We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, very spacious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tourist House Duomo
Ranked #563 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, very spacious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed at Tourist House Duomo for 2 nights last month and overall we were very pleased with our experience. The location couldn't have been better - a short walk from the train station and an even shorter walk to the Duomo and tons of restaurants, shopping, and nightlife. Out of all of the places we stayed during our 2 week Italy vacation, this was definitely the largest. And Santiago at the front desk was extremely friendly and helpful and spoke great English, so that was nice.

We ran into issues with the WiFi - we weren't able to access it in our room and had to walk down the hall towards the front desk to get a signal. But we were able to make it work, so not a big deal. And the bed was rather uncomfortable, however we found this to be the case at every hotel/B&B that we stayed at while traveling through Italy so again not a big deal.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    31
    19
    6
    24
See reviews for
22
43
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis
Level Contributor
162 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

With Tourist House Duomo, you will get what you pay for. We stayed in the economy room with the washroom down the hall. The staff member was very nice and helpful. Our room was a bit dingy and had an odd odor. There was a nice outdoor private patio. If you are on a budget, this is a fine place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirtle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

I stayed at tourist house duomo in a triple room with my two cousins.
The room (and bathrrom) were very spacious.
The room had good airconditioning as well.
There was free internet (which didnt always work) but there is a computer by the front desk that we were able to use freely.

Just down the street from the train station (10 minute with luggage).

Also, Michele, the host was super friendly and helpful. We got in the first evening very late and Michele waited up for us to help check us in. In addition, Michelle gave us names of excellent gelaterias (Riva Reno) and restaurants.

Would definitly stay there again!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmirchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

The guys who own this place go above and beyond to make their customers happy. The rooms are great and are in a great location close to the Duomo. They let us keep our luggage in the hotel a few hours after check out and before our train left. They speak great English. They really go out of the way to ensure security and there are three doors you have to go through with a key to get there. kind of in a hidden spot but its a gem for sure. Amenities were great, room faced the street which was entertaining. In a nicer part of town. Overall I loved my stay there and it was worth every euro (which was a lot) spent. Love it! Definitely recommend and would go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephaniekroll21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

If I had known just how small Florence is, I would have stayed at a place maybe a little further away but better quality. The place is clean enough, we had some ants, no biggie.
We booked the economy room and were told the bathroom was in the hall but not how far away it was so here is the scoop: the economy room's door is right in front of the small reception so you have to go by the reception turn right and walk about 15 feet to find your bathroom. The place is half a block from the duomo but you really do not need to be so close. Everything in Florence (at least on the duomo's side of the river) is just a few minutes away.

Room Tip: Ask very detailed questions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jiglesiasvidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

I travel a lot and had one of my worst experiences here. I reserved a room over a month ahead of time, gave the hotel my credit card number and received a confirmation voucher from the hotel. When we arrived at 1:30pm, the hotel was locked and closed. There was a cell phone number on the door, so we called and someone arrived in about 10 minutes. The hotel staff explained that they had made a mistake and had recorded our reservation to start the following day. He said there were no openings in other hotels due to a convention and he would pay to the difference to put us in a nicer hotel outside the city and gave us 20 euro for the cab ride. When we arrived at the new place it was a hostel, way out of town. With dorm style rooms and no bedding!

We called back the Tourist House Duomo to complain and he said there were no other options. We asked him why he lied and told us we were going to a better hotel out of town and not told us it was a hostel and he just said "No other options" and hung up. So I was forced to have my 75 year old mother sleep in a dorm hostel and walk 5km to the historic center. I was so furious!!! That's the whole reason we booked ahead and confirmed it with my credit card!

I understand mistakes happen, but this is inexcusable! And to make it worse, the employee we were working with gave us a horrible attitude and even though he admitted it was the hotel's mistake, never said sorry and acted like we were a big inconvenience to his afternoon.

I DO NOT recommend this hotel, and would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ab1847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Auburn, Maine
Level Contributor
252 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Tourist House Duomo in May 2009. Overall we were pleased with our room and especially with the hotel's location.

The hotel is a very short walk from the main train station, and as Florence is an easy city to explore on foot, the central location comes in very handy. The Duomo is practically right outside the front door, and other sights like the Uffizi or Rialto bridge are just a few minutes down the street. As the location is in one of the busiest parts of the city there are ample dining and shopping options all around.

The hotel room itself was extremely spacious, if a bit spartan. The rooms were kept very clean and Mario and the rest of the staff always seemed very friendly. Being right off of one of Florence's main squares, there tended to be a fair amount of noise late at night, but otherwise our stay was pleasant.

When we stayed here the credit card machine was "broken" (I put that in quotes as they have a framed sign over the desk about the credit card machine, making me suspicious about the situation), so be prepared to head to the ATM across the street and pay your bill in cash.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaineScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Sani Tourist House
Sani Tourist House
#373 of 659 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
San Lorenzo
Duomo View B&B
Duomo View B&B
#435 of 659 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
San Lorenzo
Tourist House Vittorio Ricci
Tourist House Vittorio Ricci
#95 of 659 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
San Frediano Mansion
San Frediano Mansion
#315 of 659 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
San Lorenzo
Aramis Rooms
Aramis Rooms
#220 of 659 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Locanda de' Pazzi
Hotel Locanda de' Pazzi
#285 of 659 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourist House Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourist House Duomo

Property: Tourist House Duomo
Address: Via de Cerretani 1, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #563 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tourist House Duomo 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tourist House Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing