks and annnoying wi-fi charges. We learned that our booking did not include breakfast however it was available at Euro 34 per oerson. This is an outrageous sum. At checkout we learned that ther was a Florence city tax of Euro 5 per person per day - not disclosed at booking. We think the new tax falls in line with an attitude in Florence that assumes you will never come back. Unfortunately they are right. They deal eith the uninformed masses.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jveltri007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINA_Hotels, Direttore generale at Sina Villa Medici, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for sharing with us your impressions about your recent stay at Grand Hotel Villa Medici.
We are extremely sorry to learn that you were dissatisfied about your stay and I assure you that we welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better and it is clear that we were not performing to our usual standards in that occasion.
With regard to the local City Tax, I assure you that we carried a big battle in the past for not introducing the tax but the final decision was out of Florentine hotels control unfortunately.

I really look forward to welcoming you back soon and I will be more than delighted to make personal arrangements for your next stay in order to revise your first negative impression.


Gaetano Torino
General Manager
Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Big well run hotel. A good choice for large groups. Comfortable rooms as they should be at the price. In my opinion the area does not quite match the hotel's style. For small groups and couples there are many more options in the very centre with more character and charm and for less money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zaretta_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINA_Hotels, Direttore generale at Sina Villa Medici, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Dear Zaretta_A,

We appreciate your comments regarding your last stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Medici.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and although you probably prefer a different decor, I really look forward to welcoming back you soon.
Arrivederci


Gaetano Torino
General Manager
Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We just spent 2 nights here. I was disappointed by the hotel given the price of the room. Out room was nice, with a beutiful veranda. However, the bed was uncomfortable and the pillows were aweful. The internet was an extra charge, with a cumbersome code system. We were far from the center of the city, were told a car was available, but each time we asked, it was unavailable. The breakfast buffet was mediocre.

We spent one day touring the city and when we returned @430, our room had not been cleaned! Given the rating and price of this hotel I was very dissatisfied

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DrKOB52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINA_Hotels, Direttore generale at Sina Villa Medici, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Dear DrKOB52,

I am extremely sorry to learn that you were dissatisfied about your stay.
Your concerns will help us to get better and it is clear that we were not performing to our usual standards in that occasion.
With regard to our Courtesy Car, we are sorry you did not have the chance to experience that, but I am sure you will understand that if the car is already in downtown with some other Guests, it is just a matter a wait a few minutes for the car to be back.

I really hope you will give us another chance to serve you in the future and that case I will be more than delighted to make personal arrangements for your next stay.

Arrivederci,

Gaetano Torino
General Manager
Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Firenze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#43 of 410 in Florence
1,341 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#16 of 410 in Florence
1,337 reviews
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lungarno
#9 of 410 in Florence
1,291 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol - Starhotels Collezione
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sina Villa Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sina Villa Medici

Address: Via Il Prato 42, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Florence
#47 Family Hotel in Florence
#53 Business Hotel in Florence
#57 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#78 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $231 - $652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sina Villa Medici 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following a 9-month refurbishment the prestigious Sina Villa Medici has a new and resplendent look. The entire hotel underwent the makeover which respected the allure and history of this ancient palace that has attracted so many celebrities down the years. The rooms have parquet flooring, modern furnishings, fabrics in shades of grey coordinated with the relaxing colours on the walls, TVs starting at 42”, USB outlets and lighting that sets just the right atmosphere. The new look has also been adopted in the bathrooms which have been completely modernized. Almost all the rooms have balconies or terraces with views overlooking the hotel’s lush private gardens and Florence’s monuments. The modern antique pieces that have been added to the ground-floor hall, the gallery and the lounge bar include charming photographs representing Catherine de’ Medici and details of the collection of paintings in the Uffizi Gallery, specially designed for the Sina Villa Medici by the artist Marco Lanza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sina Villa Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Medici
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing