We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to eat just in front of the train station”

Trattoria dall Oste
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
Trattoria dall Oste is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 2,763 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $19 - $65
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Santa Maria Novella
Description: An Osteria should not be missed to let people appreciate Tuscan cooking, specialty REAL FLORENTINE STEAK. 'Trattoria dall oste is located just near the Dominican Church of Santa Maria Novella and the Central Railway Station. When at the Trattoria , customers are surrounded by a modern atmosphere matching with old pieces of furniture, which convey a sense of comfort, peace and hospitality.
Asti, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good place to eat just in front of the train station”
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

I found this place on tripadvisor while looking for something to eat before catching a train. It's just beside Santa Maria Novella train station and he place is nice, tidy and modern. Good variety of food and wines, cheerful and fast service and fairly-priced dishes. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 65397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrattoriadallOste, Proprietario at Trattoria dall Oste, responded to this review, April 21, 2017
Dear customer,

thanks for sharing with us your experience! Trattoria dall'Oste invites you to try our new restaurant in the Centre of Florence, in via dei Cerchi 40r. Meat quality research continues at Trattoria dall'Oste CHIANINERIA offering the best selection of Italian meats, IGP certified quality!

Trattoria dall'Oste
The finest selection of steaks in Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,088
    848
    153
    27
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great pizza, nice table wine, good service”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We went here twice during our stay both times for dinner. The place was one of the recommendations from our hotel which was close by. I love the décor of this place, very cosy yet modern, the wall made up of wine bottle corks lends a unique charm.
The bread they serve at the start is wonderful, fresh crusty with a hint of salt and warm which was a bonus, it was raining when we arrived there and eating warm bread and wine was very comforting.
Food was great both times we visited, we split a porcini mushroom soup and a pizza on one of the occasions, the pizza was great, wood fired, thin crust, delicious!
The staff understands English which is a big plus and the service charge of 2 euros per person was decent enough.
I tried chicken on the next day and it was delicious as well, pan seared with olive oil and just perfectly cooked. The table wine - chianti was had on both nights and went well with the food.
Very nice dining experience which we enjoyed, would definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mum_traveller_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrattoriadallOste, Proprietario at Trattoria dall Oste, responded to this review, April 21, 2017
Dear customer,

thanks for sharing with us your experience! Trattoria dall'Oste invites you to try our new restaurant in the Centre of Florence, in via dei Cerchi 40r. Meat quality research continues at Trattoria dall'Oste CHIANINERIA offering the best selection of Italian meats, IGP certified quality!

Trattoria dall'Oste
The finest selection of steaks in Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere and food!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stopped in to eat at this restaurant fairly late at night because it was a few doors down from our hotel. It was lively and welcoming, and the service and food were fantastic. We liked it so much we went back the next night, and the staff recognized us and were extremely friendly. Again the food was delicious! Prices were very reasonable. The service was very personalized, and it seemed they would go to any lengths to accommodate us and make us feel welcome and comfortable. A delightful experience!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sschmitz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrattoriadallOste, Proprietario at Trattoria dall Oste, responded to this review, April 21, 2017
Dear customer,

thanks for sharing with us your experience! Trattoria dall'Oste invites you to try our new restaurant in the Centre of Florence, in via dei Cerchi 40r. Meat quality research continues at Trattoria dall'Oste CHIANINERIA offering the best selection of Italian meats, IGP certified quality!

Trattoria dall'Oste
The finest selection of steaks in Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Average steak, mostly for tourist”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stay in one if the hotel near by, so its a really convenient location and its close to the train station. You can imagine most of the customers are tourists. The waiters are nice and all speak english very well. Unlike other popular florence restaurents, like ristorante republica, you don't need to have reservation to get a table. The food is average. As other suggested, they show the fresh steak outside the restaurent and seems very proud of it. So we ordered the steak of Florence for 44 euro, medium rare. The grill is ok. The problem is the meat. Its not very tender, and it does not have meat flavor. I had tasted both good and bad steak of florence in other places. This is not bad, but its not good either, even the size is big. It didn't give you the WOW taste. The steak is disappointed without meat taste. My mom ordered spagetthi with meat source. The meat is rough but the pasta is fine, the source is tasty. The wine is reasonable compare to others. We ordered a bottle of Banfi chianti for $15. Its ok, but not restaurant' fault. All in all, I would not say it worth 5 star. There are other much better restaurants in Florence.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stanley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrattoriadallOste, Proprietario at Trattoria dall Oste, responded to this review, April 21, 2017
Dear customer,

thanks for sharing with us your experience! Trattoria dall'Oste invites you to try our new restaurant in the Centre of Florence, in via dei Cerchi 40r. Meat quality research continues at Trattoria dall'Oste CHIANINERIA offering the best selection of Italian meats, IGP certified quality!

Trattoria dall'Oste
The finest selection of steaks in Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best pizza in Firenze”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was wood-fired pizza at it's best - I had the pizza with seafood - it was large and covered with mussels, shrimp, clams, scallops and calamari - wow. Paired well with red wine. Staff were friendly and helpful. When they got a bus load, the entire staff swung into action. We watched what other people were eating, and one couple got steak - it was enormous. This place is definitely worth a trip!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank castlesara2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrattoriadallOste, Proprietario at Trattoria dall Oste, responded to this review, April 21, 2017
Dear customer,

thanks for sharing with us your experience! Trattoria dall'Oste invites you to try our new restaurant in the Centre of Florence, in via dei Cerchi 40r. Meat quality research continues at Trattoria dall'Oste CHIANINERIA offering the best selection of Italian meats, IGP certified quality!

Trattoria dall'Oste
The finest selection of steaks in Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria dall Oste also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Trattoria dall Oste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing