We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous, charming & luxurious hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Ranked #51 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, charming & luxurious hotel”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel dei Macchiaioli for two nights, and it was simply wonderful! The hotel itself just has a feeling of luxury and elegance. Yes, it is a bit of a splurge, but totally worth it! Our hotel had a nice, quiet balcony that just lended itself to the overall romantic feel of the hotel. The breakfast room with the painted ceiling is truly unforgettable!

Not only is it a beautifully appointed hotel, the staff is friendly and accommodating -- the desk clerk made reservations for us at the Uffizi and Accademia. The breakfast buffet was great with more choices than the typical European breakfasts we've had.

The location of the hotel is very convenient to the sites...the Duomo is within 5 minutes, the Accademia Museum is even closer. I believe the train station is a bit further than a 10 minute walk, but not sure as we ended up taking a taxi from the train station to the hotel (a 6euro cab ride).

If you don't mind the price tag, this is a must-stay hotel. Even though it is a bit more expensive than other hotels, it is worth every penny!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denverfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for the time you took to write this wonderful review !

Thank you for mention that our breakfast has a big choice. We are proud about it.

Sorry about the rates but October is high season and the rates could be a bit higher .
Of course there are periods of the year in which the rates are very convenient, sometimes in the high season too.
The best think to do is to check our official webpage (hoteldeimacchiaioli) for special rates.

For example if you book using our OFFICIAL WEBPAGE you will have a 5% discount forever, even if you book for the high season, that you will NOT have if you use an online Booking-Agency !!

Kind regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    255
    37
    4
    3
See reviews for
181
466
34
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Pole, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our first night on our Italy trip was spent at the Hotel dei Macchiailoi. What a treat! The hotel is in a great location. It was clean and neat and beautiful. The building dates from a 1800s palace and the beauty and charm were the perfect way to start off our treat. The people all spoke English and were tremendously friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Wow your first night in Italy was here in our Hotel ? What a responsability !

We are very happy that everything worked great.

Thank you for your review :)

Best

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We arrived in Florence by train and were able to walk to this hotel. The walk was made difficult by the crowds and cobbled streets. The hotel itself was very nice and the location terrific. We were able to walk to all of the areas that we wanted to see. The breakfast was very good and the rooms were very clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Hello to Calgary :)

Thank you very much !!

Came back somewhen, you have new friends now in town :)

Friendly ragards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel could not have been on a better location ! Rooms were clean, however our first room was a handicap room and when we took a shower it got flooded! We complained and they gave us another room. The staff was very helpful and cordial. The hotel is a 3 flights of stairs. The young girl in the front desk grabed our larger suitcase and took it to our room, I was impressed!
The only complain I have is the breakfast and the coffe. The breakfast room has a coffe machine that makes a very disapointing coffe, It was undrinkable for us. The breakfast could use more fresh fruits and more variety.

Room Tip: Me sure they don't give you the handicap room. The shower has a problem with the height of the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veckyschmerler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Friends,

thank you !!

We are sorry that you didn't like our coffe . In the mean time we have a new coffe machine in the breakfast room :)

About the fruits , we always have fresh fruits, we are sorry that you found the variety not enough.

Despite these thinks we really hope to welcome you again :)

Kind regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We found this hotel on Trip Advisor, and it definitely lived up to the glowing reviews. The service was absolutely impeccable--someone was always at (or very close to) the front desk and willing to provide any services that might make your trip more enjoyable. They made us restaurant reservations, booked us taxis, and generally were great. We found the hotel to be extremely clean and comfortable. The bathroom in our room was clearly newly renovated, the room was a good size, and we were lucky enough to stay in a room with an original fresco on the ceiling! However, I think the best part of this hotel is how quiet it is--we heard absolutely no street noise whatsoever and only minimal sounds from the rest of the hotel. This is probably because it is a very small hotel and all of the rooms are on the same floor. Also, the hotel is slightly removed from the busiest part of the city center, which also helped to keep noise down. Overall, we were extremely happy with our stay and would gladly visit this hotel again on our next trip to Florence

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you !!

If you are extremely happy with your stay here , we are extremely happy with your review :)

THANK YOU

Have a happy life.

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The hotel was well situated for all the main attractions which were within ten minutes walking time. The staff on the reception were extremenly helpful . Don't be put off by the external appearance/ access from the main street. There are some stairs to climb to the hotel and no lift but the staff are very helpful in carrying the luggage. The hotel is very clean, the rooms are bigger than average and the bathroom modern.
Breakfast was more than adequate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevor k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your words !!

Soooo nice to know that you liked our Hotel and how we work.

Yes, if we knwo that a guest is coming up the stairs we help to curry the luggage :):)

Best

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed with my partner at this small hotel in Florence for five nights in September. I have to say I was impressed. I was prepared for our hotel in Florence to be noisy, but this was a little oasis of calm with lots of character - and a very nice modern, seemingly almost new, bathroom. Overall, better than some of the other four star hotels we stayed at in Italy on our trip.

Upsides: Very quiet (I value this highly as I'm a very light sleeper). Very friendly staff. Lovely building - with lots of period features in the communal spaces. Very central location, close to the Duomo and easy walkable to the train station. There were double glazed windows that opened fully if required and good air conditioning. As mentioned previously, there was also a good modern bathroom with shower cubicle and bidet.

Downsides: There really aren't many at all. There's no lift, so luggage has to be lugged up to the first floor, where the reception is (though the stairs aren't difficult - and there is a stair lift for those who can't walk up). There was a lack of in-room information, so getting to grips with the safe proved to be a rather embarrassing challenge. There was a lack of storage space for clothes - drawer space mainly. There was some, but we could have done with more.

All that said, I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends visiting Florence.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gth01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

we thank you so much for your review !!

We are happy that you have had a nice stay and we thank you also for let us know about few downsides of your stay. Of course we will do our best to be better the next time.

We hope to welcome you again :)

Kind regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#31 of 411 in Florence
2,286 reviews
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#63 of 411 in Florence
532 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#35 of 411 in Florence
2,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
#77 of 411 in Florence
1,145 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#57 of 411 in Florence
493 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#56 of 411 in Florence
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel dei Macchiaioli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dei Macchiaioli

Property: Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 21, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel dei Macchiaioli 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel dei Macchiaioli is a brand new 3 star hotel located in Florence's beautiful historical centre, the perfect choice for those looking to spend a holiday in the very heart of the city known as the cradle of the Renaissance. The hotel is situated in the historic Palazzo Morrocchi, centrally located on via Cavour, one of the city's most prestigious streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel dei Macchiaioli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing