We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly excellent authentic Italian food”
Review of La Bottega del Buon Caffe - MOVED

La Bottega del Buon Caffe
Price range: $41 - $111
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: At La Bottega del Buon Caffe we have been producing seasonal authentic Florentine dishes for years. Yet, the summer of 2014 marks the start of a new era as the Buon Caffe team launch a selection of exciting new organic and gourmet concepts. In collaboration with the restaurant's new owners, Claus and Jeanette Thottrup, Buon Caffe's head chef, Antonello Sardi, has successfully developed fresh and innovative gourmet menus which are now available both at lunch and dinner. With the emphasis on natural locally sourced ingredients, Buon Caffe offers authentic Tuscan food that creatively combines the best of classic and contemporary cuisine. Authenticity and honesty is at the heart of all we create at Buon Caffe and our menus are created individually according to the season. Today's catch of fresh fish is delivered from the Mediterranean daily, free-range meats are supplied by local artisan farmers and our vegetables, fruit, herbs and honey are bought from our farm in the country. Respecting our Florentine location our menus are designed to reflect the region's unique gastronomic heritage and vibrant culinary culture.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Truly excellent authentic Italian food”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is an authentic Italian restaurant just outside the historic centre of Florence, and hence no tourists - it's where the locals eat!

The Luchtime menu is excellent value, and the food is sensational! It's 10 mins on the bus from the train station and well worth the effort.

I had taglierini con pancetta for €9, and I can happily say it's the best food I've had in Florence!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dafadau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    30
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My no.1 in Florence and quite some neighbouring regions”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The only reason I'm writing this is because I expect to come back at some point again. This was an absolutely fine dining joint (food wise) which was located outside of the city centre and during the occasion, I had the degustation menu. It's truly a gem of a find once you managed to figure out coming to this restaurant and there are so many things that are truly amazing from start to end like the Foie Gras Crème Brûlée; and the ravioli served in a few ways..which leaves both of us so happy at the end.

The only mediocre dish was the starter which i think was the tuna tartare; and it wasn't bad to be honest.

If you are in Florence, do yourself a favour and have dinner here. And either way; I will be back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NickNick888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Maybe the best dinner in Tuscany this year”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

A late visit at this little restaurant is one of the best meal i have had in tuscany. The small diningroom is cozy and very personal styled. A good home atmosphere and nice relaxed staff. A five course dinner with winemenu was our order. Delicate dishes. A good gastronomic idea behind each dish. What makes this dinner great was the smiplicity with intense taste. Small but very well constructed plates with lots and lots of taste and structure. For us it´s not normal in Tuscany, where we eat a lot of good food with excelent ingredients - but traditional and country style. The Buon Cafe has deconstructed that tradition both for the food and the excelent winemenu. The dinner was still authentic and the compositions was in a league for it self. Compeared to other great classic restaurants (often with michelin stars) in the area Buon Cafe is relaxed and very personal in a honest way... We liked that so much that we had to come back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dengodesmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los gatos
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“One great evening in Florence!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

So, if you’re looking for traditional Florentine food, you’re going to be disappointed here. However, if you’re a true “foodie,” looking for the art of the cuisine, you will be delighted. Chef Francesco and his team create dishes, pairings and meals that take the freshest ingredients from traditional Italian fare and present guests with a magical dining experience.

Antonio, the food service manager at the Villa Tolomei, referred us to La Bottega del Buon Caffe. We asked him for an upscale restaurant with a great chef, fresh ingredients, a respectable wine list of boutique labels and a place where we might be the only table speaking English. The team, including Chef Francesco himself, greeted my family warmly at arrival with a sparkling, crisp glass of Prosecco and offered us our choice of tables. We sat and perused the menu while enjoying a “liquid pizza,” a sensational, sweet tomato water shot full of crunchy bread crumbs and a small, fresh mozzarella bite on the side.

We chose to forego the set menu in order to try as many dishes as possible. Appetizers included the beef tartar topped with olive oil ice cream, three preparations of foie gras, and lightly steamed shrimp atop an avocado and fresh tomato “guacamole.” The precision and attention to detail of the presentation is impeccable. For example, the shrimp were tightly aligned on the bed of tomato and the underlying avocado and all were arranged in a perfect circle positioned in the center of a dark gray slate serving tray. The stark contrast of the bold colors against the almost black serving dish was beautiful.

Next, the pastas arrived. After having pasta everyday for a week, I passed on pasta but my family would never skip this course. Both a ravioli dish dressed with grilled octopus and a chickpea flour spaghetti dressed with cod fish were delicious and meticulously prepared from scratch.

Finally, the main courses were served. We enjoyed grilled duck breast, prosciutto- wrapped pheasant and, the piece d’ résistance, grilled octopus on a thick, scrumptious section of grilled eggplant. This was arguably the best octopus that I’ve ever eaten. And, given my propensity to order octopus when it is offered, there was some pretty stiff competition for that type of commendation. Boiled before broiled, it was tender and seasoned to perfection. Delicious!
Although we had a wine in mind when ordering, we tapped the expert to recommend a bold red from a local, small volume vineyard wine to try. After all, when in Rome, do as the Romans do but when in Florence, drink as the Tuscans drink! We ordered the 2007 Testamatta, Italian for “hot headed,” from Fiesole. Wine maker Bibi Graetz has been identified as a fast up and comer in the region and the winery sits just about 8 kilometers outside of Florence. The wine was lovely. It started big, bold and robust but mellowed throughout the meal leaving us with a beautiful satiny finish. We enjoyed it so much that we asked about whether it might be possible to visit the vineyard on the following day. By the end of the meal, Chef Francesco came to inform us that he made a call and everything was set for us to visit at our leisure. Try to find attention and service like that from a restaurant full of tourists in Florence!

My son cleared away a dark chocolate flan so fast that we didn’t get a bite but, as he’s not a fan of vanilla, he left the rich, creamy homemade gelato that was intended to complement it. My husband and I each tasted it and then turned our attention to the two local glasses of Grappa that sat before us. Both local distilleries, Grappa represents the best way to close out such a gratifying dining experience in Italy.

There are several reviews that indicate the restaurant is too expensive, too small and takes too long to serve its customers but I would beg to differ. We are from California and the prices were not different than those we find at fine dining in the US, roughly $100 per person. With respect to the time required to finish a meal, this is about the Italian experience. Why would you want to rush it? Sit back and enjoy. If you don’t have time to dine, then don’t try to do so. Grab a quick dinner at any of the 100s of wonderful bistros, pizzerias, and tourist restaurants that line the streets in Florence. There are many excellent ones from which to choose.

A beautiful evening of fabulous food, excellent service and enjoyable conversation – life really doesn’t get better.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank annette f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philly
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“great food,beautiful crowd, fun evening”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Were we thrilled when the concierge at JK Place suggested this restaurant in an upscale neighborhood out of central Florence. It was the best meal we had in Florence. First the place was funky and cool in its décor. The ambience immediately made my wife and I smile. When we were greeted at the door we were made so welcome. We received a welcome drink and appetizer. The waiter was so friendly we wanted him to join us for a drink. It seems like a local restaurant from the crowd, many of whom seemed to know the staff. The place filled up with handsome men and truly beautiful women. It was a lively crowd but the room was not burdened with noise. The food was creative, so fresh and each dish more delicious than the next. Our two hours there were so enjoyable. I only wish this great restaurant was here in Philly. You will need a taxi if you are staying in Central Florence but it is well worth the journey.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marshallesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bottega del Buon Caffe also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing