We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel, friendly staff and great location”
Review of B&B Maison

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Maison
Ranked #240 of 318 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

It is impossible to get a better placed hostel then this! Only a 3 minute walk from Duomo the impressive Church at the centre of Florence the staff are also very friendly and allowed us to leave all 7 pieces of our luggage after we checked out for only €5.

The rooms are average what would be expected of a hostel and the price is pretty good at around €18 a night. I read the bed bug reviews and have to say that personally none of us had any problem with this. I would recommend the hostel as it had a nice friendly feel

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rpzrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 43 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2011

I love these people, their dog and Lorenzo's meals! - its really for young people but I have stayed twice!

Very central - just up from info centre, market and Duomo.

Ask Lorenzo about the best gelato shop and authentic local places to eat.

Grandma from NZ

Room Tip: Girls dorm room quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoanNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We found this hostel very good for what we needed it for. Great location, so only a few minutes walk to the main sites. Not too far from the station either. Well kitted out kitchen but not much seating space. Good bathrooms but we didnt feel there were enough bathrooms for all the people in the hostel and for one of the bathrooms, you have to walk through two bedrooms to get there.....but strange but people didnt seem to mind.
The door to the room didnt lock and the beds werent great but the room was massive, which was good considering we had lots of things. We all got bitten by midges at night but I guess that isnt the fault of the hostel.
On arrival, the guy was a little dissorganised but very helpful when pointing out places and things to see!!!
Small common room with a TV and the downside was the stairs to climb, but if your fit, it isnt a problem. Also, there was only one key to a group, so if you split, you had to be buzzed in. No problem really. Would defo stay there again!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xavierwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

This place was pretty good it had two rooms one was 10 bed dorm the other I think around 5 bed there were two apartment style bathrooms which were clean and spacious. The kitchen had a stove top and one of those little oven toaster things. Enough to cook a basic meal, basic items were supplied ie. Oil, salt, pepper, spreads etc. The guys who ran the place were friendly and there was free wifi! And has a perfect location in the city

HOWEVER!!!!!!!!!!
Be warned this place has bed bugs so when booking take into consideration weather all of the above is worth the cost of exterminating bed bugs from all your belongings not to mention dealing with the sores.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonymous7788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

B&B Maison was my favorite hostel during my whole 3 week trip through Europe. Great location. Really close to the Duomo. Really close to the leather markets. The rooms were nice. The whole place was very homey. Free breakfast and dinner! Lorenzo is a really good cook! I would defiantly stay there again. Because we all had meals together we all bonded and it was hard to leave. Alot of the people staying there actually extended their stay. It's a great place to stay if your traveling alone and want to meet people. I found it much easier to meet people here than at any other hostel I stayed in.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilcarzybizzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and left with bed bugs, we confronted the owner about it, and all we got was "sorry about that" nothing else, and it has now cost us almost 50 euros on insect repelan and antiseptic onitment and immediate washing of all our clothing. This place may be cheap and close to the central, but enter at your own risk because cleanliess is obviously not a hgh prority.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p0is0n_ivy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gnoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#60 of 410 in Florence
884 reviews
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#86 of 410 in Florence
416 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Gioia
Hotel Gioia
#153 of 410 in Florence
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#46 of 410 in Florence
2,793 reviews
San Marco
Residence Cavour
Residence Cavour
#185 of 318 in Florence
54 reviews
Hilton Florence Metropole
#154 of 410 in Florence
2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Maison

Address: Via Cavour 15, 50139, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 318 Specialty Lodging in Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing