We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Renaissance Shanty” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Helvetia & Bristol Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
Ranked #136 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Renaissance Shanty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Is it not important to pick a hotel that suits the ambience of its environment? We think it is and on this basis The Bristol is hard to beat in 'Firenze'. Perfectly situated a smart stroll from The Duomo and Ponte Vechio the hotel exudes renaissance charm and authentic Italian class. If you are looking for 21st century cleansed perfection then do not stay here but if you want the comfort of a majestic hotel staffed with charmed professionals The Bristol will help you step back in time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luana M, Assistant Management at Helvetia & Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Sirs,
It was very thoughtful of you to write your opinions and recommendation concerning our hotel, which we very much appreciated.
Just as Florence, the quintessential symbol of the Renaissance, placed man at the centre of the universe, the Helvetia & Bristol makes its guests the centre of attention so that they can enjoy its “sense appeal” to the full.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that both our staff and services have contributed to render your time in Florence a successful one.
We sincerely hope that you will always make the Helvetia & Bristol your “home” whenever you are in Florence.
With best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    120
    50
    27
    8
See reviews for
85
226
30
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

As you walk out of the Hotel the heart of the city is just around the corner, literately. The staff where excellent in every way from booking day trips, to suggesting great resturants. Overall great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luana M, Assistente di Direzione at Helvetia & Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Sir,
We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Hotel Helvetia & Bristol.
It is always a great pleasure to receive positive feedback.
We will share your comments with our team, who we are certain will be encouraged by your remarks.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and for staying at the Helvetia & Bristol.
We look forward to serving you in the future.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

This 'historical' five star hotel is a really good place, close to most attractions in Florence and definitely one of the best staff I have ever seen. They were always ready to help us in any way possible, even for our day trips to Lucca, Siena and Pisa. The breakfest is great too and the whole hotel gives this feeling of an old mansion, which goes really well with the city of Florence. The rooms are really good, very spacious and luxurious. I just didn't like the restaurant of the Hotel, service is not really good, the manager was in a bad mood and the food was trying to be way too fancy, but that doesn't make our amazing experience any worse.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcoslee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro de Sao Paulo, BA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

I was many times in The Florence. In my opinion this is a better place, the location is perfect and the palce is storical.
It was need a place to do some appointments and this hotel has a very good structure to do it.
The staff is very kind, too.

Room Tip: The better location of Florence
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PedroPaulo_Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luana M, Assistente di Direzione at Helvetia & Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Sir,
I appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Hotel Helvetia & Bristol. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that both our services and staff have somehow contributed to render your time in Florence a successful one.
I sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again to the Helvetia & Bristol in the near future.
With best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
157 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We picked this hotel because it is part of The Leading Hotels of the World and its location. The staff is very friendly and helpful-they are the best part of the hotel. Beds are comfortable and adorned with exquisite Italian linen. Its central location allowed us to walk to every pace we wanted to visit in the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmik66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luana M, Assistente di Direzione at Helvetia & Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for expressing your thoughts on your stay at Hotel Helvetia & Bristol, we always appreciate feedback from customers as it helps us, being part of The Leading Hotels of the World, to maintain a high standard of service. I will also share your comments with our staff who I am sure will be delighted! We are more than happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to welcome you into Helvetia & Bristol once again in the future.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

The front desk clerk was very polite as well as the doorman and other staff.
Unfortunately the first room they showed us to was a complete disaster. Dark, dingy, stained chairs....awful.
I talked to the manager and he went up to look at the room.
He apologized and sent up champagne and a very nice fruit basket as well as a letter of apology. The next morning my daughter and I were upgraded to a wonderful suite.
Luxury pure.
Our week at the Helvetia was first class.
This is not a modern hotel, but a charming old mansion. If that is your cup of tea, this is the place for you.
Centrally located, yet very refined and peaceful.
The breakfast buffet was also excellent.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nemirovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luana M, Assistente di Direzione at Helvetia & Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Hotel Helvetia & Bristol, we are glad you enjoyed it. I can only apologise that the first room you were shown was not up to your expectations. As you have experienced the Helvetia & Bristol is a historical hotel with only 67 rooms. The room categories go from Classic Double to Royal Suite, and apart from the size they all offer the same facilities and comforts. Thank you for your comments regarding the staff, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you into the Helvetia & Bristol again in the future.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

The front desk staff made our stay special as there wasn't a question they couldn't answer or a request they didn't jump to respond to. Great hotel in a terrific location. Breakfast was excellent and the main lobby was well appointed. We have been to many high end hotels in the U.S. and Europe and this one ranks among the best. We would return without a second thought.

Room Tip: Pay for the suite...well worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Perry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luana M, Assistant General Manager at Helvetia & Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for your stay in Hotel Helvetia & Bristol. We very much appreciate any feedback and will be sure to pass on these positive comments to our staff who I am sure will be delighted!
We look forward to welcoming you into Helvetia & Bristol once again in the future.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#21 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Uffizi
Bernini Palace Hotel
Bernini Palace Hotel
#30 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#19 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#15 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montebello Splendid
Hotel Montebello Splendid
#123 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helvetia & Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helvetia & Bristol Hotel

Property: Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
Address: Via De' Pescioni 2, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#81 Business Hotel in Florence
#100 Family Hotel in Florence
#106 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Helvetia & Bristol Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Helvetia & Bristol, a historic property located amongst Florence's many cultural treasures. The Hotel Helvetia & Bristol is undoubtedly the only place to stay when in Florence. As a World Heritage site and magnetic cultural destination, it is the focal point for any visitor, and we are blessed by being at the heart of it all. Our front door opens onto the Palazzo Strozzi, a masterpiece of Florentine Renaissance architecture, along with an enviable location in the luxury shopping district. Our rooms and suites offer tasteful colour palettes and the carefully chosen antique furniture, objects d'art, paintings and rich furnishings are our hallmark in design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Helvetia & Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia And Bristol Hotel
Helvetia Bristol Hotel
Helvetia Bristol Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing