We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Brand New Starwood Property With World Class!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The St. Regis Florence
Ranked #14 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2011

The St. Regis Florence has recently been renovated. The status of this hotel has been elevated to the level of world class hotels. We found only comfort, hospitality, and high quality at the St. Regis during our stay. Here are some of the highlights:
1. Location- The hotel is next to the Arno River and within walking distance of all the major attractions, including the train station.
2. Renovation- The hotel has just undergone a complete renovation. It's beautiful! The lobby, restaurant, and rooms are stunning. We were given a suite on the second floor with butler service. Our room was picture perfect with frescos throughout. We had two bathrooms and a view of the Arno. The bed was one of the most comfortable.
3. Service- Checking in was a well timed event. After providing passports and credit card, we were taken to our room where we were greeted by our personal butler. Concierge and maid service was outstanding.
4. Attention to Details- Everything in the hotel was picture perfect and way above standard. The bedding, Bose System, two large TV's, furniture, closets, and bathrooms were top notch. The overall service provided was some of the best we have ever received. We love the butler "anytime" coffee and tea service.
The following are some helpful hints while in Florence:
1. Walk to the hotel from the Train Station if you're able. It's about a 10 minute walk. Head right as you exit the station and toward the Arno.
2. Take a few day trips from Florence if you're there for more than three days. Try WalkaboutFloremce.com for a trip to Cinque Terre or Tuscany.
3. Some high points you should not miss include David at the Galleria de'Accedemia, Duomo, Pitti Palace, Biboli Gardens, Ponte Vecchio, Ferragamo museum, & Uffizi.
4. If you love shopping and a bargain, take a shuttle to the Outlet Mall. The shuttle will pick you up/take you back from/to your hotel and allow you three hours of the best bargain high-end shopping in Florence for a 25 Euro driving fee. You leave at 9:30am and are back by 2:30pm.
5. Enjoy the beautiful quaint hotel lobby and delicious restaurant. Make sure to have a signature Bloody Mary. Sit outside in the small hotel front terrace if the sun is shining for good people watching.
If I had to provide one constructive comment to the hotel it would be that the hotel has lost some of it's old world charm in the renovation. The use of stark white throughout the hotel from the charm of old world architecture. Softer and richer tones would add to the ambiance that Firenze exudes. Overall, this is one of the finest Starwood Properties anywhere.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BOLDMissionHills_KS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

888 - 894 of 1,306 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2011

Loved our 3 nights at this hotel, the rooms were very regal and the location very central. Our family loved the whole experience. Will love to go back!

Room Tip: We had breakfast at the hotel on one of the mornings, but after that across from the hotel there was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aristoninsurance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We initially stayed across the street at the Westin (see separate review) and also stayed at the StRegis to see the difference)..had a junior suite and room was marvelous and lavishly designed! You would walk into a bottom floor which had full bathroom, then there is a living room area with working desk. Then a few steps up to the second floor is another dual sink full bathroom with bathtub. The bedroom (King bed -joined by two twins ala European style) was also on this second floor).

As this is a suite it had butler service which included 24 hr complimentary hot beverage service (coffee/tea), 2 free garment pressings, shoe shine, and packing/unpacking luggage. They also were available for anything else a guest may need (fees apply).

Our room was on the 1st floor so when you looked out..the river was pretty much in your face, so view was not as marvelous as out higher floor suite view at Westin!! Would suggest future guests request higher floors with river views for best look out of city. The bed was the most comfortable compared to even the already comfortable Westin across the street..

Utilized concierge once was was totally disappointed by their subjective opinion and biased recommendations: had asked for route somewhere using public rail..and both of the guys present said public transport was not safe, then proceeded to upsell us to hire a personal car with driver in a Mercedes for $390 euros an hour!! We have been on Italian trains during this trip and previous ones and know that they are very safe and convenient to get around the country economically and fast...These concierges probably assume that when one is willing to pay for the St Regis they are willing to pay a price to go about in stlye and pay 300 times as much to get a driver...I hate the feeling of being deceived, and the fact they told me public transport is not safe (again we utilized the train system and they are among the best in the world we used). In addition the fact they tried to upsell us the whole car and driver deal without offering other sincere options..cab, train, bus, etc--that was very deceptive from concierges visitors may come to trust at this category of hotel!

Overall, the hotel-amenities- and rooms were 1st class. Checkin and butler staff we encountered were great..concierge that one may come to trust were below average and acceptable standards. Recommend travelers research their destinations, food choices, and the city of Florence first before consulting and relying on the concierge as they are deceiving..(3/5 stars based on this and for value paid for hotel)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vg247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed at the Florence St Regis for 3 nights in a beautiful large junior suite-the furnishings were gorgeous and the bed amazing. There were a couple of things missing for such an upscale hotel-there was no shelf in the shower for soap, shampoo, etc-we had to keep everything on the shower floor. Also, the full length mirror was in the closet-you had to stand so close to it that it was not useful-I know I'm being picky but I expected perfection from a hotel in this price range. We were disappointed with the butler service that they made a big deal about at check in- we met our butler when we checked in and never heard from or saw her again. I'm not sure we really needed a butler but they led us to believe that this was going to be an amazing personalized service experience. The concierge service was fine-nothing spectacular-willing to make dinner reservations but did not offer too many suggestions.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luvtotravel40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Amazing rooms and views - Westin is great accross the street - but this is better.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SlipperyJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I cannot say enough positive things about our stay at the St. Regis in Florence, Italy. The staff was so incredibly accommodating - in fact, they went beyond what I would have expected. If we had questions about how to get train tickets, their response was, "We can take care of that for you". Museum tickets? Same answer. Dinner reservations / recommendations - again, the same answer. It was also said with a genuine smile, which for me, goes a long way.

The location was fantastic. It was right on the river with beautiful views and it was also a very short walk into town. I am used to driving everywhere so this was a very nice treat being able to walk to every destination.

Regarding the sleep quality, I can honestly say that while staying at the St. Regis, I have never slept better in my life. I am normally an early riser (6am), regardless of the day of the week. I would prefer to sleep in a little over the weekend but I can't seem to do so. The first night we stayed here, I slept until 11:30am the next morning. This actually continued for next 5 mornings and I must say, it was a very nice change for me.

So overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We were here for the first leg of our honeymoon and I must say it was my favorite out of the 3 hotels we stayed at in Europe. Many thanks go to their amazing staff.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We recently stayed at this gorgeous hotel, reopening after its recent renovation. It's location is ideal; situated in a quiet piazza, facing the Arno River. Our junior suite was amazing, huge by European standards. We found the staff to be super friendly and accommodated our every whim, from dinner reservations, to tickets to museums. Very centrally located to all the sights and shopping areas. Loved it, can't wait to return!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanmaria1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#5 of 409 in Florence
568 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 409 in Florence
2,863 reviews
Hotel Lungarno
#11 of 409 in Florence
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Florence

Address: Piazza Ognissanti 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Florence
#3 Family Hotel in Florence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Spa Hotel in Florence
#11 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $452 - $1,450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a sumptuous palace in the heart of the city, The St. RegisFlorence is a privileged base from which to experience Tuscany'stimeless attractions. A short stroll will bring you to the iconic Uffizi,Duomo or Ponte Vecchio’s elegant jewelry shops. Legendary for its history, Florence’s streets offer inimitable treasures.The St. Regis Florence offers 19 exquisite suites enriched with refinedfurniture and antique artworks, together with 81 elegant guestroomsdecorated with the prestigious Medici, Fiorentino and Renaissancestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Florence Hotel Florence
Florence Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing