We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“da sola”
Review of Il Desco Bistro

Il Desco Bistro
Reserve a table
2
Sat, 11/27
8:00 PM
Ranked #202 of 2,794 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $23 - $45
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Lorenzo
Description: We are located in the historic center of Florence, between Piazza del Duomo and San Marco and we offer a simple and tasty cuisine, made with the freshest ingredients of the highest quality. We owned a small farm in Reggello that provides us vegetables, fruit and extra virgin olive oil certified organic by ICEA. For this reason our menu is seasonal and changes every three months according to the production of the garden. The focus is on offer vegetarian dishes and great attention is paid to the Gluten Free offer, almost everything on the menu is suitable for people with celiac disease! Limited offer of meat, but always available in most traditional recipes:)
Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile

ordered the evening special. was brought to me in less than 5 minutes. not exactly made to order.
reviewed the lists of potentially allergic foods. they mistranslated arachidi as pine nuts which in fact are peanuts. for the non italian speaking could be deadly.
not an italian native speaker in the restaurant

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank girlinpuglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 248 of 1,281 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2016

We were wanting a special night out as we are going home in a few days. Il Desco was recommended to us and we were not disappointed. As we sat down a couple on the table next to us smiled happily and said that their meal had been wonderful. We decided on the degustation menu as it would allow us to experience much of the very tempting food on offer. We asked that the wine provided as part of this menu, be chosen for us by our hosts, to suit the dishes. Not only was the meal memorable, but the local wines fitted to perfection. Attentive service and helpful, friendly advice was also appreciated. Much has been written by others about the healthy organic approach used by this restaurant, but it was the quality and taste of the dishes that immediately got my attention. A very memorable dinner to cap off our wonderful month in Tuscany. Thank you Il Desco!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2016

Our favorite dinner in Florence. Everything really fresh. It's an open kitchen so you can watch the chef preparing the dishes. You can see the care he takes in the preparation and presentation of each dish. The owner waited on us and was friendly and helpful. The restaurant is small so unless you arrive early like we did, you will be wise to make a reservation.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2016 via mobile

Il Desco is a small but lovely restaurant, using very fresh and organic ingredients. The waiters were very friendly and helpful regarding food allergies. I ordered a pesto and courgette lasagne followed by seasonal vegetables and cheese. My husband ordered white ragu lasagne followed by duck. All the dishes were very tasty. Our bill was €69 which also included three glasses of wine and a bottle of water. I would highly recommend Il Desco.

Date of visit: June 2016
2  Thank MJR507
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2016 via mobile

Wonderful little restaurant with wonderful, attentive waitstaff and fresh, delicious, organic, local food. Menu is relatively small, but everything we tried we LOVED.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Kaylamc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Desco Bistro also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Il Desco Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.