We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand hotel for those who love this style” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sina Villa Medici

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sina Villa Medici
Ranked #101 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Grand hotel for those who love this style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Big well run hotel. A good choice for large groups. Comfortable rooms as they should be at the price. In my opinion the area does not quite match the hotel's style. For small groups and couples there are many more options in the very centre with more character and charm and for less money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaretta_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINA_Hotels, Direttore generale at Sina Villa Medici, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Zaretta_A,

We appreciate your comments regarding your last stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Medici.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and although you probably prefer a different decor, I really look forward to welcoming back you soon.
Arrivederci


Gaetano Torino
General Manager
Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    203
    83
    21
    17
See reviews for
140
300
20
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We just spent 2 nights here. I was disappointed by the hotel given the price of the room. Out room was nice, with a beutiful veranda. However, the bed was uncomfortable and the pillows were aweful. The internet was an extra charge, with a cumbersome code system. We were far from the center of the city, were told a car was available, but each time we asked, it was unavailable. The breakfast buffet was mediocre.

We spent one day touring the city and when we returned @430, our room had not been cleaned! Given the rating and price of this hotel I was very dissatisfied

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrKOB52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINA_Hotels, Direttore generale at Sina Villa Medici, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear DrKOB52,

I am extremely sorry to learn that you were dissatisfied about your stay.
Your concerns will help us to get better and it is clear that we were not performing to our usual standards in that occasion.
With regard to our Courtesy Car, we are sorry you did not have the chance to experience that, but I am sure you will understand that if the car is already in downtown with some other Guests, it is just a matter a wait a few minutes for the car to be back.

I really hope you will give us another chance to serve you in the future and that case I will be more than delighted to make personal arrangements for your next stay.

Arrivederci,

Gaetano Torino
General Manager
Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

The decision to book this hotel was the favourable rate and so not too bad reviews on tripadvisor. Hence we didn't expect much as it was also our first visit to Florence. The accommodation was nothing to shout about but beds were comfortable enough for a good night's sleep. Slight delay at check in due to full house, but not an issue.

But the team of concierge, I must say, is a fantastic one. Paolo, if i remembered correctly, is the one with a low voice, i thought he was cold at first but after a few interactions, i find him extremely helpful, resourceful and professional. Never once failed to recognize by using our names, a very nice touch! Their recommendations of restaurants and kind assistance on our ticket bookings for the museums and onward train tickets. Once the shuttle forgot to pick us up for our dinner, they even paid for the taxi ride to the restaurant!

The superb service by the concierge team far made up for the less than spectacular rooms. The location is not really ideal though, but offers complimentary shuttle service for guests, which we did not take advantage of as the preference was to explore the city by foot.

If there is a reason for me to return to this hotel, it will be for the wonderful gentlemen of the concierge team. Thank you for the wonderful experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINA_Hotels, Direttore generale at Sina Villa Medici, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear LeeCK ,

I would like to thank you for posting your positive feedback about your stay at Grand Hotel Villa Medici. Your excellent impressions are value-added for us to always maintain the tradition of high standards and good service.
We truly hope of welcoming you back soon to Grand Hotel Villa Medici where we will do our utmost to exceed your expectations.

A presto.

Gaetano Torino
General Manager
Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our first hotel of the trip. It was a lovely hotel. Our room was upgraded. It was old world decor, very large, clean and nice bathroom. There were contemporary rooms, but this one felt truly European. Paolo the concierge was Wonderful. So helpful and charming. The room was very quiet. The common area of the hotel very lovely. We did not use the restaurant, it was expensive. But the hotel is centrally located a few blocks outside of the center of the old city. The hotel does have a courtesy car to take you to different places if you are too tired to walk. There was a lovely bar downstairs and a pool and outdoor sitting area. Although we did not use them, we always saw people sitting out. I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karenjim10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINA_Hotels, Direttore generale at Sina Villa Medici, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Karenjim10,

Thank you for your comments regarding your last stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Medici. It is always a pleasure to receive very positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the near future.

Arrivederci.

Gaetano Torino
General Manager
Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham Traveller
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights over a weekend.and the hotel was lovely, lots of sofas and open space in the reception area with a nice bar. The only problem ws we didnt see anybody using the seating area or the bar so the hotal lacked atmosphere. Our room was a classic room on the top floor. We asked to be moved as we had an imtermitant bussing noise and noise from the lifts. They did move us to a contemporary room which was lovely. The hotel was lovely and clean and the staff helpful. They do have a courtesy car service which you can use free during certaun times of the day, however, we felt everything was in walking distance so didn't really use it.
The pool area a smaller than expected, we wanted to sit in the sun for 2 days (after a business trip) but the sunbeds were under heavy trees which blocked the sun - we also got bitten to death becasue of the trees/plants etc.
Be careful if you book a balcony room as about 8 balconies are totally covered by hugh trees so you wouldn't get much view if any.

Room Tip: Check your balcony room is't obscured by trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Potty41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINA_Hotels, Direttore generale at Sina Villa Medici, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Potty41,

We thank you very much for sharing with us your impressions about your recent stay at Grand Hotel Villa Medici.
We are sorry to learn that you were partially dissatisfied about your stay and I assure you that we welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better.
I really look forward to welcoming you back soon and I will be more than delighted to make personal arrangements for your next stay.


Gaetano Torino
General Manager
Grand Hotel Villa Medici
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
367 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We booked through American Express Platinum Rewards. The continental breakfast is a full tasty buffet (not just rolls) - eggs, sliced meats, fresh mozzarella, fresh fruit, cereals and of course cappucino. The hotel also provides the use of a free courtesy car, to take you around Florence - saves $$ on taxi. Staff was super attentive. Air France lost our luggage and every day, the front desk would call them to check on our bags (without our asking). Rooms are spacious and very comfortable, with a nice small balcony. We rented a car on our trip and there's a Hertz location just down the block - very convenient to pick up and return the car. the hotel is also convenient to major roads

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom_B_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINA_Hotels, Direttore generale at Sina Villa Medici, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Tbongiorno,

I would like to thank you for posting your positive feedback about your recent stay at Grand Hotel Villa Medici. Your excellent impressions are value-added for us to always maintain the tradition of high standards and good service.
Thank you very much again and I look forward to meeting you soon personally here in Florence.

Arrivederci.

Gaetano Torino
General Manager
Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagliari, Italy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in for our honeymoon trip around Italy. They upgraded us from a standard to a delux room for no extra charge and left a bottle of chilled prosecco in our room for arrival. Really nice touch! The porters were very helpful and only too pleased to help. The hotel itself is very grand and we found it to be extremely quiet and relaxing. Something to be aware of and this seems to be an Italian thing rather than hotel specific, they do not give out irons. Instead they charge €8 per item!! So be warned. Also the restaurant and bar are very pricey at this hotel but we ate out at one of the many superb restaurants right on the doorstep. Again the concierge were very helpful in recommending places to eat and see.

Hotel also has a lovely garden terrace but be warned the pool isn't heated so is a little "fresh". That said this was a superb hotel and we would recommend it to anyone.

It also provides a very useful shuttle service into town which we used every night.

We would love to stay here again. Pure luxury!!

Room Tip: Deluxe was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cardiff_Rugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINA_Hotels, Direttore generale at Sina Villa Medici, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for posting your positive feedback about your recent stay at Grand Hotel Villa Medici. Your very good impressions are value-added for us to always maintain the tradition of high standards. I will certainly share your points with our Staff, which will be honoured by your remarks.
Thank you very much again and I look forward to meeting you soon personally here in Firenze.

Arrivederci.

Gaetano Torino
General Manager
Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montebello Splendid
Hotel Montebello Splendid
#100 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#10 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
#141 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#15 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Uffizi
Bernini Palace Hotel
Bernini Palace Hotel
#29 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sina Villa Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sina Villa Medici

Property: Sina Villa Medici
Address: Via Il Prato 42, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Florence
#47 Family Hotel in Florence
#52 Business Hotel in Florence
#61 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#78 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sina Villa Medici 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fine art of hospitality in the heart of town in an 18th century noble palace featuring a splendid garden with outdoor swimming pool, a fully equipped fitness club and meeting rooms overlooking the domes of Florence. At the roof top some suites with jacuzzi on the terrace boast a superb view over the town.The Restaurant “Lorenzo de’ Medici” and the “Conservatory” on the pool offer an all year round enjoyable dining room. The “Jockey Bar”, balancing modern with traditional style is an ideal corner for relaxing moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Sina Villa Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Medici
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing