We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Organic Food Reasonably Priced”
Review of Il Desco Bistro

Il Desco Bistro
Reserve with
Il Desco Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 2,722 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $28
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Duomo
Description: We are located in the historic center of Florence, between Piazza del Duomo and San Marco and we offer a simple and tasty cuisine, made with the freshest ingredients of the highest quality. We owned a small farm in Reggello that provides us vegetables, fruit and extra virgin olive oil certified organic by ICEA. For this reason our menu is seasonal and changes every three months according to the production of the garden. The focus is on offer vegetarian dishes and great attention is paid to the Gluten Free offer, almost everything on the menu is suitable for people with celiac disease! Limited offer of meat, but always available in most traditional recipes:)
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fresh Organic Food Reasonably Priced”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed next door at Hotel Il Guelfo Bianco and were introduced to Il Desco on our first night in Firenze. Although it is small with a limited menu, it turned out to be some of the freshest and best food we had in Firenze. We really loved the roasted pumpkin with thyme and the white bean bruschetta and were impressed with their cheeses. We are vegetarian, so didn't try their meats, though they looked tempting! We were impressed with the fact that they grow much of their own food and make their own olive oil and even brew their own soft drinks. We went to other restaurants that were recommended in Firenze, but wish we had just returned to Il Desco instead, as theirs turned out to be the best food we had in Firenze.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SarvaMangalam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    678
    208
    40
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Piedmont
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food in a very good location”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Very good location, small but interesting menu. Daily specials also well worth a try.
Friendly and helpful service. Not too expensive considering where you are. If you come out fo the Academy around lunchtime this is the place to go to recover and get ready for the afternoon tours.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PiedmontPirata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Worth the trip back to Florence!”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I lucked in to finding this oasis of slow food, locally sourced, and unbelievably good, two years ago, and memorized its location so I could return. The menu now, in this very different season, is very different, as it should be, but just as wonderful. And the people there could not be more kind or charming. You MUST eat here, if you are an unashamed foodie like me!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestreshire, England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Convenient lunch spot”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Situated on the main Via Cavour, this little place was surprisingly difficult to find due to the crazy numbering of the premises in Florence. Commercial premises numbers end with an r. Even with this knowledge on board we still walked past it!
However it is well worth finding.
It is very spick and span with modern wash-room facilities and a reasonably comprehensive lunchtime menu. Staff were friendly and the service attentive
We chose the "day's special " which was spelt pasta. It was delicious but could have been hotter.
Good value for money and conveniently located midway between the Duomo and Piazza San Marco

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DickandDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
188 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“We LOVED this locavore place !”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stumbled on this place as we walked down the street from our hotel (which was a few steps away) and were attracted by the modernity and cleanness of the place. When we looked at the menu we found that it was dedicated to locally sourced food --- in fact they even had their own farm. It is very small and the very small staff can easily get overwhelmed, so don't be surprised if you have to wait. They seem to have real pride in their work and in the presentation of the food. The menu is quite limited and it's best to have them supply a mixed plate of their offerings as they are all good. Vegetarians and vegans are well-served here too.

You will certainly find some interesting dishes here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isambard40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Desco Bistro also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Il Desco Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing