We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One for the hipsters”
Review of Volume

Volume
Ranked #5 of 120 Nightlife in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One for the hipsters”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We were greeted by a slightly aloof barman, after a long wait and a big queue. We were served nice, but not cheap wine. The aperitivo selection was extensive, though it seemed that the locals were given preference - locals were given small baskets while we settled for just standing nearby. The love music was wonderful - a selection of popular English songs played acoustically, such as 'Take a Walk on the Wild Side'. Altogether, the evening was nice but the staff and clientele were aloof, bordering on rude, but sod them and have a good time anyway!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank McPlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    52
    14
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic little gem”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Excellent atmosphere, very welcoming and clearly a huge hit with the local cool kids. 100% recommend anyone who fancies a great glass of wine at €5 a glass, with amazing nibbles thrown in. We stopped by for a drink before dinner and could have stayed all night. Music was excellent too, cool and laid back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Buzzing”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Popped in here on the first night of our honeymoon and liked the atmosphere and the drinks and bar nibbles more. Bar staff make an excellent spritz, the happy hour bar snacks very good, including a stuffed pepper that I managed to find in a deli and bring some home!

It was busy in the bar so we after a few nibbles hheaded out to the Piazza and had our drinks against the backdrop of the beautifully simple exterior of Santo Spirito illuminated at night.

Found prices comparable with other bars we drank at and recommend this place

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carl_b77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Excellent Spot but it needs a second toilet.”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Popped in for a drink after a meal with my girlfriend. One drink turned into several and we got rightly plastered :)

Anyway this is a lovely pub that was lively and welcoming. There was loads of bowls of nuts, fruits, vegetables etc. on the counters for all to enjoy. It is priced well and the staff were very nice.

Their secret weapon is a quite unassuming gentleman who goes about making crepes that are amazing (and that's not the drink talking now).

A bunch of really nice people who made us feel very welcome.

Consider a second toilet. A few girls in a row wrecked the buzz as they spent ages beautifying themselves which led to a significant backlog of uncomfortable patrons.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank IrelandPad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No service- live music”
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We visited this bar with my boyfriend in October 2012. The good sides are there is live music which is enjoyable..don't expect very high quality though ..a cute local band who plays strange country versions of metallica and gnr.. We had fun and liked them.
Bad side noone sees you to give you a drink no matter how less crowded the place is, how you look them in the eye or from how close you shout at the bar. The waiters just walk past you while hitting you with their shoulder when they pass.
The people are not there for the good service. The locals are there because of lack of alternatives..

Helpful?
2 Thank Nightfall21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volume also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Volume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing