We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hloiday”
Review of Borgo Bottaia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Borgo Bottaia
Ranked #72 of 310 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Hounslow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Hloiday”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

A very nice hotel located in a village just 30 min drive from Bologna.Owner was extremely helpful and welcoming. We got information and maps and advises what to see around. Excellent traditional italian restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicS7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
8
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We had a terrific time here. Lovely setting and handy (if you have a car). Rooms are well equipped and the pool is good. It's small scale br we liked that. All self catering but they give a lovely starter pack.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

My 50th birthday was February 1st this year....but too early to celebrate. We waited until April to travel, and the second lag of our trip had us taking the train from Rome to Florence, and then renting a car to travel around the Tuscan area of Italy. I chose Borga Bottaia because it was just outside of Florence (10 km), and we made it as our base for 5 days.
It was part of the Air Transat travel book, but I was hooked by the # of the address (Via Del Fonti 62), and then we chose apt #4 (which is perfect for a couple).. The villa is located in Grassina just outside of Florence. It took us a couple of days to figure out the GPS, and navigating to avoid the back roads, but I would highly suggest staying at Borga Bottaia. First off the manager Luigi is wonderful....you will feel totally at home. I had researched so much about the villa, but I was a little concerned about paying for the heating. I spoke with the onsite manager (Luigi) about this, and showed him that I would keep the thermostat at 15 Celsius which was pretty cool in April (so pack some warm clothing). After 5 nights we paid 30 euros for electricity and heating, and we wore our warm clothing! If you want to experience the "real" Tuscany then I would suggest staying at Borgo Bottaia. There is a pool in the summer months, and we were fortunate enough to see a book about the restoring of the villla...I wanted to buy a copy but there wasn't one for sale.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotchilies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

We stayed in "La Vecchia Cantina".
Pros
Freedom of heating. Spacius. 2 baths/WC. Hot water. Excellent view from the patio.
Claudia and Luigi very helpful. Universal power plugs. Many birds. EXCELLENT setting.
Wifi in reception.

Cons
Many many nets in the ceiling and some spiders. Nets in the ceiling were cleared by me the night of our arrival, beacause the kids were affraid.
The farm's lavaradory room is in the next room, but only the first night was working the washing machine. Heating consumption 77Euros for 4 nights.
Bedroom windows on the main alley, but not growded. No cable to connect the small TV to the antena. No daily cleaning room.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
Conference Florentia Hotel
#359 of 412 in Florence
524 reviews
Villa Olmi Firenze
#1 of 4 in Bagno a Ripoli
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Relais Piazza Signoria
Relais Piazza Signoria
#6 of 310 in Florence
563 reviews
Borgo de' Ricci
#15 of 23 in Impruneta
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Bottaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Bottaia

Property: Borgo Bottaia
Address: Via delle Fonti 62 q, 50012, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 310 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Borgo Bottaia 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Borgo Bottaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing