We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious dinner with attentive service”
Review of Il Desco Bistro

Il Desco Bistro
Reserve a table
2
Sat, 11/27
8:00 PM
Ranked #202 of 2,794 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $23 - $45
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Lorenzo
Description: We are located in the historic center of Florence, between Piazza del Duomo and San Marco and we offer a simple and tasty cuisine, made with the freshest ingredients of the highest quality. We owned a small farm in Reggello that provides us vegetables, fruit and extra virgin olive oil certified organic by ICEA. For this reason our menu is seasonal and changes every three months according to the production of the garden. The focus is on offer vegetarian dishes and great attention is paid to the Gluten Free offer, almost everything on the menu is suitable for people with celiac disease! Limited offer of meat, but always available in most traditional recipes:)
Reviewed August 17, 2016

We had a wonderful evening at Il Desco Bistro! The farm to table food was delicious. Everything was fresh and well prepared. We were a party of five and enjoyed the tasting menu ~ three in our group had the meat dishes and two the vegetarian selections. The service was attentive without being overbearing. We learned about the dishes we were served and also about the wines paired with each course. One member of our group prefers beer to wine. They kindly paired a variety of fantastic craft Italian beers with his food. We highly recommend this restaurant!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank lcmontemuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 219 of 1,281 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2016 via mobile

This is a great little restaurant focused on fresh local ingredients. The service was excellent and friendly. There are two degustation menus for vegetarian and meat dishes, at €40 for 3 courses plus dessert, matched with 3 wines and coffee. We really enjoyed the food and had a lovely evening.

Date of visit: August 2016
2  Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2016 via mobile

We had a very deöicious dinner in this restaurant. They have very fresh and local food, the mozerella with pomodori was perfect.

The rabbit filled with pearch and pecorino was a brilliant combination. The vegetable were just fine grilled. You should not miss the selection of local and bio wines.

Thank you for this nice evening.

Date of visit: August 2016
2  Thank barthap
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2016 via mobile

We were looking for a restaurant near the hotel to have a quick lunch, we found this small typical trattoria on trip advisor, and it was great! We had prosciutto with zucchini flan, lasagnette, crepes with eggplants and veal carpaccio! Delicious!! And prices was very reasonable and wine glasses really generous! And the service very friendly!! A must try!

Date of visit: August 2016
2  Thank sourayat2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2016 via mobile

I always judge where I am about to eat by everyone's comments on trip advisor as I am a big foodie and it's something that makes my night. Having very nice food and wine.

So we decided to try this place based on reviews. We arrived at 7.30 the place just had no buzz or life about it. We weren't welcomed at all. The menu was super small. No pasta at night? It's italy and no pasta or pizza? Was just all this prepped food that one chef was finishing off by heating up? Everything was pre made and prepped up.
We ordered this pesto lasagne thing as it was the only pasta thing they had that was like I said previously made and put into oven or microwave to heat up. It was okay. I did come home with such a sore stomach though.

I love finding gems in italy but this was not 1 of them. Still looking for that 1 place that does good food and wine with good service at a reasonable price.
We found 1 in rome, naples and venice. Just searching for florence now.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank paulrF6718BS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bistrotildesco, Proprietario at Il Desco Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2016

Dear Paul R,

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy the experience in our place.
The guys of the Staff remember you and your lady, they asked if everything was fine while you're were eating and you did not complain at all. Maybe, if you were looking for pasta or pizza place they could have helped you immediately in finding a nice spot in Florence. We propose a very nice pasta selection during lunch time (Noon-3pm) then we start working just in the first room at the Bistrot entrance, where there is the counter and from there we prepare on demand a few dishes and for the other proposals we warm them up or in the conventional oven or in the new steam oven (no microwave). Dear Paul I'd like you to know that than even in other places when you ask for a lasagna portion or a roasted veal they do not cook express but just cut and warm up, the only difference is that you don't see the kitchen inside instead in our place you see the chèf heating and preparing dishes. At least we do prepare fresh all dishes of the menu EVERY morning.
As you're big foodie I give you a nice tip:authentic good pizza you can find just in Napoli and Costiera Amalfitana and in general in the Campania region, not in the rest of Italy except if you find good napoli pizzerias (in Florence there are a couple of very nice ones;)

Kind regards,
Giulia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Desco Bistro also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Il Desco Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.