We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh, creative, unique gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Desco Bistro

Il Desco Bistro
Reserve with
Il Desco Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 2,679 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $27
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Duomo
Description: We are located in the historic center of Florence, between Piazza del Duomo and San Marco and we offer a simple and tasty cuisine, made with the freshest ingredients of the highest quality. We owned a small farm in Reggello that provides us vegetables, fruit and extra virgin olive oil certified organic by ICEA. For this reason our menu is seasonal and changes every three months according to the production of the garden. The focus is on offer vegetarian dishes and great attention is paid to the Gluten Free offer, almost everything on the menu is suitable for people with celiac disease! Limited offer of meat, but always available in most traditional recipes:)
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Fresh, creative, unique gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Fresh, creative, unique to anything we've experienced in Italy so far. The host was amazing - hospitable, patient, helpful, warm and knowledgeable! Would 100% recommend this restaurant to anyone traveling to Florence!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KimRocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    650
    202
    40
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiedrich, Germany
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Find in Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

We were advised not to dine in the tourist area of Florence. We found lovely restaurants across the Ponte Vecchio. We spent more time in a museum than planned and found ourselves not wanting to walk the 30 minutes to our planned lunch destination. So we decided to take a chance and walked into the first restaurant we found. What luck we had. We were warmly greeted by the women running the place (can't remember her name). We asked for a light wine for lunch and they brought us a delicious red tuscan wine. We could have made meal out of the bread and their own Bio olive oil. So good we bought a couple of bottles to go. Our meals were fantastic, my wife had the chicken livers, we've never tasted better. the service was great and the owners took the time to explain everything about preparation and sourcing of the ingredients. Next time in Florence, il desco will be our first stop.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnoplumbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh, delicious and great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stumbled upon this cozy little bistro tonight and were in for a pleasant surprise. The menu was small but well-balanced with lots of fresh choices using mostly organic and regional ingredients. We had liver pâté with bruschette, panzanelle (fresh and zesty!) and tender slices of roast beef on mashed chick peas with an organic side salad that could have used a little more variety. Service was fantastic and prepared to cater to gluten-free and vegetarian customers. They also sell some of the produce from their Tuscany family farm in the shop. I got a bottle of olive oil to take home. Alas, it's our last night in Florence so we'll have to come back some other time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jpotzkothen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic gem...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

This restaurant was a random find whilst walking along the streets of florence. What a gem, the food is good rustic fairs with a dash of class and finesses. So good that in our 3 nights in florence, after our first night here, we booked to spend our last night here. The Mile foglie di melezane is amazing for starter. The mains and the wine will not disappoint, the service is great. We cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mariocirillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for somthing light”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were wanted something lighter as we were eating so much rich food over the past few days. This is the perfect place for that! Really light and refreshing food. Definately recommend rhis place if your looking for somthing healthier.

Helpful?
1 Thank MarcCezzane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Desco Bistro also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Il Desco Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing