We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - slightly overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Ranked #60 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a fantastic location - no doubts about it. The rooms were nice and clean - but there were many missing details. For example, there were only 2 pillows for the 2 of us, both very flat. Another example - the towels were of very poor quality - we had white fibre all over us. For a three star hotel, this doesn't bode well. If they were a two star hotel, I would rate them a notch higher.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reshma999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review !!

We are sorry for the 2 things that you didn't like.

We couldn't know with how many pillows you are use to sleep, if we knew it we would have put more pillows in your room. We thought that 1 pillow per person could be enough.
If you had said that you need more pillows we would have gave you some more.

We are also sorry that you didn't like our towels.
We have had and we still have guests that ask if they can buy some of our towels from us because they like them.

Even though you didn't like 2 things , we hope that the rest of your stay was nice and we really would like to welcome you back soon :)

Kind regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (911)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

332 - 338 of 911 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Hotel dei Macchiaioli far exceeded our expectations for a city center, affordable hotel. It is a family run operation where you are treated like a family member from the moment you arrive. The whole staff took wonderful care of us. The rooms are modest, clean, and comfortable. Paolo took great care of us weeks before we arrived, patiently answering all of my questions via email. He made us dinner reservations, and we were lucky enough to have an amazing tour of Florence with him as well. This is also located in the center of the city, walking distance from everything. If we are every lucky enough to go back, we will stay here again! Thank you for the trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a lovely hotel although lots of stairs up to the reception. The rooms are small but very nicely decorated. The people on reception were very helpful, there were no tea and coffee facilities but they lent us a kettle! The location is very central only a stroll from the big marble church sante Maria del fiore.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Asponge62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Spent 5 nights here in March with my wife. It was a very nice location in Florence within close walking distance to the David, the Duomo, and the main train station (Firenze S. Maria Novella). The hotel was beautiful in the lobby and breakfast area, and very clean throughout. The rooms were very clean and provided a nice retreat from the long days of walking and sightseeing.

The highlights here were the very friendly and helpful staff always ready to give you recommendations of restaurants, and the great breakfast and coffee in the morning to help you get your day started!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

I spent two nights at this hotel.
Location is on Cavour Street which is in 10-15 minutes walking distance from central train station and very close to most important sights e.g. Duomo, Galleria Academia.
There is no elevator, as mentioned in previous remarks but the staff helps you to carry your suitcase.
Hotel interior and rooms are nice. My room wasn't spotless clean but next day they cleaned it up well.
This is a nice old building with full of paintings on the ceilings remaining from renaissance era. Especially the breakfast room is really nice. (Macchiaioli is the name of these group of artists, as far as I learned.)
My room was looking towards the tiny little inner courtyard. (They have only two big rooms with street view.) So my room was very silent but had less daylight in the morning.
Bathroom is big enough and comfortable. Shower was OK.
Breakfast could be better in my opinion. They have wi-fi and in case of a problem with wi-fi, there is another computer which you can use free.
They can do booking museum tickets via phone for the largest museums. (I definitely recommend, otherwise you most likely spend hours in the queue)

In general, I did not have a big disturbance. Most of the staff is really helpful. But considering the price I paid per night (solo traveler, online booking two days prior to stay, 130€ per night per room), I find it overpriced. I was expecting something better in details in return of this price.
Yes, I can recommend this hotel; but I also recommend you to do a detailed comparison with other alternatives with the same price.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunraku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macchia_fi, Booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for your review.

We don't have the impression that you review is a very bad review (except for the 3 balls :) )because you self write that " I did not have a big disturbance ". However we would like to explain something :)

We have avoided to give you a room facing the street because we have only our family area
(for 3 or 4 people) that faces the street and also because you have written in your reservation " A quiet room would be much appreciated " . We were sure that you could appeciate that room.
We are very sorry if it wasn't what you expected.

About the rate:
yes you was alone but you haven't booked a single room or a double room single use.
You have booked a double room.
We think that our rates are very clearly pubblished and it is easy to understand if a traveler books a single room, a double room single use, a double room, a triple room or the family area.
Unfortunately we have only that only one single room and that only one double room single use and once we have sold the 2 rooms we can only have a standard double room to sell for 1 person and this is clear to understand when a guest books the room that he is booking a double room even if he is alone, not a singel room and not a double room single use.
Our only double room single use is another kind of room compared to a standard double room.
We are very sorry if you didn't find the information clear enough.

We agree with the suggestion you have written to compare more than one hotel , this is always true :)

We hope that you appreciate our answer and we really hope to welcome you again in our Hotel.

Today is Easter and we wish all the best to you, your family and your friends.

With best regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We booked this hotel with the idea of a small room and old style but in the hotel it was a very good hotel. Our room was wide and looked new.
The clerks were very helpful.
The breakfast was very good (tomatoes, mozarella, fruits, self service drinks, salami, cheese, cakes, ...).
Only the sausages and scrambled eggs were missing , too bad...hahaha.

In the end, very good hotel. I will definitly come back if I go back to florence.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yios123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel del Macchialoli and it was brilliant. Fantastic location, right in the centre of all the attractions. Fantastic staff, cannot fault them at all. Helpful for places to eat, nothing was too much trouble, genuinely nice people. Fantastically clean hotel and comfortable, very welcoming. Fantastic breakfast. Overall, we'd certainly go back. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 410 in Florence
2,417 reviews
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#84 of 410 in Florence
447 reviews
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#67 of 410 in Florence
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Fortezza
#62 of 410 in Florence
450 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#40 of 410 in Florence
856 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Colomba
Hotel Colomba
#76 of 410 in Florence
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel dei Macchiaioli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dei Macchiaioli

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 21, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $81 - $1,195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel dei Macchiaioli 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel dei Macchiaioli is a brand new 3 star hotel located in Florence's beautiful historical centre, the perfect choice for those looking to spend a holiday in the very heart of the city known as the cradle of the Renaissance. The hotel is situated in the historic Palazzo Morrocchi, centrally located on via Cavour, one of the city's most prestigious streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel dei Macchiaioli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing