We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“never got to stay there but excellent customer service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
Ranked #24 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
notts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“never got to stay there but excellent customer service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

arrived at the property, 2 young kids (3 months and 2 years) in tow, exhausted after a long drive. sat down and had lunch (which was ok), and asked to check in only to be told that there was a problem with the suite which we had booked, which could not be rectified. Jaw dropped, but the staff on reception, who were extremely professional and friendly, told me they had already booked us in to villa olmi, their sister hotel, and we would be given their best room and looked after. which we were completely. So 5 stars for customer service to the guys on reception, and maybe one day we may stay at the mulino di firenze!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NottsAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mulinofirenze, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear guest,

we really apologize about the inconvenience occurred with your room at your arrival in Hotel and we are happy to know that your stay is been good in our sister hotel Villa Olmi Resort.

We thank you very much and really appreciate that you took your time to write such kind review about our Hotel even if unfortunately you didn't staied.

We really hope to have the possibility to have you here again as guest in our hotel as soon as possible in the next future.
Thank you from the whole staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    217
    38
    11
    3
See reviews for
175
664
18
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North London
Level Contributor
218 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a lovely hotel approximately 4k out of Florence, however, because of the circuitous route around the one way systems on the river Arno, the taxi fare will set you back between €15 - 20 because, despite the hotel having a shuttle service, it actually only operates 3 times in the morning and the same in the afternoon from 5pm, so any eating out in the evening in the city will be accompanied by the additional fare. I wonder if the hotel want a captive audience for their restaurant which truly lets them down. The food is certainly not authentic Italian, i.e., bought in fresh pastas that they dress up with a garnish, other than than, quite basic steaks, the plainest chicken breast I have been served in years, all accompanied by a few steamed vegetables as one might find in an English canteen. The service is the evening isn't very good, partly made worse by the head waiter who is always flustered, however, the breakfasts in the morning are excellent and there is a full buffet of cold & hot fare, as well as good fresh fruits and fruit salads, breads, croissants, etc.

I found that most of the staff were delightful, however, the reception staff were somewhat dour.

Another positive note: the hotel has one of the best fresh water pools I have ever had the pleasure to swim in that is fed from the River Arno that runs alongside, all filtered through reed beds. There are plenty of good quality sun beds and umbrellas and a few hours on the terrace leaves one feeling very relaxed.

The hotel is tastefully decorated and our superior room (one of the more expensive at over €340) was spacious and well appointed, complete with jacuzzi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneNorthLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is about 5km from Florence centre and has a free shuttle that works great. The hotel restaurant is also great, we ate there a lot, it was easy, tasty and not expensive.
It took us a while to find other places to eat that are nearby but here are 2:
Fish restaurant on the same street as the hotel, turn right and walk, it is on the right hand side about 5 minutes..
Second is fantastic l'orto del cigno walk right out from the hotel, cross the bridge and then immediately turn left under the bridge and it is on the right hand side next to the river - local Italian pizzeria, huge pizzas to share. Do not expect English menus or multi lingual waiters just good local food and wine...
We would stay in this hotel again but maybe for a shorter time, we stayed for 2 weeks..

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Showellsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

My wife and I were amazed and so relaxed when we had the chance to stay here for one night on our way through Italy. We had a great afternoon relaxing by the pool, but then it started going down hill. We ate at the hotels restaurant - DO NOT DO THIS! The service was terrible, and food below average and not worth the price. On being asked on check out "How was your stay" I told the hotel reception that the hotel was great but our experience at the restaurant was a let down. The response "Oh, there was 2 new people on last night". Sorry, when you are paying $250+ a night for the hotel plus food\drinks at the restaurant, I expect things like new staff to be managed appropriately. Would have returned and recommended the hotel, if not for the poor response to our feedback from reception.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank write2slappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giancarlo_Carniani, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor User,

Thank you for your review which had my personal attention.
As you may have read from other users we usually do not have bad reviews about our restaurant which is generally considered one of the excellence of the Mulino.
I trust you something might have happened that night and I am investigating with the maitre if we had problems of new staff recently.
I am deeply sorry you stayed only one night and you did not have the chance to stay longer and enjoy the Mulino.

Best regards.
Giancarlo Carniani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpinteria, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and it was not disappointing. This hotel was formerly a watermill and only has 35 rooms. It is not in the heart of Florence but it's about a 20 eu cab ride from the city center. They do have a shuttle to Florence and if I have to critique anything, it would be that we wished there were more shuttle times (the last one leaves Florence at 7:30 p.m). The rooms were immaculate, comfortable and roomy - and the attention to detail was amazing. Each night there was turn-down service with slippers and robes put out for you. There is a bar, with the most charming bartender, Emilio who will spin the yarn with you like any good bar tender should. We ate dinner in the restaurant both nights - based upon other reviews from TripAdvisor. The food was excellent. Everything was fresh, and the service was amazing - but not pretentious so you felt comfortable eating there. The grounds of this place are just charming, overlooking the river with so much beauty around it. There is a spa (which we didn't use) and there is no fitness center, however there is a walking/running trail very close by and you can walk along the river with the locals who are exercising and walking their dogs. I will never forget this place, it makes me smile just thinking about it. I can't imagine it will be a 4 star for long...so get it while the getting is good. By the way, our room was 104 which was directly over the pool you see in the picture of this place. Every time we looked out our window we felt like we were in a postcard.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CA_dreamer__103066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Masqat, Oman
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I want to start this review thanking all the staff who made us feel at home. Never is too late to do it! We spent our end of the year 2012-13 in Mulino di Firenze (9 days) and I must say I have never seen more friendly and dedicated staff, starting from Aldo and the other guys (sorry, I don't remember the names) always with a big smile for us, even early in the morning taking care of every detail at the restaurant, trying to please every guest. Big, big thanks to all of you. Thanks also to the chef, the quality of the food, the presentation, just great, or as my daughter said: "simply exquisite". And many thanks to Antonia of course, like Aldo, always with a big and warm smile. They, both, gave us the best recommendations about Tuscany.
Our room was very clean, comfortable, beautiful views of the Arno River and countryside. We loved the location of the hotel, far away from the city, but very easy access to the center of Florence (10 minutes driving). If you don't have a car, like us, you can use the free shuttle they have for their guests, just make the booking at the reception.
We are a family of four, our kids are 12 and 6 years old. I can say that this have been one of the most amazing family trips we have had. Kids enjoyed every moment, every day, every excursion. We had the chance to know some beautiful cities and towns around Florence like Pisa, Siena, San Gimignano, Lucca, Perugia and Assisi.
Can you imagine my little son crying at the Florence airport the day we came back home because he wanted to live there? This is the first time he does it. We have been in many cities around the world but we never felt in any of those places the warmth we felt in this hotel.
So yes, definitively it is a pleasure to recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to have an unforgettable trip.

Room Tip: When you make the reservation ask for a room with view. If they have the availability be sure you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mulinofirenze, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind review and for the kind words spended about the Hotel and the staff.

We are really proud to read that our Hotel is been an important step in your trip to Tuscany and that our staff has been able to make your experience in Florence so amazing and pleasant.

We are also happy to hear that you appreciated the food at the restaurant, our chef will be happy too.

Thanking you again for taking the time to write such nice review, we hope to have you here again as a guest in our Hotel trying to make your stay even better than the last time.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Pros: Nice place, view on the Arno, clean and spacious rooms, comfortable beds, reliable shuttle service to go to the center of the city.

Cons:
Disappointing view from the bedroom: the panoramic view turns out to be only one narrow window.
Despite the very good weather, outdoor tables were not set for breakfast (on the last day of our stay, we had to bring chairs to the terrace ourselves); it has not been possible to have diner outdoor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jude T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giancarlo_Carniani, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor User,

We are very sorry to learn you had a 'mixed experience' at the Mulino di Firenze.

We understand your major concerns where on two points:

- The little view of the river you had from your room
- The fact the outside space for restaurant was not yet operational

I do not know what was your room number in order to reply to the first question. If your view was not wide probably you had chosen the Classic Room instead of the Superior. We do not have all rooms with view and we do not sdvertise for that. Some rooms (the Superior) have a better Arno views some other (the Classic) do not have view or have only a very limited one.

The second reply it's easier since, as everyone in this period has experienced, Italy and Europe are having a very bad weather and almost rainy and cold every day. So it was a correct decision not to open the outside patio untile the weather is consistently good.

Best regards.

Giancarlo Carniani
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#16 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,843 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#13 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mulino di Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mulino di Firenze

Property: Hotel Mulino di Firenze
Address: Via di Villamagna 119, 50126, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mulino di Firenze 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mulino di Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing