We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just go and watch the pizza guy flip and sing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa del Vin Santo

Casa del Vin Santo
Reserve with
Casa del Vin Santo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,252 of 2,660 Restaurants in Florence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Duomo
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just go and watch the pizza guy flip and sing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Funny guy flipping the pizzas and food good, no Michelin stars here but food good all the same and worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    161
    108
    73
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Seemed great but was really awful afterall.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Only thing that was good in here that food came fast. Maybe my risotto was ready before we arrived, took 5minutes to cook.. That service was so bad that it really amazes. Food was a bit better than service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Miikka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
2 reviews
“A little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

This type of restaurant was on my to do list whilst touring Italy, a little back street homely pizzeria. The Casa del Vin Santo was right up my street.

We went on our 2nd of 4 nights in Florence, and we enjoyed it so much we ended up going the following night and the night after!

Very relaxed atmosphere and dining experience, extremely friendly staff, good food and wine and a great location just off one of the main shopping streets and piazzas.

We had a variety of starters and mains over the few days we went, the particular highlight was the T-Bone steak which was a lovely huge piece of meat each time and cooked to perfection. The tiramisu and panna cotta were also very nice.

The guy on the front was extremely friendly and even invited us in for a complimentary drink with him when he realised it was our final evening in Florence, a nice touch.

Would recommend eating outside on the street.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JH_No8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“A nice place for a family at a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Let me stress, if you are after the finest cuisine in Florence this is not the place, but the food is good, the premises excellent, prices very reasonable and the staff all very friendly and efficient. The menu has a really good cross section of dishes (unlike many, which tend to specialise), so every member of the family will find something of interest and the prices are reasonable given its position, just off the tourist traps where you can spend double.
We had the Tagliatelle Ragu, Carbonara, Spaghetti with Tomato and Basil and finally the Lasagne. All were described as very good, with the exception of the lasagne which I would mark lower. The Coco-Cola was via a mixer tap and flat (as it often is anywhere), but this was replaced with a canned version with no fuss.
I'd describe it as a good, reliable family restaurant, where you would struggle to go wrong and the friendliness of the staff high.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DINERMIGHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Little Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Off the main square in a little street Via Porta Rossa we had a lovely lunch at a fraction of the prices to the tourist trap places on the main square Piazza Della Signoria.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith-from-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa del Vin Santo also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Casa del Vin Santo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing