We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Venus”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Uffizi Gallery

Uffizi Gallery
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.20*
and up
Skip the Line: Florence Uffizi Gallery Tickets
Ranked #5 of 440 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: One of the great museums of the world, the Uffizi houses the premier collection of Italian Renaissance art, featuring works by such masters as Botticelli, Titian, Michelangelo and da Vinci.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
316 reviews
196 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Venus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Once again pre-book tickets or spend half a day in a que. Took about 90 minutes to go through.Quite an inpressive building from the outside.
Lots of old masters Devinci , Micheal Angelo etc.
The birth of venus is the must see , there is also a St.George and the dragon including the first appearence of a "to be rescued" Maiden.
Lots of Catholic Iconology , Virgin and Child and Medici portraits. Has a tapestry galley down stairs.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23,225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15,863
    4,965
    1,703
    445
    249
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paonia, Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

This gallery is one of the greatest art experiences imaginable. We spent half a day here and could have spent two days. If in Florence, don't miss it!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Russell_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hightstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Recommend going with a guide for better understanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We really enjoyed our visit to the Uffizi Gallery and I think our visit was much enhanced by the presence of our guide, Klass, from ArtViva. He made it all come alive for us, with his stories and commentary. I would not have gotten as much out of the visit if I had gone on my own. Keep in mind that the Uffizi is very crowded and you need a timed ticket with reservation made several days in advance.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CathyM_CorgiMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“So much art, not enough time,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

You can never have to much art! Allow as much time as you can .... Perhaps a guided tour, or the audio guide, or a guide book to really enhance the visit. Or simply go, look, immerse, soak, amaze.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrissieAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantua, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Galleria degli Uffizi takes you near to PARADISE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I like a lot to visit Galleria degli Uffizi, as watching to so beautiful paintings makes me to fly over the clouds, very near to Paradise! Dont visit Florence without staying at least 2 hours in this wonderful art Museum!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mikaello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uffizi Gallery also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Uffizi Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing