We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and delicious”

Il Cantuccio di San Lorenzo
Ranked #1 of 73 Bakeries in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Lorenzo
Description: Based on the tradition of the Marini's family, the CANTUCCI MORBIDI produced by Il Cantuccio San Lorenzo is a typical Tuscan product sought after and appreciated worldwide. Ancient recipes, handed down to the young niece Francesca, that still maintain passion and craftsmanship care, to get traditional flavors of typical Florentine pastries.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Charming and delicious”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

When I asked my hotel's front desk for pasticceria (bakery) recommendations, she mentioned I should try cantucci. I stumbled upon this place while trying to find the Mercato Centrale and went in. The sample on the counter was delicious and the staff was very friendly and kind about my poor command of the local language. And I could see the freshly cooled loaves waiting to be cut up - they're baked right there. I think there were 4 - 5 varieties. And with that, I bought a bag. Then I went back and bought another bag to bring back for friends. Price is great too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    552
    138
    22
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The cantucci here is truly exquisite. Crunchy, soft, and chewy--all in one. You can smell the bakery from down the street and you can even watch them making goodies from the window. They would make a delightful gift as they keep for a while.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank armedina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Pistacchio”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It was a pain to find thanks to stupid Italian naming conventions. But it was quite excellent. Especially the pistachio biscuit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Cantuccini made with love & tradition”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Very fresh and delicious cantucci sold and made by a very friendly "pasticciere fiorentino". You can try the different versions of them there, together with the typical wine. When you taste them you really realise that the owner makes them in the traditional way.. and with love!! this is the perfect gift to take home - or just to eat on the way back -.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ChiaraCy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Hidden away in a sidestreet, this shop can easily be bypassed. We came on the advice of other tripadvisors and was not disappointed by the cantuccio. You can sample the cantuccio before buying. We bought six 200g bags as souvenirs. We would buy more if only we could fit it all in our luggage!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Judesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Cantuccio di San Lorenzo also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Il Cantuccio di San Lorenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing