We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Casci(Florence)(Great Value!)
$177
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $143/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$207
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $200/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Orto De Medici(Florence)
$165
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $189/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Il Guelfo Bianco(Florence)(Great Value!)
$151
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$410
$304
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Roma(Florence)
$294
$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$311
$256
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$311
$276
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $319/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Brunelleschi(Florence)
$465
$384
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $435/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Lungarno(Florence)
$626
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (935)
Filter reviews
936 results
Traveler rating
603
278
45
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
603
278
45
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast roomgreat locationtrain stationno liftfrescoed ceilingsfamily suitevia cavourpainted ceilingyogurtaccademia galleryheavy bagsfirst floorthe hotel staffhotel entrancewalking distancesmall balconytwo blocks
Filter
Updating list...
340 - 345 of 936 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a lovely hotel although lots of stairs up to the reception. The rooms are small but very nicely decorated. The people on reception were very helpful, there were no tea and coffee facilities but they lent us a kettle! The location is very central only a stroll from the big marble church sante Maria del fiore.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Asponge62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Spent 5 nights here in March with my wife. It was a very nice location in Florence within close walking distance to the David, the Duomo, and the main train station (Firenze S. Maria Novella). The hotel was beautiful in the lobby and breakfast area, and very clean throughout. The rooms were very clean and provided a nice retreat from the long days of walking and sightseeing.

The highlights here were the very friendly and helpful staff always ready to give you recommendations of restaurants, and the great breakfast and coffee in the morning to help you get your day started!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

I spent two nights at this hotel.
Location is on Cavour Street which is in 10-15 minutes walking distance from central train station and very close to most important sights e.g. Duomo, Galleria Academia.
There is no elevator, as mentioned in previous remarks but the staff helps you to carry your suitcase.
Hotel interior and rooms are nice. My room wasn't spotless clean but next day they cleaned it up well.
This is a nice old building with full of paintings on the ceilings remaining from renaissance era. Especially the breakfast room is really nice. (Macchiaioli is the name of these group of artists, as far as I learned.)
My room was looking towards the tiny little inner courtyard. (They have only two big rooms with street view.) So my room was very silent but had less daylight in the morning.
Bathroom is big enough and comfortable. Shower was OK.
Breakfast could be better in my opinion. They have wi-fi and in case of a problem with wi-fi, there is another computer which you can use free.
They can do booking museum tickets via phone for the largest museums. (I definitely recommend, otherwise you most likely spend hours in the queue)

In general, I did not have a big disturbance. Most of the staff is really helpful. But considering the price I paid per night (solo traveler, online booking two days prior to stay, 130€ per night per room), I find it overpriced. I was expecting something better in details in return of this price.
Yes, I can recommend this hotel; but I also recommend you to do a detailed comparison with other alternatives with the same price.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunraku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macchia_fi, Booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for your review.

We don't have the impression that you review is a very bad review (except for the 3 balls :) )because you self write that " I did not have a big disturbance ". However we would like to explain something :)

We have avoided to give you a room facing the street because we have only our family area
(for 3 or 4 people) that faces the street and also because you have written in your reservation " A quiet room would be much appreciated " . We were sure that you could appeciate that room.
We are very sorry if it wasn't what you expected.

About the rate:
yes you was alone but you haven't booked a single room or a double room single use.
You have booked a double room.
We think that our rates are very clearly pubblished and it is easy to understand if a traveler books a single room, a double room single use, a double room, a triple room or the family area.
Unfortunately we have only that only one single room and that only one double room single use and once we have sold the 2 rooms we can only have a standard double room to sell for 1 person and this is clear to understand when a guest books the room that he is booking a double room even if he is alone, not a singel room and not a double room single use.
Our only double room single use is another kind of room compared to a standard double room.
We are very sorry if you didn't find the information clear enough.

We agree with the suggestion you have written to compare more than one hotel , this is always true :)

We hope that you appreciate our answer and we really hope to welcome you again in our Hotel.

Today is Easter and we wish all the best to you, your family and your friends.

With best regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We booked this hotel with the idea of a small room and old style but in the hotel it was a very good hotel. Our room was wide and looked new.
The clerks were very helpful.
The breakfast was very good (tomatoes, mozarella, fruits, self service drinks, salami, cheese, cakes, ...).
Only the sausages and scrambled eggs were missing , too bad...hahaha.

In the end, very good hotel. I will definitly come back if I go back to florence.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yios123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel del Macchialoli and it was brilliant. Fantastic location, right in the centre of all the attractions. Fantastic staff, cannot fault them at all. Helpful for places to eat, nothing was too much trouble, genuinely nice people. Fantastically clean hotel and comfortable, very welcoming. Fantastic breakfast. Overall, we'd certainly go back. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews