We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Florence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The St. Regis Florence
Ranked #9 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Perfect location conveniently and beautifully located on a piazza on the Arno River.
Newly redecorated with shimmering chandeliers and accoutrements that reflect the classical location of Florence and its art. The spacious dining room is uplifting with its brightness from the colors of the estaminet glass in the ceiling, together with its chandelier which was made for this location. A wide balcony surrounds this space. A separate entrance from the floor above provides access to it where there is served the most complete and sumptuous breakfast buffet that you would ever imagine. Now you are set for a full day of enjoying the city.

It is amazing to me that such a remarkable setting could include a staff that is equally outstanding! Prompt courteous service for a tea service in your room, assistance with laundry, getting directions, you name it. The breakfast service is particularly gracious helping you or letting you help yourself to the tables of juices and fresh fruits, tray of cheeses a prosecutions, hot servers with cooked vegetable and bacon, and finally the personal preparation of orange-yolked fresh eggs as you like.

This was our 50th wedding anniversary trip, including eight of us, ages ten to seventy. It's was our favorite place to stay.

This is written by my Mom from Ohio

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Claire P, We are grateful for your words of appreciation for the hotel conveniently located, for the elegance of its rooms, but also to have noticed that our remarkable setting includes a staff That is equally outstanding. Sincerely, Ombretta _ The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    905
    112
    29
    14
    3
See reviews for
236
565
34
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I have stayed at hotels all over the world. This hotel must have few rivals. I knew from the minute I exited the taxi to check in I was in for a treat. I had difficulty locating cash to pay the taxi. The bellman saw this and rushed to pay the taxi! What service! I checked in with Marcelo who instantly proved himself to be the standard of professionalism against whom all other hotel managers should be compared. He is simply the best. Marcelo is gracious, dignified, and patient. He recommended great restaurants, made outstanding hotel reservations for my family in Venice, and unflinchingly handled our laundry and dry cleaning. The hotel itself is spectacular from lobby to bar to restaurant to rooms. One of my best hotel experiences.

Room Tip: They have connecting rooms if you have kids. Ask when you book the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yourhoteltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just returned from a trip to Italy with my husband and 2 teenage children. The St. Regis in Florence is truly one of the nicest hotels we have ever visited. Our family is very fortunate to be able to travel often and to stay at some of the nicest hotels wherever we go. We are very partial to the Starwood properties as we are a member of their generous rewards program. Prior to visiting the St. Regis in Florence our favorite St. Regis was the property in Kauai which is simply beautiful with breath-taking views. The St. Regis in Florence has currently undergone a renovation and the property is just amazing and now our favorite in the Starwoods family. From the beautifully decorated rooms, the luxurious bathrooms (the bathroom mirrors have a TV in them...I have never seen anything like this!) to the elegant public spaces, this hotel feels more like a boutique hotel than part of a larger chain. The hotel is situated right on the Arno river. Our corner suite on the 3rd floor had sweeping views of the Florence hillside and the top of the Duomo. We were in walking distance to all major sites, the best shopping and excellent dining. (Try the roof top restaurant for dinner or drinks at the Westin across the street for a 360 degree view of the Florence skyline) Each morning we enjoyed a beautifully laid out buffet breakfast in one of the nicest hotel dining rooms I have seen..stained glass windows, high ceilings, etc. I can not express enough how EVERY detail of this hotel was of the highest quality. ( The paper stock that the next day's weather is printed on and delivered to your room feels like Crane quality stationary!) The front desk staff, concierge and wait staff were friendly, professional and helpful. We wish we could have stayed longer at this beautiful property and will definitely be returning on our next visit to Florence.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Situated in front of Piazza D'Ognissante, less than 10min. Walk from Florence Sta. Maria Rail Station. 45mins by train to Pisa Station.
The rooms are clean and very spacious, bathroom is really nice, with built in small LCD Tv in the mirror.
The staff are all very very friendly, courteous and helpful, especially Anna, the restaurant manager and Marco from the cobcierge.
Breakfast buffet is highly recommended, lots of choices. I don't recommend having dinner there bec the selection is very limited, quite a few choices, more on wine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pancho F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the St Regis, Florence for a combined celebration, our wedding anniversary, and our eldest daughter's 21st birthday. The reception that we received from the front desk staff was so welcoming that we knew we had made the right choice of hotel. We were given a well appointed room with a beautiful view across the Arno. Our 'butler' Juliana organised all the little touches that made our birthday celebration very special indeed. The hotel itself is beautiful and, with its great staff, is a reminder of a quality and standard of service which can be increasingly hard to find. If you have the opportunity to visit Florence, I would strongly recommend the St Regis.

Room Tip: Opt for a room with a view overlooking the River Arno.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiar0scuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Chiar0scuro, it was an honor for us taht you chose the St. Regis Florence in order to celebrate such special events as your wedding anniversay and your daughter's birthday are:
what pleasure was to celebrate with you. Juliana, your personal Butler, was excited in preparing all the little touches that made this celebration very special indeed. we hope to have left a trace of us in your fondest memories. Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashiya, Japan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

What a hotel. Right on the Arno river. We stayed here one night, made the reservation by phone from the taxi cab immediately after Lufthansa stranded us and another 600 of our closest friends for one night (3 flights to Frankfurt canceled at the same time) at the Florence Airport.
The hotel is small, intimate and lovely. I think that it must be nearly new but it has a character and charm that makes it feel opulent and approachable. Our room was on two levels separated by 6 or 7 stairs. We had two bathrooms and a magnificent sitting / living room with huge windows looking out on the river. They brought us two glasses of Prosecco immediately after checking in ( we had a butler!). We drank them slowly on our little veranda while looking at the Ponte Vecchio while savouring the scene that we would have never experienced if not for Lufthansa's poor customer service. This may be the nicest hotel I have ever stayed at and it was by accident. Everyone was nice to us at this hotel, some even referred to me by name, really a nice touch.
If you are going to be in Florence try this hotel. Its awesome.

Room Tip: We said nothing and were given one of the nicest rooms I have ever stayed in my life. Perhaps the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashiyadudeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Ashiyadudeman, what's better than a glass of Prosecco served by a St. Regis Butler on our little veranda while looking at the Ponte Vecchio in order to forget the journey fatigues. Could be our new advertising. Thank you very much for sharing your incredible experience with all of us. Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The room, the food, the staff, the spa - everything was perfect. Was even upgraded upon arrival. I stayed in 438 and it was great - especially liked the mirror TV in bathroom. Truly a luxury five star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Chris B, thank you for sharing your "amazing" comment. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the room 438 in Florentine Style with frescoes and warm colors evoking ancient Florentine tunes but with a modern touch: the tv in the mirror in the bathroom. Sincerely, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#1 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 350 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#10 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#17 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 2,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Cora
#5 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 686 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Duomo
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#2 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Florence

Property: The St. Regis Florence
Address: Piazza Ognissanti 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Florence
#3 Family Hotel in Florence
#4 Spa Hotel in Florence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#7 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a sumptuous palace in the heart of the city, The St. RegisFlorence is a privileged base from which to experience Tuscany'stimeless attractions. A short stroll will bring you to the iconic Uffizi,Duomo or Ponte Vecchio’s elegant jewelry shops. Legendary for its history, Florence’s streets offer inimitable treasures.The St. Regis Florence offers 19 exquisite suites enriched with refinedfurniture and antique artworks, together with 81 elegant guestroomsdecorated with the prestigious Medici, Fiorentino and Renaissancestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The St. Regis Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Florence Hotel Florence
Florence Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing