We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service, room not quite what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The St. Regis Florence
Ranked #14 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2009

We recently spent 3 nights in Florence after a few days in Rome. The service from the staff was outstanding. The consierge provided us with great recommendations for restaurants and tours and the housekeeping kept the rooms meticulous. The breakfast buffet every morning was great and the staff were very attentive and helpful. We also found the location close to everything we wanted to do.

The only downside from our perspective was the room itself. We stayed in a premium deluxe room overlooking the river which was quite large but certainly didn't look like what is advertised on the website. The king bed was very comfortable and the room had a large bathroom. With a second door between the hall and the bedroom, it was very quiet for sleeping. However, additional furniture and the layout of the room really wasn't great. It had one small couch in the corner of the room but that was it. The other chairs in the room felt more like desk chairs and so there was no natural seating area to relax and unwind before dinner after pretty hot days sightseeing even though the room size could have accomodated it.

A nice hotel but that is based on location and service which was great. However, for the amounts we spent on the rooms, we were more impressed with the hotel in Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RH_Travellors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

972 - 978 of 1,312 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2009

We had an absolutely lovely two room two bath suite with an excellent river view. The staff was gracious and accommodating, and the restaurant delivered as promised. I have no complaints.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ecadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

I always think it's helpful to know who is writing these reviews - so, here it goes: my husband and I are in mid-late 30's, travel frequently for work (stay in Hiltons, Marriotts, etc.) and like to splurge on nice hotels too. We used a mix of Starwood Points and cash to pay for this hotel.

We loved it here - the hotel is beautiful, our room was comfortable, the bathroom was great, the customer service was top notch and the location was superb. It made our trip to Florence very special. We stayed in a standard room with a king bed.

If you like deluxe things - this hotel is for you.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LGDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

My husband and I were here in the beginning of May. First of all, it is an excellent location - within walking distance to everything and right on the Arno river. The room we had booked was beautiful, we were offered to upgrade to another room that was even more beautiful so we took it. We had double windows that opened onto the Arno. This is an antique hotel, so don't expect ultra moder in any way. For being so old though, it didn't have any weird smells (I'm picky about this) or show wear. There were 2 antique armoirs for our clothes and a huge bathroom with an unbelievable selection of toiletries including bath salts and make-up remover.
The only dissappointment was that we booked a culinary class with wine and oil tasting. Expecting to be doing the cooking ourselves, but because we don't have any culinary experience we were only able to watch. Seeing it was quite expensive, we decided to cancel it, but the hotel manager and chef were so gracious. The manager even bought us lunch at the hotel restaurant because he felt bad, wow so different than any american hotel who would have probably charged you a cancellation fee!
Don't have a bad thing to say about the hotel - it was great, very romantic too.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank azarbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

I stayed here with by spouse and two young boys on a recent trip to Florence. We originally booked two rooms at the Westin Excelsior just across the Piazza Ognissanti, only to discover upon arrival that we had been "bumped" by the Chinese delegation attending the G8 summit. In lieu we were offered upgraded accommodations at The Grand Hotel along with free breakfast for the duration of our stay (2 nights). As the attached pictures will attest, this turned out to be a fortuitous situation. Our rooms were vast and very well appointed. The service provided by front desk and housekeeping staff was beyond reproach. The concierge was very attentive to our needs and provided excellent restaurant recommendations. The breakfast offering was among the best I've come across in my 20 years of travels. To give you an idea of the extent to which the wait staff went out of their way to meet our needs, the Maitre d' had one of the waiters dash across the Piazza to the Westin to get a particular type of yogurt we'd requested. They also made a point of bringing it to our table the second morning without even having to ask. Understandably, all this attentive service and luxury comes at a price. Room rates are indeed expensive, but not altogether inconsistent with what you'll encounter for similar rooms in other popular European destinations.
Finally in terms of location, the hotel is a mere ten minute walk from the train station and 15 minutes or so from the main sites and museums.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RuedyMorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

We stayed here on Starwood points and cash, so this review is based on that value. The rooms were spacious and luxurious and plush. The hotel was clean, had a great location and friendly staff. It was within walking distance to the train and all the major sites, but was quiet and pleasant at night. The rooms are beautiful ad the beds are great! Florence is a great city and the hotel just made our visit that much better.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belmont79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

The Grand hotel is a beautiful palatial hotel on he banks of the Arno, a pleasant stroll from the Uffizzi Gallery and immediately across from the very under-rated, more affordable and wonderful "Oltr'Arno". We were traveling with children and had a wonderful time using 2 spacious and extremely comfortable rooms. This is a starwood hotel and thus spg membership is highly recommended if staying at this hotel to get best deals. Service was impeccable from concierge to restaurant. Location is perfect if arriving from station and not minding walking to everywhere in Florence. The gym is correct if not outstanding -excellent AC in the gym however which is a rarity in Italy.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solange72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#10 of 410 in Florence
1,625 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#5 of 410 in Florence
580 reviews
Hotel Lungarno
#9 of 410 in Florence
1,291 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 410 in Florence
2,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Florence

Address: Piazza Ognissanti 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Florence
#3 Family Hotel in Florence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Spa Hotel in Florence
#11 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $427 - $921 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a sumptuous palace in the heart of the city, The St. RegisFlorence is a privileged base from which to experience Tuscany'stimeless attractions. A short stroll will bring you to the iconic Uffizi,Duomo or Ponte Vecchio’s elegant jewelry shops. Legendary for its history, Florence’s streets offer inimitable treasures.The St. Regis Florence offers 19 exquisite suites enriched with refinedfurniture and antique artworks, together with 81 elegant guestroomsdecorated with the prestigious Medici, Fiorentino and Renaissancestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The St. Regis Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Florence Hotel Florence
Florence Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing