We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in a quiet corner of Florence”
Review of Hotel Regency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Regency
Ranked #146 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A little gem in a quiet corner of Florence”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

I spent one night at the Regency in Florence for business. The hotel is housed in a villa which dates back to the 1860s, when Florence was (briefly) capital of Italy. It is located on a lovely green square, in a quiet part of town but literally 10 walking minutes from the hustle and bustle of the Duomo. Great location to explore the city, and come back to a quiet haven afterwards...The hotel is well-appointed, although the decor is very traditional and could do with some refreshing. The service was prompt and pleasant, and the room was large and with a lovely marble bathroom (with Fragonard toiletries). Breakfast is served in a veranda which overlooks a lovely back garden - the selection was fresh and delicious. Would overall recommend for good, old-fashioned 5-star service in the centre of Florence.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F_Pinto_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    84
    25
    11
    8
See reviews for
49
186
13
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Our five days at the Regency Hotel Florence ensured an excellent base for exploring the city - and ensuring a quiet and comfortable refuge to return to away from the hustle and bustle. Other reviewers bear testimony to the professionalism and warmth of the staff, the elegance of the building [yes there are areas of wear and tear such as marks on mirrors - but this is part of staying in a historic dwelling, and do not deter from the luxury of this small piece of heaven. Northern Europeans may be irritated by the lack of tea and coffee making facilities - easily remedied by either ordering room service or- as we do - packing a travel kettle, mugs and sachets of drinks. There is a supermarket 4 minutes walk from the hotel.
The beds are of a quality and size that ensured an excellent night's sleep. Continental breakfasts equal any we have experienced on our world wide travels - and were included in the price. Wi Fi is a little eccentric but once you get used to logging in most times after a break performs well.
A great touch was a news sheet from your country hanging on the door every morning. The TV only has CNN and a channel for business people in English - but who goes to Florence to watch TV?
Do ask for help choosing somewhere to eat other than the hotel - their recommendations proved great.
This charming hotel has achieved the rare balance of elegance, professionalism and homeliness.

Room Tip: ask for one overlooking the back of the hotel for a quieter experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenLytham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estoril, Portugal
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed for four days at Regency Hotel. I stayed in regency hotel 16 years ago and I continue to enjoy this hotel. It's 10 minutes walking to the Center. Breakfast is very good and the staff are very professional. The rooms are excelent.

Room Tip: Rooms in the building next to the principal and that are in higher floors are not so good as there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dores01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Regency for a week while in Florence. It was an excellent hotel. You are a 10 minute walk to all of the major attractions in Florence. What is nice is you are far enough way from the craziness to avoid all of the tourist traps. The concierge was great. He recommend great local restaurants in the area (btw, the hotel restaurant was great as well). We contacted the concierge prior to arrival and he setup the tours we wanted before we ever got there. It was just a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria De Palautordera, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We've enjoyed a lot our stay in this hotel, but other than the nice room and superb restaurant, what we've found a "plus" is the excellent and personalized attention from all the staff, with special mention to Alessandro who made easier our live and Paolo in the restaurant with his good suggestions for food and wine, and for that we want to give many thanks to all of them
You can be sure that in our next visit to Firenze will repeat our experience in the Regency.
Joaquim & Montse

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoaquimB509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
282 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Out of the central rush by approx 10 minutes--but yet so far away and quiet. Located across from a large square block of a park. Also, within three blocks is a truly authentic farmer's market. They had the best looking vegetables we had seen. We bought the best looking Fava Beans of the season. There are several wonderful and multiple restaurants in the area. The hotel provides a truly extensive breakfast , including capucciano and lattes. We would stay again next time in Florence.

Room Tip: We were in room 404 which had a great terrace overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montebello Splendid
Hotel Montebello Splendid
#83 of 422 in Florence
898 reviews
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
#144 of 422 in Florence
538 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#22 of 422 in Florence
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#17 of 422 in Florence
1,187 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Sina Villa Medici
Sina Villa Medici
#110 of 422 in Florence
694 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#26 of 422 in Florence
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regency

Property: Hotel Regency
Address: Piazza Massimo d'Azeglio 3, 50121, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#86 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Regency 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once upon a time when the city of Florence was the Italian Capital, Hotel Regency served as a retreat to high government officials and ministers of the State. Today, the nineteenth century villa located in the heart of Florence is a five star property and a long time member of the prestigious "The Small Luxury Hotels". The hotel overlooks pristine Piazza D'Azeglio, framed by monasteries, ancient cloisters, famous museums, the Synagogue and, even more impressive, maintains the private villa-like air, ensuring travellers a memorable experience. Affacciato su una delle più belle "piazze salotto" fiorentine, immerso nel verde e nella tranquillità, l'Hotel Regency conserva ancora il fascino vintage della residenza ottocentesca di ministri e alti funzionari, con l'atmosfera di una dimora privata di gran lusso. Collocato nel centro storico cittadino, in una posizione invidiabile, consente di godere della bellezza delle opere d'arte che rendono unica questa città come i palazzi rinascimentali, le chiese, i chiostri ed i musei tra i più prestigiosi al mondo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing