We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch hospitality.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The St. Regis Florence
Ranked #10 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Tuscany, Italy
Level Contributor
626 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Top notch hospitality.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Here again attending an investment seminar the sense of beauty, elegance and good taste is overwhelming. Pleasure is everywhere, sitting in the magnificent hall, walking trough the various places, the gallery. Everything spells beauty.
Excellent stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank giorgiom60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear giorgiom60, We are very pleased that the elegance and beauty of the St. Regis Florence has seduced a person with a strong aesthetic sense as you are. We eagerly look forward to your return. Sincerely, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,042
    121
    31
    16
    4
See reviews for
270
644
41
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

On the North bank of the Arno on the West side of the Piazza Ognissanti sits The St. Regis Florence. Every aspect of our stay surpassed our expectations. A highly trained, intelligent and sensitive staff makes the most of the this historic property, meeting your every need with enthusiasm and vigor. Room service is perfection. The comfort of the bedding was beyond compare as was the furnishing and size of the room. The center of Florence lies a short walk away and a taxi can be summoned in moments. Parking is quick and easy whether you decide to park yourself or have the doorman take care of your vehicle. Truly, this hotel is an oasis of sumptuous comfort.

My compliments to the owners and especially the staff, should I return to Florence I'll accept no other accomodation.

Room Tip: To make your stay even better request a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bird_and_Food_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Bird_and_Food_L...., Your vigorous words of appreciation for the quality of our services and our highly trained, intelligent and sensitive staff renew in us the enthusiasm that allows us to give the best to our guests. We look forward to your return for another indelible experience with us. Thank you. Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
342 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a beautiful restored old palace in a very good location to most all attractions. Service and staff very accommodating. We stayed here during a Tauck Tour, and our only dinner was arranged by Tauck which was not very good, for such a high caliber hotel . Many people in our group of 38 complained of unsatisfactory meal

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the River
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harpo208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Harpo2018, we really appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback with us. We are deeply proud about the culinary tradition of Tuscany that our Executive Chef, Michele Griglio, proposes thanks to a collaboration with the multi-Michelin stars Chef Valeria Piccini: for this reason, please believe us in telling you that we are equally disappointed to know that your dinner didn’t live up to your expectations. We hope in your return and to be able to better suit your needs. Warm regards, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

A gem of a property situated next to Arno River & Piazza Ognissanti which is a short stroll away from the busy Duomo and attractions. I read that the property was a splendid 18th century palace its previous incarnation & the architectural details of the building is exquisite.

My Florentine style suit on the 4th Floor includes a charming balcony and spacious marble bathroom in art deco style. The bed furnishings are super luxurious! the only complaint I have is that the pillows were far too plush as I prefer firmer & flatter pillows. (There wasn't a pillow menu available for guests to choose their pillows) That could have helped me sleep better but am not complaining.

Breakfast is spectacular with unparalleled service & attention to detail. The selection was good which included at least 6 different types of cereal which was impressive. There was a generous spread of fresh cut fruits which included blueberries, gooseberries and blackberries. The cooked food choices were plenty which included some braised aubergine and button mushrooms. There were also poached pears! I must say the poached eggs is a clear winner and they manage to do it just right.

The butler service is efficient and personable. They were always on duty to see if we need any coffee and tea as well as amenities to make our stay comfortable. I am impressed to even get a handwritten note to wish me a good night's sleep which I think was a great touch as I hardly receive handwritten cards, letters and notes these days.

I used the concierge as often I can as they were quick and super efficient equipped with a vast knowledge of fine dining and attractions around the region.

If you are looking for service and an elegant hotel with great location and don't mind forking out some extras, look no further. This is the ONE.

Room Tip: Only the Rooms/Suits on 2nd & 4th Floor facing the Arno River have the best views and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonnysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear sonnysan, Allow us to thank you for your amazing and detailed note. What's better than being woken up by your personal butler with your favorite hot beverage and enjoy a rich breakfast in our indoor balcony looking over the amazing Winter Garden considered the heart of the St Regis Flroence and traditionally a rendezvous for the city’s most distinguished visitors.
The superb stained glass roof, the warm Tuscan terracotta decorating the walls and the rare antique pieces among the furniture & furnishings, all combine to create a uniquely welcoming and agreeable ambiance. Regarding the pillow menù, allow us to thank you for your useful feedback and to inform all our guest sthat if they miss something there is always a Butler ready to find it. Sincerely, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I just checked out of this wonderful hotel about 24 hours ago. We absolutely loved our stay - we had a deluxe room on the Arno with a small balcony. We took advantage of the balcony- watched the sky light up in the early morning, and clouds turn pink and purple over the river in the evenings. Our butlers were great - helped us unpack, woke us (upon asking of course) with espresso and orange juice, and everything in between. We never got the feeling we were being annoying with our requests. We were treated to wine, champagne, biscotti and other amenities. Concierge assistance was efficient, detailed, and spot-on. The hotel is tasteful, bright, and luxurious. I would not hesitate to return to the St. Regis in Florence and fully recommend it.

Room Tip: Arno River room with the balcony was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrookMeakins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear BrookMeakins, the hurry that you felt to write and the speed with which you wrote the comment to only a few hours from your check-out does nothing but give strength to the beautiful words of appreciation for our hotel and the exclusive butler service. Allow me to thank you and to invite you to contact me personally whenever you mught have the chance to come back to Florence. Sincerely, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

There is not much that I can say that hasn't already been said. Location is great 3 bridges away from Ponta Vecchio. All of the staff where very friendly. Note this is not always the case in Italy but has been our experience staying at St Regis hotels. Upon arrival we were escorted to check in and then shown our room. With two small kids in tow they did upgrade us to a larger room. The room was fabulous. Huge bed with lots of space to run around for the kids. The bathroom was also enormous with a great tub for the kids and shower for the adults. And the bed was very comfortable, again not always a guarantee in Italy.

But what made the stay special was the thoughtfulness of the staff. They sent two small toys for the kids as gifts and a bottle of sparking wine for us as we were celebrating our 10 year anniversary. At 7 pm the customary champagne ritual with a very nice snack assortment. They also accommodated a late check out. Yes, it's not cheap but you could not have taken the smiles off of our faces. Thank you St Regis.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank FamilyGuyBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear FamilyGuyBoston, allow us to thank you for valuating so high our staff and our friendly attitude towards your family. We dedicate the utmost attention to detail because we want to ensure a bespoke and indelible experience for the entire family. With captivating activities and thoughtful welcoming attention tailored for younger guests and their families, each St. Regis hotel and resort is a destination of distinction that celebrates the art of play. All the best, Ombretta - The Lobby Butelr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our stay at the St. Regis was fantastic, but the best part was the driver that they coordinated to take us wine tasting in Tuscany. His name is Sergio Bernini and he works for Barocchi Limousine Service. Sergio speaks English very well and is extremely well read and knowledgeable on all things Tuscany as well as just about any other topic of conversation. Sergio drove us to San Giammano (sp?) for our first wine tasting at a small family vineyard which was fantastic and later drove us through Siena and Montalcino before dropping us off at our hotel in Chiusi. My wife and I both agreed that Sergio's experience and knowledge of the region greatly enhanced our enjoyment and the day truly flew by. I highly reccommend Sergio for any type of chauffer service.

Vivek Dave
Chicago, IL

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Vivek D, allow us to thank you for sharing with all of us your bespoke experience with our driver during the tour in the Chianti area. Coming to Tuscany is a must a tour outside the city in order to explore the outstanding Chianti region's (tasting good wine) or to visit other fascinating medieval cities nearby. And our amazing Concierge Team is the best in taking care of any travel arrangements you desire and they provide you just the best expert drivers. All the best, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,042 reviews
Villa Cora
#7 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#21 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Florence

Property: The St. Regis Florence
Address: Piazza Ognissanti 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Florence
#3 Family Hotel in Florence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Spa Hotel in Florence
#8 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a sumptuous palace in the heart of the city, The St. RegisFlorence is a privileged base from which to experience Tuscany'stimeless attractions. A short stroll will bring you to the iconic Uffizi,Duomo or Ponte Vecchio’s elegant jewelry shops. Legendary for its history, Florence’s streets offer inimitable treasures.The St. Regis Florence offers 19 exquisite suites enriched with refinedfurniture and antique artworks, together with 81 elegant guestroomsdecorated with the prestigious Medici, Fiorentino and Renaissancestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Florence Hotel Florence
Florence Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing