We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Hotel Regency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Regency
Ranked #138 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Regency Hotel in Florence during our honeymoon. It was a wonderful place. The outside courtyard where you can eat breakfast every morning is unbelievably beautiful and peaceful. Our room was the nicest I've stayed in in Europe, with high ceilings, a king sized bed and a complimentary minibar. The front desk staff was very helpful, with useful suggestions on where to eat and how to avoid lines at popular tourist spots. The hotel was in a good location, in a quiet area that was right across from a park. It was nice not being in a busy touristy area, but at the same time it was less than a 10 minute walk to the Accademia and about a 15 minute walk to Santa Croce Church, The Uiffizi, Ponte Vecchio, the Duomo and pretty much anything else you would want to see. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is going to Florence.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 358 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is what I call an elegant, 5 star hotel. Away from the crowds of the center of Firenze, yet at walking distance, this beautiful, small palazzo, in front of a quiet square, holds few rooms. The service was impeccable; as leaders club members we were upgraded for a wonderful, big garden suite. Breakfast had first rate cheeses and prociuttos, breads etc. I would not stay anywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank felipevaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amedeo_Ottaviani, Proprietario at Hotel Regency, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Guest, we thank you very much for your most kind comments.
Your feedback is truly precious as it gives us the exact value of our efforts. Our small property bases its overall performance on the daily listening of our Clients' feedback.
We daily strive for the best and feel honored to welcome the best Clients of The Leading Hotels of the World as You, a Leaders Club Member, THANK YOU!
Please know we remain available and hope to have the chance and the pleasure to welcome you soon back to Florence.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

A little out of the way in Florence Italy but certainly within walking distance of the city center, the Regency Hotel is a Gem. Service in all areas is top Notch from the Front Desk Personnel to the Restaurant and Housekeeping. The Rooms are like a museum but with up to date furnishings and very comfortable bedding and sparkling clean. The hotel is comprised of two buildings with a wonderful courtyard in between that is used for dining. If my family and I were to visit Florence again we would certainly stay here again as they make you feel like home. A Jewell in Florence

Room Tip: For privacy book the Garden Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank njnetsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amedeo_Ottaviani, Proprietario at Hotel Regency, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear valued Guest,
we thank you for your most positive feedback. We truly appreciate your taking the time to write about your experience with the Hotel Regency and give your perception of a stay with us.
We love our profession and are all absolutely enthusiast to deliver the right service to those choosing to stay with us. You are a great witness of our overall efforts and would welcome the opportunity to see you and your family soon back to the Regency!
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Our stay at the Regency hotel was fabulus, great small hotel, great staff, location is great because it is walking distance from city center, but at the same time not too busy and loud which is perfect, really nice staff, good ambiance and decor, great room sizes which is usually a problem in major cities in some parts of Europe, we stayed at a beautiful garden suite, and had a fabulous time :) for the price it was really awesome choice, definitely would go back again no doubt !! Loved it as a small boutique hotel :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amedeo_Ottaviani, Proprietario at Hotel Regency, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Guest,
It is indeed a pleasure to respond to your kind review. We have read your positive feedback carefully and feel very happy we had fulfilled your expectations. Your comment about the reasonable rate and great service received makes us feel we are going in the right direction, not overcharging Guests!
We hope you will soon give us the pleasure to welcome you back to the Regency.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We spent three amazing nights at Hotel Regency, The staff, from the concierge to the cleaning staff performed flawlessly, with professionalism and compassion. The restaurant and waiters were beyond compare. Very elegant, perfect in every way.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kipp M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We moved to the Regency Hotel after arriving at Hotel Montebello Splendid and finding it to be terrible. We called the Regency the day of our arrival and they offered to accomodate us that night. We were unable to get out of our reservation at Montebello that evening, but we arrived at the Regency the next morning. The hotel staff was waiting to great us with open arms. We enjoyed a maginificent breakfast in the courtyard and found our room spotless and charming. The Regency Hotel turned our experience in Florence around and we are so greatful. Alessandro, Danielle and the rest of the staff were so attentive and kind. We cannot wait to return to this hotel again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is a perfect spot for loving couples. I came here for a weekend with my wife, as part of our 30-year wedding celebration. The hotel is just perfect. Staff are extremely friendly and will go out of their way to please you. Allessandro (the concierge) is so friendly that, when he learned that was our 30-year wedding trip, he sent us a complimentary bottle of champagne. The rooms are spacious, air-conditioning is noiseless, the bed and linens are classy, bathrooms are clean and work well. All in all, a perfect spot to indulge yourself and your lover (even an old lover works perfectly).

Room Tip: My room was a suite in the hotel front (facing Piazza Massimo d'Azeglio). A quiet, perfect room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weddingtripBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Croce
Relais Santa Croce
Relais Santa Croce
#107 of 409 in Florence
423 reviews
Uffizi
Bernini Palace Hotel
Bernini Palace Hotel
#35 of 409 in Florence
1,225 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#16 of 409 in Florence
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montebello Splendid
Hotel Montebello Splendid
#77 of 409 in Florence
989 reviews
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol - Starhotels Collezione
Hotel Lungarno
#11 of 409 in Florence
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regency

Address: Piazza Massimo d'Azeglio 3, 50121, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#83 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $188 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Regency 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once upon a time when the city of Florence was the Italian Capital, Hotel Regency served as a retreat to high government officials and ministers of the State. Today, the nineteenth century villa located in the heart of Florence is a five star property and a long time member of the prestigious "The Small Luxury Hotels". The hotel overlooks pristine Piazza D'Azeglio, framed by monasteries, ancient cloisters, famous museums, the Synagogue and, even more impressive, maintains the private villa-like air, ensuring travellers a memorable experience. Affacciato su una delle più belle "piazze salotto" fiorentine, immerso nel verde e nella tranquillità, l'Hotel Regency conserva ancora il fascino vintage della residenza ottocentesca di ministri e alti funzionari, con l'atmosfera di una dimora privata di gran lusso. Collocato nel centro storico cittadino, in una posizione invidiabile, consente di godere della bellezza delle opere d'arte che rendono unica questa città come i palazzi rinascimentali, le chiese, i chiostri ed i musei tra i più prestigiosi al mondo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing