We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serene oasis”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sina Villa Medici

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sina Villa Medici
Ranked #99 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Serene oasis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Helpful, quietly attentive staff, well appointed and decorated room with a balcony and a small but relaxing garden - apart from having the peace disturbed by the pigeons. It was impossible to have a drink or eat outside because of them, a real negative.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PietreLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINA_Hotels, Direttore generale at Sina Villa Medici, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Dear PietreLondon,

I appreciate your comments regarding your last stay at Grand Hotel Villa Medici. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our Guests. I will share your comments with the team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.
I would also like to assure you that the problem with the pigeons has been addressed properly to let the Guests enjoy our relaxing garden and swimming pool.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you soon.


Gaetano Torino
General Manager
Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    204
    85
    21
    17
See reviews for
142
307
21
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

Great service, friendly welcome, beautiful rooms great service in restaurant

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FitForLifeAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINA_Hotels, Direttore generale at Sina Villa Medici, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Dear FitForLifeAdelaide,
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your last stay at Grand Hotel Villa Medici. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests. I am anyway sorry
to read that you did not take advantage of our complimentary Courtesy Car Service for the historical Florence.
For your next visit I am sure you will have the chance to experience this value added.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the near future.

Gaetano Torino
General Manager
Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

My Fiance & I stayed here only for a night ...what a pity !this hotel was like a dream... such an exclusive hotel right in the middle of the town ! we went to Florance without prebooking any place !!!!! and since in Italy September is high season this was like a nightmare ! we came out of the train station and we faced that even if there's a good place to stay its so expensive ! so by walking in the streets of that area we found this luxury hotel under such a reasonable price !!!!! this was like a dream... such a Beautiful hotel with impeccable service and respectable staff . grreat room , great bathroom , greattttttt bed :)
The only weak point was that breakfast was not included with our room and we should pay 30 EUR for the hotels breakfast !!!! which wasn't a big deal as we checked to see if its worth it !
but after all staying in this luxurious hotel was a perfect experience ... specially with your love :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saniban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINA_Hotels, Direttore generale at Sina Villa Medici, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Dear Saniban,

We appreciate your comments regarding your last stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Medici. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Gaetano Torino
General Manager
Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

After spending 2 weeks at a luxury villa in the Tuscan countryside, we were treated to the penthouse suite with outdoor Jacuzzi and the warm glow of a late summer sunset. Our room was decorated with bold yellows, blues and golds. The architectural detail was dazzling but not ostentatious. Our maids were gracious and accommodating. We didn't stay long but we'll definitely come back.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Limahuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINA_Hotels, Direttore generale at Sina Villa Medici, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Dear Limahuli,
We would like to thank you for posting your positive feedback about your past stay at Grand Hotel Villa Medici. Your excellent impressions are value-added for us to always maintain the tradition of high standards and good service.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to Florence.


Gaetano Torino
General Manager
Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

this hotel only has heat or cool air-conditioning. Once they switch to one or the other, you are stuck. they had switched to heat and then a heat wave. Our hotel room was so hot unless leaving the sliding door open, which let in mosquitos. Very loud with windows open as the hotel is on the route to the hospital and you hear the sirens of ambulances at least every 1/2 hour. The next night we were moved to the quiet side of the hotel where it was still hot but quieter. however the mosquitos forced us to close the doors. Hot again, but can sleep. Till.... at 7am the church bell tower that is maybe 50 yards away starts going off every 20 minutes all morning long. The short of it is maybe 3 hours of broken sleep. A beautiful hotel, great staff, but what a terrible stay. Be very careful staying here during transition of season times of the year. The location is close to the train station, but you will be walking alot to get to any of the shopping areas.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else unless you are used to the very loud city noises or you are traveling during mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

Please do not book this hotel. It is out of the main part of the city, in a terrible neighborhood, and on a busy main intersection of two four-lane roads. We pulled in late at night after driving for nine hours and expected the same treatment as the other hotels we had stayed in all over Europe. The door man said "You want ALL this luggage up to the room?" then he proceeded to start taking the luggage out and put it in the middle of the parking lot. (There is no entry - the front door opens onto the parking lot, which evidently we were not allowed to use.) We asked him if he had a cart for the luggage and he misunderstood and said "Parking garage is across the street (4 busy lanes). You go park it yourself." My husband said "Don't you have valet?" and he responded "yes, but you go park it yourself" so it took my husband 45 minutes to park the car. We got up to the room and it looked like a bordello. Every wall was done in salmon-colored brocade and accented by RED velvet! All the furniture was upholstered in flocked red velvet, and the bed was hard as a rock. The room was old, and garish, and we immediately started looking for another hotel until we realized we would have to pay a day's penalty, and honestly we were so tired we thought that maybe we could get used to it. The worse part was the attitude of about half the staff. I asked a very nice lady at check in if we were in the main part of the city and she said yes (though we weren't) and she said they had a complementary courtesy van for anywhere we wanted to go. So the next day we go down and try to make reservations to the Duomo at 10:00 the next day. The concierge was so rude and acted like we were interrupting his busy day even though there was no one else there. This man continued to treat us like that the entire time, and I wondered how they could have customers with him being so prickly. Then I noticed that whenever the customers were Italian, he was all smiles. There was another concierge who was nice to us, but he was hardly ever there. The bag boys and the wait staff in the restaurant were all huffy toward us as well, though not to the Italians. When we went downstairs to go to the Duomo the next day, we were told that the courtesy car hours had changed so that they didn't start until 10:00. We presented the card we had be given showing that the courtesy car was supposed to start at 9:30 and said "the concierge just made us an appointment yesterday and we have to be there at 10:00." He just shrugged and said the times had changed, they would call us a taxi. So while we were waiting for the taxi, the courtesy car driver shows up (at 9:30) and so we ask him if he will take us anyway, and he says well he will have to check to see if someone else (probably Italian) would need the car at 10:00. He went inside, then came out smiling and whistling, locked the van door and walked off without saying a word to us.

The rooms were old and hot and didn't have air conditioning. Though we had a balcony that overlooked a beautiful courtyard, it was so noisy out there from the traffic I couldn't even read out there. The hotel is in a terrible part of town. The first two nights we left the windows open to cool off the room and there were drunks yelling until 4:00 am, dogs barking, sirens going off every hour, and cars going by and honking. We walked back from a restaurant one night and were in fear for our lives with the hoodlums on the streets. Oh yes, the restaurants don't open until 7:30 at night and the hotel changed the courtesy car hours the day after we got there so they stopped at 8:00.

We started looking online, and the Villa Medici shows only the common areas that look modern, which is quite misleading. When we started looking further, we found that the Villa Medici is not even rated in the top 100 hotels in Florence -142nd to be exact. The rudeness and snotty attitudes by about half the staff just wore us down day after day, and it kind of put a pall on the whole trip for us. Kind of a bummer especially since we were paying over $400 a night.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

i stayed here on a sickly night, i was checked in prior to my arrival and taken directly to my suite where i spent two days recovering from a bad cold. the room was very well decorated with original antiques and attentive personal butler service. on that occasion i failed to realise how well located it was too, it was not until my next visit that i noticed it was smack centre of town.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PastaSnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montebello Splendid
Hotel Montebello Splendid
#89 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#16 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#10 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
#146 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#15 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sina Villa Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sina Villa Medici

Property: Sina Villa Medici
Address: Via Il Prato 42, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Florence
#47 Family Hotel in Florence
#52 Business Hotel in Florence
#61 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#78 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sina Villa Medici 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fine art of hospitality in the heart of town in an 18th century noble palace featuring a splendid garden with outdoor swimming pool, a fully equipped fitness club and meeting rooms overlooking the domes of Florence. At the roof top some suites with jacuzzi on the terrace boast a superb view over the town.The Restaurant “Lorenzo de’ Medici” and the “Conservatory” on the pool offer an all year round enjoyable dining room. The “Jockey Bar”, balancing modern with traditional style is an ideal corner for relaxing moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sina Villa Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Medici
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing