We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To Large”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Uffizi Gallery

Uffizi Gallery
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.20*
and up
Skip the Line: Florence Uffizi Gallery Tickets
Ranked #5 of 440 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: One of the great museums of the world, the Uffizi houses the premier collection of Italian Renaissance art, featuring works by such masters as Botticelli, Titian, Michelangelo and da Vinci.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“To Large”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

A brilliant tour of the Uffizi Gallery - Tour guide was interesting, informative as well as having a good sense of humour. The only negative is you need more than a day to see the displays never mind understanding the history behind them

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23,219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15,857
    4,965
    1,703
    445
    249
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Give yourself time. A lot to see. The museum is huge and has a great collection. Get a reservation ahead of time as the lines were very long.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank rafael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Go for the Botticelli paintings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

First, you need to get pre-paid timed tickets or you will wait on online for a long time. Second, the building itself is relatively uninteresting in it's architecture. Third, enjoy the Botticelli paintings, they are the best part of the museum. The gallery is not as large as other wordly museums, so it won't tire you out. A must see in Florence.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SaraMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Marvelous Art - Not too Crowded”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Absolutely wonderful art, mostly religious themes. My favorites are the Botticellis (Birth of Venus and Allegory of Spring). There are two floors of artwork. We went in early July and the crowds were tolerable (note: if in Rome skip the Sistine Chapel unless it is winter, there are hoards of people going down narrow halls and stairwells, it's just awful!). We bought tickets online for an 11:30 entrance. You have to pick up the ticket first at window 3, which is across the small plaza from the entrance where they are selling tickets. The line was 20 minutes to get the ticket. There was no line at all for entrance once we had tickets. We are quick - walk through and stop just at art we found the most interesting, so it took us 90 minutes. Plan for a lot longer if you are more inclined to ponder the art. We found the signs next to each piece extremely helpful; title, artist, date, medium, description of the piece and it's significance. Just enough to provide a reasonable background without reading forever or blocking the view for others too long. It was amazing, we could stand up close to the most famous pieces with no one in front of us so I was really happy about that. This was midday, early July 2013. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GreekMom88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersville, Maryland
Level Contributor
213 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Huge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Maybe we don't filter well but we always take 2-3 times as long as recommended in museums. But we never regret it. Probably the most amazing art collection we have seen anywhere. Can't think of anything we would have left out, Michelangelo, Botticelli, Leonardo, et al. And not the least of all the long cool sit on the rooftop garden with its amazing view.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CherylInMainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uffizi Gallery also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Uffizi Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing