We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, but would consider staying again for its' location.”
Review of Hotel Astor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Astor
Ranked #373 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed August 23, 2011

On arrival they greeted us very cordially. They had a lift, which was great. On reaching our room it was very "pokey" to say the least, but we had already booked and paid for it over the internet ,so had no other choice but to grin and bear it. No glasses to drink from, TV not working, Bar fridge not working, en-suite no larger than a loo on a plane. We were booked for 3 nights, but no service was ever carried out on the TV or Fridge, which meant we could not keep any food or drink cool, and I love my bubbles in the evening. On saying this, for the price it was pretty good, beds comfortable, and always lots of hot water.
Just a few steps to the marketplace, and 15 minutes to Il Duomo. Would probably stay again, but would insist on at least a working fridge!! Barbara from Melbourne, Aust.

Room Tip: Insist on all electrical items in working condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecchi44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 399 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2011

We chose the Hotel Astor based on average reviews and the fact that it was located outside the historic area of Florence, which was very expensive and parking almost non existent. The only plus was a friendly manager, Leonardo, who spoke english and was helpful, and free parking.
The hotel itself was a disaster. There were holes in the walls, the shower had a paper curtain which turned the bathroom into a lake. The TV did not work, and the hotel for the most part was very run down. Breakfast was horrible; a few hard rolls, for the early risers, nothing for those that slept in. The coffee was mud. When people complained the staff just shrugged their shoulders, and decided they could not speak english. I felt bad for some older tourists, who had nothing to eat.
I did forget one other plus. The hotel is located on the bus line, so travel to the historic area of Florence was easy, and one evening we walked there from the hotel.
All in all, this was hands down the worst hotel by far, off those we stayed at during a 2 month tour of Europe.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HunkyJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed for a couple of nights in a triple room in Hotel Astor. Some members of the staff spoke fluent English and were friendly while some didn't. The room was spacious and well-air conditioned. But the internet connection (atleast in our room) was pathetic. The connectivity was better in the reception and lobby but that's not what makes you happy! The shower curtain was not long enough and so, the bathroom was a mess after every shower. Otherwise, the hotel is real value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madhankrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
Thank Valentina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
Thank samantha p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank GIO G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Alessandro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Airone
#333 of 411 in Florence
13 reviews
B&B Hotel Firenze Novoli
#198 of 411 in Florence
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Franchi
#253 of 411 in Florence
348 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#139 of 411 in Florence
674 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#182 of 411 in Florence
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astor

Address: Via Maragliano 101, 50144, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #373 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $45 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astor 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Astor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing