We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dining in Florence”
Review of La Bottega del Buon Caffe - MOVED

La Bottega del Buon Caffe
Price range: $39 - $106
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: At La Bottega del Buon Caffe we have been producing seasonal authentic Florentine dishes for years. Yet, the summer of 2014 marks the start of a new era as the Buon Caffe team launch a selection of exciting new organic and gourmet concepts. In collaboration with the restaurant's new owners, Claus and Jeanette Thottrup, Buon Caffe's head chef, Antonello Sardi, has successfully developed fresh and innovative gourmet menus which are now available both at lunch and dinner. With the emphasis on natural locally sourced ingredients, Buon Caffe offers authentic Tuscan food that creatively combines the best of classic and contemporary cuisine. Authenticity and honesty is at the heart of all we create at Buon Caffe and our menus are created individually according to the season. Today's catch of fresh fish is delivered from the Mediterranean daily, free-range meats are supplied by local artisan farmers and our vegetables, fruit, herbs and honey are bought from our farm in the country. Respecting our Florentine location our menus are designed to reflect the region's unique gastronomic heritage and vibrant culinary culture.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best dining in Florence”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We ate at Bottega on our visit to Florence last week and found this to be one of the dining highlights of our trip. The restaurant is run by two brothers, one a chef who is obviously passionate about his cooking. The atmosphere is charming and more sophisticated than a local trattoria. The food was outstanding. We started with artichokes that were stuffed with a mild goat cheese, just perfect. Next their cacie e pepe pasta with licorice, which was, hands down, our best pasta all week. Other pastas at the table also stand outs. We ordered the sea bream, which was perfectly cooked, in a type of pesto broth. All in all, a perfect dining experience, wish we lived closer.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    30
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A spohisticated dining experience”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

A stylish, charming resuarant - just a stone's throw from the Duomo. They use fresh seasonal ingredients, cokked to perfection and served with panache and pride. Friendly, knowleageable staff who quite rightfully take pride in the establishment. Superb variety of pork - best in Firenze.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mokum1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sophisticated soulful food and gracious service”
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Our dining experience at this restaurant couldn't have been more perfect. The meal we had was not only delicious in every respect, the service we received was warm, gracious and refined. The space was cozy and initmate, and not stuffy. We ordered the tasting menu and every single dish we were served from the amuse bouche to dessert was inventive, full of flavour, and beautifully presented. While it was all delicious, the gnocchi and cheesecake were particularly superb. We're already looking forward to our next visit to this restaurant when we come back to Florence.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CanadaGal39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Florentine Restaurant Discovered!”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We have been going to this restaurant for 3 years and have taken friends and family there, all to rave reviews. A couple of times in winter, there was only one other table occupied. Now it seems to have been discovered and I hope we can still get a table! After several years in Florence, one gets tired of the same dishes on menus and craves more creativity and our first visit here with Chef Francesco and brother Host Donovan was a delight. It is small, seats 24, simple but chic decor, lots of wooden wine boxes and labels on the walls and has a very nice selection of wines, not overpriced. But the food, Mama Mia, it is wonderful, inspired use of Tuscan ingredients with a light touch. The 5 course tasting menu for Euro 50 PP is a great introduction, but please do go very hungry! Otherwise, ala carte is better for the less hungry. If the gnocchi is on the menu, order it. In fall it might be a pumpkin gnocchi with Pecorino cheese and the gnocchi with veal cheeks is to die for. We have had duck breast with balsamic vinegar and wonderful versions of fish and seafood. For dessert, the cheesecake is different than any I've ever had and must be tried. Light and not too sweet, it just melts in your mouth. The two-tone chocolate mousse is also delicious. Lunch is more casual and features a few dishes---pastas, risottos, soups and salads. Last visit there I had a chicken salad that was wonderful. My dining partner ordered the bacalao (a dried, salted cod which is soaked in water several days and cooked with vegetables and seasonings) and it was yummy also. I strongly recommend getting out of the tourist center, a 20 min walk or short cab ride, to La Bottega del Buon Caffe' in Le Cure neighborhood. Yes, it used to be a shop selling gourmet coffee run by the same family, the Gasbarros.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Reets7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A world class experience!!!”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We were staying about 5 min from the duomo... We walked (direction away from river) and it's about 20 min on foot. It is away from the tourist trappy areas and was full of locals. It's warm, cozy and calm.

Francesco (chef) and his brother were both very friendly and accommodating. We did the 5 course tasting with dessert and though gnocchi was not on the menu Francesco made it specially because my wife told them she loves it.

The best part... ALL THE FOOD WAS SCRUMPTIOUS WITH FLAVOUR AND INCREDIBLY CREATIVE!!! Examples of marvelous dishes included a pumpkin mousse with goat cheese ice cream to kick things off, a fois GRAS creme brûlée as a savory twist on two classic creations and incredible home made cheesecake with peach ice cream.

This restaurant is truly a 'best kept secret' type of place that easily rivals world class restaurants we have tried in New York and San Francisco without the hoidy toidy prices and attitude. It's a little more pricey than the typical places in the tourist mobbed areas but is MILES ahead in terms of atmosphere and food quality.

If you are a 'foodie' this is DEFINITELY A MUST! You will not forget it. We will def go back. Surely by that time we'll have to reserve weeks in advance...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frojit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bottega del Buon Caffe also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing