We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St REGIS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. Regis Florence
Ranked #11 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“St REGIS”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

while the hotel was very nice our recent stay Jul 1 and 2, 2013 there is something sad about a luxury hotel that can NOT afford a FRESH BREAKFAST. All pastries and all fruits where old. How can this be possible. Great place to stay but if given a choice avoid the breakfast. Management must be aware of this. It is not acceptable for a hotel of this statue.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexios V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Alexios V, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and allow us to assure you that everyday we prepare fresh bread and croissants, also because in Italy there are laws and strict controls on food preservation in public places like hotels and restaurants. Best regards, Ombretta _ The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,082
    126
    31
    16
    5
See reviews for
283
665
42
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I have stayed a many different hotels in Florence over the years, however this hotel would have to be one of the best I have stayed in worldwide, and definitely in Florence.

The reasons - perfect location on the Arno river, large beautifully classically decorated rooms, spotlessly clean, incredible service (always a yes, nothing too difficult), Virtuoso extras made you feel you were getting good value for the price with breakfast included plus other extras. Professional check in experience, even though we arrived at a busy time.
The hotel is expensive, but I feel it is worth every cent, and I do not feel I overpaid - it was all worth it, our experience of Florence was so much enhanced by staying here. We had 2 rooms as my husband and I are travelling with 2 of our 20 something children, both rooms were superb, with large bathrooms, the best amenities I've experienced (same as St Regis NYC), luxurious towels, comfortable bed and a lovely bowl of fruit on arrival. Oh, and I shouldn't forget our butler, Andrea, a delightful and helpful young man.
Our stay was short, just 2 days, but I am missing it already.

Room Tip: Highly recommend a Arno river room, the view was just beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freddiefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear freddiefrog, Allow us to tell you that it's a real pleasure to know that you enjoyed our special location along the Arno river and just few minutes walking from the main attractions in Florence. We also trust you experienced an the impeccable Butlers' service. Sincerely, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

luxury at its best! eveything was excellent, room was perfect. hotel staff very friendly ! concierge very helpful! excellent location close to shopping and restaurants. room service amazing. would defentley recomind !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nora_77442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Nora_77442, Allow us to thank you for your more than nice comment. Any moment we try to exceed our guests' expectations and it is always a pleasure to know that we are succeeding. Should you ever decide to come back to us, please do not hesitate to contact me personally. Sincerely, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I will keep this review short and to the point: this hotel was exceptional in every way. Amazing location, beautiful, clean, luxurious rooms, and a staff that is courteous and helpful beyond belief.

Our time in Florence was brief, so we wanted to make the most of it. We arrived by train from Rome around 10 AM, and the concierge personally booked our tickets to the Uffizi (pulling some strings and getting us in on a reservation for some other hotel guests that had cancelled earlier). Without his help, we would not have been able to see this incredible museum. He also helped us get reservations later that day for the Galleria dell'Accademia , to see the David. I highly recommend utilizing the concierge to set up reservations.

It was our anniversary trip, so we were provided with a complimentary bottle of Champaign and a lovely note from the staff. Our room was absolutely beautiful, with a comfortable bed, and a courtyard view from which we could see the Duomo.

Also, they recommended we go next door to the Westin for drinks on their rooftop balcony, which offered exceptionally gorgeous views of Florence.

If you are looking to go all out, and receive unbelievable service in an insanely beautiful city, the St. Regis is the hotel for you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sydney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear SAHarrell, Allow us to thank you for the beautiful words wrote on how is exceptional the St. Regis Flroence in every way. A part the amazing location and the luxurious rooms, we are glad to hear you found the staff courteous and helpful beyond belief. We perfectly know how busy is Florence (especially in summer time) and how hard could be find a reservation and avoid the long lines to enter the most important Museums in town. For this reason, our Concierge is very helpful: our team has privileged contacts through which often they can do wonders. Sincerely, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marietta
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

When you think of European or Italian luxury hotels what comes to mind is great service but small rooms. Not the St. Regis Florence. The rooms were large and luxurious. Bathtubs big enough for my 220lb frame. Huge, comfortable bed. Sitting areas even in the regular rooms.

The common areas were lovely. Bar area was large with very knowledgeable and friendly bar tenders. The main entrance to the hotel is a circular door and during the day, they always had someone there to swing it for you. There was a separate entrance/exit through a small restaurant that over looked the square. The concierge was fantastic and able to handle just about anything. If you ask for directions, they take a small map (not a standard folding map like some hotels) that has the streets easily marked and they draw you where to go.

I even liked the breakfast buffet!!! Pancakes and french toast made upon request at the omelet station. Gluten free. No problem. Vegan no problem. And the location, wow. They carved out the first floor center area for the buffet and the view was magnificent.

We stayed there four nights with a large group (14 people) including my 4 year old and an infant and the staff and service were fantastic. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank legaljacket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear legaljacket, allow us to thank oyu for pointing how our rooms are larger than those that can be expected in Europe is this is a matter of great surprise for our guests. We are glad we could woke up you in the sweetest way is possible: with our selection of fresh pancakes and french toast made upon request. It's also really important to us give all our guests the serenity of not having to give up anything, having products gluten free and also for those are vegan. All the best, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

What a beautiful hotel. The perfect way to spend a few nights in Italy. Each room is so amazing and inviting that you almost want to lounge in the lobby areas instead of exploring the city. It will make you feel like a king or queen for a night!! The breakfast buffet each morning was so impressive with an array of foods from eggs, eggplant, cheeses, fruit, and meats. The location was excellent. Upon arriving, we never needed a cab. Its sits on a Piazza, and there was an outdoor movie playing for the town each evening. The service could NOT be improved!!! Extremely attentive. I will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulam843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Paulam843, Allow us to thank you for sharing with thousand of travelers your amazing experience with us. We treat our guests like royalty and actually in our Renaissance style rooms you do not even miss a wonderful four-poster bed. And it's true: our hotel is so familiar and intimate that you not even have the need to go out ..... except when you realize we are in the heart of an equally wonderful city and its many attractions are within walking feet or even enjoyable from our terraces (including the SeSto on Arno, our terrace at The Westin Excelsior Florence with stunning views). Warm regards, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We loved everything about this Hotel! Location, Room, Friendly Staff, Service, Food, Public Spaces were top notch. We stayed there 6 nights in May and couldn't have picked a better place. The hotel is newly renovated and they did a great job— modern amenities while preserving the historic details of the Palazzo. It's nice that the hotel has only 86 rooms so you still get the intimate feel of a boutique hotel but with 5 star amenities and it's truly 5 stars! We booked a deluxe river room and was upgraded to a junior suite. I highly recommend getting a river view-it's worth it. The views were spectacular. We will stay there again next time we visit Florence.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betty k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Betty K, Allow us to thank you for having caught and brought to all of us the essence of the enormous renovation made in the last few years at The St. Regis Florence: we offer "modern amenities while preserving the historic details" and the inmost soul of the Palazzo Giuntini. It's gratifying to know that you have chosen us to spend so many nights in Florence and everything was perfect. All our best regards, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#10 of 411 in Florence
1,480 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#4 of 411 in Florence
510 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 411 in Florence
2,748 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 411 in Florence
780 reviews
Villa Cora
#7 of 411 in Florence
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Florence

Property: The St. Regis Florence
Address: Piazza Ognissanti 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Florence
#3 Family Hotel in Florence
#5 Spa Hotel in Florence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#9 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a sumptuous palace in the heart of the city, The St. RegisFlorence is a privileged base from which to experience Tuscany'stimeless attractions. A short stroll will bring you to the iconic Uffizi,Duomo or Ponte Vecchio’s elegant jewelry shops. Legendary for its history, Florence’s streets offer inimitable treasures.The St. Regis Florence offers 19 exquisite suites enriched with refinedfurniture and antique artworks, together with 81 elegant guestroomsdecorated with the prestigious Medici, Fiorentino and Renaissancestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Florence Hotel Florence
Florence Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing