We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. Regis Florence
Ranked #13 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I spent most of my working life traveling for business and I want to say that the St Regis / Grand Hotel in Florence, Italy is the finest hotel I've ever stayed in. The staff was just exceptional in every way -- concierge, check in people, room service people, bar and restaurant workers. They could not have been friendlier and more accommodating with our group which had 2 grandparents, 4-40ish folks, and two grandkids 10 and 13. They helped us turn in our rental vans without having to leave the hotel lobby, got us tickets to the Uffizzi, etc etc. The complimentary breakfasts were delectable feasts. What a hotel and what an experience; I've never stayed in a hotel in which the hotel significantly enhanced our pleasure in visiting a city.

david n smith; cleveland heights, ohio

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DNSmith71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear DNSmith71, as all your family experienced, The St. Regis Florence offers a multitude of services to make families’ stay seamless and memorable. Our Concierges, experts and proud members of the Clef D'Or (the celebrated international concierge society), provide top-quality planning assistance: from shopping to sightseeing to touring Tuscany's hidden towns. Thank you for the wonderful note - Ombretta - The Lobby Butler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,288)
There are newer reviews for The St. Regis Florence
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

694 - 700 of 1,288 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

Full disclosure: I stay at Starwood properties frequently for work, so I was able to get a great room here entirely on points. I have no idea what a night here costs, so I can't comment on value for money. But the doormen and they other staff can't tell the paying customers from those staying on points, and all treated us like royalty. This is the friendliest and most accommodating service we have ever had in Florence. This hotel (the former Grand Hotel) is a true landmark in a Palazzo designed by Brunelleschi (architect or the Duomo), and it has been lovingly and carefully restored. It's difficult to mix modern comfort with centuries-old style, but the St Regis does it beautifully. There's more "wow" in this hotel than in many tourist attractions, and it's more than sufficient to offset the slightly inconvenient location (3 bridges West of the Ponte Vecchio). If you have the money or the points, staying at the St Regis in Florence will be a memorable experience.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear David G, allow us to tell you that it's a great satisfaction for us to have SPG members (as you are) spending their points for free nights at The St. Regis Florence. The points you earn per each dollar spent in one of our hotels are the maximum expression of your loyalty to our great Starwood Family. You are really special for us and all the amazing "Wow" you experienced are the most sincere thanks for choosing Starwood. Sincerely, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We returned to the St. Regis over Christmas vacation and had a magical time. Some staff members even remembered us from over a year before, shortly after the Hotel reponed. First, the bldg is a major landmark having been The Grand Hotel in Florence. The hotel did a fine job of retaining the original architectural features while also doing a great job of updating the guest rooms. Our guest room on the 2nd floor overlooking the solarium courtyard/dining room was magnificent. We also sat directly on the street overlooking the Arno River. Open the bathroom french doors and you're listening to the Arno River falls, which are very strong in Dec. The bed was sumptuous--we never wanted to get out of it. The furnishings were elegant and ornate. The daily breakfast buffets were always fresh with wide selections. Christmas dinner in the dining room was also a treat. We truly now know what it's like to live in a palace. Kudos to the warm, outgoing staff. They make this experience special and possible.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 97KevinM97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear 97 Kevin 97, there's no two without three, italians say. We are honored you chose us for the second time and we believe we will see you again the next Christmas in order to enjoy once more the magical atmosphere of a real Florentine Palace. Sicerely, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This truely is a lovely hotel and the staff is #1 but very expensive. The breakfast was excellent and location is good. I loved the cafe in front of the hotel too. Great for having coffee and people watching. The champagne happy hour was fun. If you can spare the $ give it a try.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Dear Mike R, thank you for you for your note about our excellent staff, breakfast and location. We agree with you: our lovely terrace on the Arno River is the perfect place to relax and "explore" the Florentines life drinking a good Italian coffee. Sincerely, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

an outstanding level of service and quality staff...concierge was so warm and helpful and made entire family feel welcomed and secure...will suggest this place to everyone who asks where to stay in florence.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgoodtrade9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Dear sgoodtrade9an, we are very glad to host and surprise the families travelling with their children. We are just inaugurating The Family Traditions package that converts each St. Regis in a destination of distinction that celebrates the art of play. Families will delight in special welcome amenities and turndown rituals designed to showcase the uniqueness of each destination and, as you have already seen, the hotel team is able to recommend and arrange a selection of recreational activities and enriching experiences, dining options, childcare services and other conveniences for families and children of all ages.
Sincerely, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Perfect location conveniently and beautifully located on a piazza on the Arno River.
Newly redecorated with shimmering chandeliers and accoutrements that reflect the classical location of Florence and its art. The spacious dining room is uplifting with its brightness from the colors of the estaminet glass in the ceiling, together with its chandelier which was made for this location. A wide balcony surrounds this space. A separate entrance from the floor above provides access to it where there is served the most complete and sumptuous breakfast buffet that you would ever imagine. Now you are set for a full day of enjoying the city.

It is amazing to me that such a remarkable setting could include a staff that is equally outstanding! Prompt courteous service for a tea service in your room, assistance with laundry, getting directions, you name it. The breakfast service is particularly gracious helping you or letting you help yourself to the tables of juices and fresh fruits, tray of cheeses a prosecutions, hot servers with cooked vegetable and bacon, and finally the personal preparation of orange-yolked fresh eggs as you like.

This was our 50th wedding anniversary trip, including eight of us, ages ten to seventy. It's was our favorite place to stay.

This is written by my Mom from Ohio

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Claire P, We are grateful for your words of appreciation for the hotel conveniently located, for the elegance of its rooms, but also to have noticed that our remarkable setting includes a staff That is equally outstanding. Sincerely, Ombretta _ The Lobby Butler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I have stayed at hotels all over the world. This hotel must have few rivals. I knew from the minute I exited the taxi to check in I was in for a treat. I had difficulty locating cash to pay the taxi. The bellman saw this and rushed to pay the taxi! What service! I checked in with Marcelo who instantly proved himself to be the standard of professionalism against whom all other hotel managers should be compared. He is simply the best. Marcelo is gracious, dignified, and patient. He recommended great restaurants, made outstanding hotel reservations for my family in Venice, and unflinchingly handled our laundry and dry cleaning. The hotel itself is spectacular from lobby to bar to restaurant to rooms. One of my best hotel experiences.

Room Tip: They have connecting rooms if you have kids. Ask when you book the room.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yourhoteltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#4 of 411 in Florence
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 411 in Florence
2,812 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#26 of 411 in Florence
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Florence

Address: Piazza Ognissanti 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Florence
#3 Family Hotel in Florence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Spa Hotel in Florence
#11 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $472 - $2,632 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a sumptuous palace in the heart of the city, The St. RegisFlorence is a privileged base from which to experience Tuscany'stimeless attractions. A short stroll will bring you to the iconic Uffizi,Duomo or Ponte Vecchio’s elegant jewelry shops. Legendary for its history, Florence’s streets offer inimitable treasures.The St. Regis Florence offers 19 exquisite suites enriched with refinedfurniture and antique artworks, together with 81 elegant guestroomsdecorated with the prestigious Medici, Fiorentino and Renaissancestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Florence Hotel Florence
Florence Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing