We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent vegetarian lasagna”
Review of Il Desco Bistro

Il Desco Bistro
Reserve with
Il Desco Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 2,722 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $28
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Duomo
Description: We are located in the historic center of Florence, between Piazza del Duomo and San Marco and we offer a simple and tasty cuisine, made with the freshest ingredients of the highest quality. We owned a small farm in Reggello that provides us vegetables, fruit and extra virgin olive oil certified organic by ICEA. For this reason our menu is seasonal and changes every three months according to the production of the garden. The focus is on offer vegetarian dishes and great attention is paid to the Gluten Free offer, almost everything on the menu is suitable for people with celiac disease! Limited offer of meat, but always available in most traditional recipes:)
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent vegetarian lasagna”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Nice place, friendly staff. And the lasagna was the best. Worth a visit. It seems like tripadvisor has the wrong adress. It the right street, but closer to the Duomo.

Helpful?
Thank Connie Villemo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bistrotildesco, Food&beverage mngr at Il Desco Bistro, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Good morning Connie,

thank you for the nice words about us, we really appreciated!!

About our position on the map: we know the map is wrong and tripadvisor is already working on it. Anyway our correct position is on via Cavour 29, we are between piazza Duomo and piazza San Marco...come and join us!!
Shams
Bistrot Il Desco
Via Cavour 29 Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    678
    208
    40
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Incredible lasagna, fantastic service”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Happened upon this place after we left the Accademia Gallery today. The owners/wait staff were incredibly friendly and accommodating to our inability to speak Italian. The food was easily in the top 3 of all the places we’ve eaten at during our 3 weeks in Europe (and we’ve had some insanely good meals). The zucchini lasagne I had was the single best dish I've had during this whole trip. If it's on the menu, don't pass it up.

All the pasta is made fresh by the restaurant. All the vegetables are grown organically on the family’s farm. The olive oil is also made by the family which owns the restaurant.

Our meal was finished with homemade limoncello that was absolutely divine with a nice kick.

I couldn't recommend this place any more.

Helpful?
2 Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious local food with seasonal ingredients”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We have been using the tripadvisor offline city guides to choose our restaurants and found this was near academia. We thought it would be perfect for lunch. After looking and looking we couldn't find it. we sat down at another place with a trip advisor sticker but it was empty. We decided it would be better to eat elsewhere. We got up and started walking again and walked right up to il desco! We found the restaurant we had spent 40 minutes looking for. We sat on the patio and it was well worth the wait and search. This restaurant makes daily specials based on what they get from their local organic farm in the morning. We missed lunchtime but had a nice light meal of chicken on salad (made with seasonal veggies) and Caprese salad. On a whim we also ordered eggplant meillefeuille. Which was to die for!! It was eggplant slices layered with tomatoes, basil garlic and olive oil then baked. It was a truly amazing dish and a delight for your taste buds. I highly recommend it and also the artisanal beer they serve is excellent and also made locally. I'm glad we finally found this place. Great service with a smile too.

Helpful?
2 Thank Lovetotravel1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tiny, charming, and yummy!”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were staying at the Il Guelfo. This place is right next door. Perfect for having a glass of wine and a small plate to collect your bearings. Really good service and the food was really good. You could easily pass by and not notice this little bistro, but it was so lovely!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JennGraves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
“Excellent food, simple & true Italian hospitality”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

During our stay in Florence my family and me had few meals in this outstanding little lovely restaurant and one better than the other! The unique characteristic of this place is the fact that every single dish is made of seasonal ingredients and furthermore coming from their own family run farm. We tried quite few courses: the zucchini lasagne, the beef tagliata, the pappardelle with rabbit sauce and few more. All has been outstanding and the service as well is unique. Whatever you like is not an issue and the smile of the waiters comes for free. Excellent selection of cold cuts, cheeses and matching wines! One of the few places in the center of Florence where you will throughly feel pampered! Will come back soon!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Desco Bistro also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Il Desco Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing