We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The old "switcharoo"”
Review of Coronas Cafe

Coronas Cafe
Ranked #103 of 215 Dessert in Florence
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Takeout
Neighborhood: Duomo
Description: Coronas cafe allows you to share a glance into the real Florentine everyday life, letting you taste the proper italian quality of homemade products
Seattle
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The old "switcharoo"”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Asked for one scoop and the lady said "only one?" I replied yes and she slapped on another and then charged us for two scoops. High pressure upsell. Sucks.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank olduwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    80
    33
    18
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Extremely generous portions of ice cream, at tourist prices. The ice cream was not all that good, in fact it's put us off ice cream.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank tiginbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Service not typical of what we've normally seen in Italy”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I guess it serves us right for stopping on one of the main streets in Florence (one way to Accademia, other way to Ponte Vecchio). We were pressed for time and the kids wanted a gelato. The gelato was very good and so was the coffee. Prices for gelato were typical of busy tourist areas (about 2.50 Eur for a small cup) however this Cafe cuts down on the quantity (I've never had so little gelato). Service from the lady at the gelato stand to the guy at the cash register was poor. We thought perhaps ...busy tourist area, they've had enough so some of us even approached her in Italian....no difference...just as cranky and lack of patience. We wouldn't come back. There are many small Cafes and restaurants off the main strips that roll out the usual Italian hospitality and help make your trip to Italy a positive memorable one.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canadians_who_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Fresh Sandwiches To Go”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stopped here on the way to the Accademia to grab a sandwich to go. There were many fresh options, both hot and cold. The sandwich we had was very tasty.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lexington44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Underrated...real nice place.”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stopped here for gelato and a cocktail. The gelato was as good as any I've had... We also thought a Mojito sounded excellent since it was quite hot. I used to bartend in the states and the drink couldn't have been more perfect and refreshing. We were very impressed that they put such effort into muddling the ingredients and crushing the ice. Well done.

They deserve a much higher rating...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coronas Cafe also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Coronas Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing