We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. Regis Florence
Ranked #11 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
North Miami Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very good”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

beautiful hotel, excellent location. only complaint was the food was not up to hotel expectations.
the room is decorated very elegantly and the loby is unbelievable .
location is the best in Florence, near every major attraction.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miami p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear miami p, thank you for sharing your appreciation for our beautiful hotel, rooms and unbelievable Reception Area and Library. About the food, allow me to thank you
for giving us a different point of view and to invite you to contact me personally in order to understand why it did not meet your expectations, especially because a few months ago our kitchens are home to an award-winning chef, Mrs. Piccini from "da Caino"Restaurant (2 Stars Michelin • 3 Forks Michelin Guide). Sincerely, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,081
    126
    31
    16
    5
See reviews for
283
664
42
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

From start to finish this hotel surpassed all our expectations.
The staff were gracious, kind and helpful.
The reception area as you enter the hotel is very warm and inviting beautifully furnished with charming staff. Outside is a small terrace on the street but a place to watch the people pass and be close to the River Arno.
We had a magnificent junior suite with a double balcony over looking the river where we spent many lovely hours either eating breakfast or drinking our complimentary drinks.
The rooms are decorated with frescos and luxuriously furnished making it a very enjoyable place to come home to after many hours of walking around Florence.
Our only criticism if we had to make one was the very large and a bit soulless salon/ bar, it again was well furnished but lacked any natural light and was always empty but don't let this put you off.
The location of the St Regis was a 6 minute walk into the heart around the Duomo which was packed so it was a joy to be a little out of the crowds.
The concierge were extremely helpful and always welcoming you not just by name but with a smile and Julianna our butler was exceptional in every way.
We would absolutely return to this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: If you can afford do go for a view over looking the river as it is truly magnificent. Michaelangelo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Juicylucy1066, your amazing words well interpret our deep pride in representing a "must" in Italy: the scenic St. Regis Florence has been the preferred stop of seasoned travelers since the 18th Century and it's still a must for those that aspire to an unrivaled immersion into the cradle of the Renaissance. And we understand the sensation you felt facing our roomy Winter Garden, a Florentine masterpiece that combines history and a sophisticated renovation, with its Murano chandeliers and hand painted frescoes: the perfect location where also the most hesitant guests in front of such opulence do not lose the opportunity to taste our Signatures St. Regis Ritual: the Bloody Mary, The Tea and The Champagne Rituals. Immensely grateful, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We were at the St Regis Florence during the height of Arab summer tourism. That means usually very demanding crowds and a rather over the top approach to luxury, featuring state of the art everything, from bed linens to digital equipment. Regardless, we found the St Regis to be very respectful of its past (our room had an original fresco from the 15th century!). Having stayed at the Villa San Michele previously, we found the St Regis and its modern conveniences a welcome change. Big plus: it is only 300 meters from Gelateria La Carraia. If you don't know what that is, you should find out!! Cons: room maintenance is sometimes very slow. Make sure they know you are out of the room, and would like it cleaned. Also, keep the windows closed - the mosquitoes of the Arno are vicious.

Room Tip: Prince's bedroom, 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zazzzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear lezunip, we are very glad you could experienced myriad storied Florentine aesthetics throughout the hotel’s decidedly modern amenities and services. As you point out, our antique décor pays homage to the city’s artistic heritage with all the rooms adorned by rich colors, custom frescos and sparkling crystal chandeliers. And we could not be more in agreement with you telling that the ice cream at the Carraia Gelateria is the best in town. Sincerely, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The St. Regis Hotel in Florence is just flat out gorgeous. You feel like you've been transported back into a gentler more gilded age. The rooms are amazing, each one with a different name and decor. Service was exceptional, with a small exception (a rather rude concierge), ah but I nitpick! Though we were part of a group I felt special in this special place. The spa is tiny and this is where I have my only complaint. I had an appointment that was delayed due to a tardy guest before me. I had to wait nearly 30 minutes while he showered and then the room needed to be cleaned. You see the spa does to have a separate locker area nor showers. Everything is ensuite. That said, my treatment was exceptional.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room overlooking the Arno. Though you are on a Main Street the view is exceptional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I spent most of my working life traveling for business and I want to say that the St Regis / Grand Hotel in Florence, Italy is the finest hotel I've ever stayed in. The staff was just exceptional in every way -- concierge, check in people, room service people, bar and restaurant workers. They could not have been friendlier and more accommodating with our group which had 2 grandparents, 4-40ish folks, and two grandkids 10 and 13. They helped us turn in our rental vans without having to leave the hotel lobby, got us tickets to the Uffizzi, etc etc. The complimentary breakfasts were delectable feasts. What a hotel and what an experience; I've never stayed in a hotel in which the hotel significantly enhanced our pleasure in visiting a city.

david n smith; cleveland heights, ohio

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DNSmith71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear DNSmith71, as all your family experienced, The St. Regis Florence offers a multitude of services to make families’ stay seamless and memorable. Our Concierges, experts and proud members of the Clef D'Or (the celebrated international concierge society), provide top-quality planning assistance: from shopping to sightseeing to touring Tuscany's hidden towns. Thank you for the wonderful note - Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Full disclosure: I stay at Starwood properties frequently for work, so I was able to get a great room here entirely on points. I have no idea what a night here costs, so I can't comment on value for money. But the doormen and they other staff can't tell the paying customers from those staying on points, and all treated us like royalty. This is the friendliest and most accommodating service we have ever had in Florence. This hotel (the former Grand Hotel) is a true landmark in a Palazzo designed by Brunelleschi (architect or the Duomo), and it has been lovingly and carefully restored. It's difficult to mix modern comfort with centuries-old style, but the St Regis does it beautifully. There's more "wow" in this hotel than in many tourist attractions, and it's more than sufficient to offset the slightly inconvenient location (3 bridges West of the Ponte Vecchio). If you have the money or the points, staying at the St Regis in Florence will be a memorable experience.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear David G, allow us to tell you that it's a great satisfaction for us to have SPG members (as you are) spending their points for free nights at The St. Regis Florence. The points you earn per each dollar spent in one of our hotels are the maximum expression of your loyalty to our great Starwood Family. You are really special for us and all the amazing "Wow" you experienced are the most sincere thanks for choosing Starwood. Sincerely, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We returned to the St. Regis over Christmas vacation and had a magical time. Some staff members even remembered us from over a year before, shortly after the Hotel reponed. First, the bldg is a major landmark having been The Grand Hotel in Florence. The hotel did a fine job of retaining the original architectural features while also doing a great job of updating the guest rooms. Our guest room on the 2nd floor overlooking the solarium courtyard/dining room was magnificent. We also sat directly on the street overlooking the Arno River. Open the bathroom french doors and you're listening to the Arno River falls, which are very strong in Dec. The bed was sumptuous--we never wanted to get out of it. The furnishings were elegant and ornate. The daily breakfast buffets were always fresh with wide selections. Christmas dinner in the dining room was also a treat. We truly now know what it's like to live in a palace. Kudos to the warm, outgoing staff. They make this experience special and possible.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 97KevinM97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear 97 Kevin 97, there's no two without three, italians say. We are honored you chose us for the second time and we believe we will see you again the next Christmas in order to enjoy once more the magical atmosphere of a real Florentine Palace. Sicerely, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#10 of 411 in Florence
1,479 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 411 in Florence
510 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 411 in Florence
2,746 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 411 in Florence
779 reviews
Villa Cora
#6 of 411 in Florence
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Florence

Property: The St. Regis Florence
Address: Piazza Ognissanti 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Florence
#3 Family Hotel in Florence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Spa Hotel in Florence
#9 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a sumptuous palace in the heart of the city, The St. RegisFlorence is a privileged base from which to experience Tuscany'stimeless attractions. A short stroll will bring you to the iconic Uffizi,Duomo or Ponte Vecchio’s elegant jewelry shops. Legendary for its history, Florence’s streets offer inimitable treasures.The St. Regis Florence offers 19 exquisite suites enriched with refinedfurniture and antique artworks, together with 81 elegant guestroomsdecorated with the prestigious Medici, Fiorentino and Renaissancestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Florence Hotel Florence
Florence Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing