We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
Ranked #30 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Ask for a room with a river view. The one we had was absolutely stunning. I couldnt get enough of the scenery and lying in bed just looking at it made my whole day. I wish we had stayed longer than one night. The breakfast was more than sufficient, and in a room with -again- a gorgeous view to the river. The personnel were all extremely kind and polite. We also had dinner at the hotel, which my husband found very good (my chicken was a bit too dry). The common areas are full of antiques and beautiful things to marvel at, such as paintings and vases and ornaments etc. Note: This is a hotel for romantics and people who want to see Florence but return to peaceful surroundings away from the noise and crowds of the city. It is also better if you get a car to move around (and do not type into the gps Via Villamagna 19, it will NOT take you there). Ask the hotel to provide you with another street name which should take you to the right turn, and then follow the hotel signs. If you do not have a car, there is a shuttle bus which will take you to the city and bring you back. All in all, a great experience at Mulino di Firenze. Will probably be back sometime soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apollonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

471 - 477 of 1,133 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here in early October. The hotel is NOT in the downtown vicinity so keep that in mind.
It is in a much quieter location on the Arno river up from the town.

The hotel facility is beautiful. Not much to see from the roadway, but within the grounds it is amazingly lovely. There is a very unique pool and pool deck (see my photo) and this backs up to the Arno. The reception area also has an outdoor seating area nearby. The rooms are on a variety of levels. The restaurant which I recommend is in the hotel and definitely worth a meal at.
We also enjoyed after dinner drinks at the bar on the main level.
The rooms were large and very nicely decorated. Lots of wood used in the ceiling. The bathroom was very large with a small chandelier.

The hotel offers a shuttle service but only has specific times for drop offs ad pickup during the day/night. You have to sign up in advance as they distribute tickets for using it.

Getting to the hotel is the trickiest part when you first arrive. The drop off is just off the river in what is considered City Center. However, this area is really a few miles in diameter. The pickup is at a small circle near the national library. It is not a location that would be purposely visited. Because of this slight misunderstanding, we missed the shuttle. We ended up taking a cab at rush hour which took about 45 minutes and cost 32 euros.

However using the shuttle from there out was never an issue. Once you know the drop off/pickup availabilities and know the drop off we never had any issues. The shuttle to the city took only 15 minutes, however coming back at rush hour can take some more time.

Pros...
*VERY nice hotel with several amenities, could easily spend time here if you don't want to venture into town during your entire visit
*VERY good restaurant
*Clean spacious rooms and large bathrooms with luxury amenities

Cons...
*I do not recommend if you are only staying 1-2 nights because you are then very limited to the shuttle schedule. It would be easier to maximize your time if you stayed in the city area
*The last pickup back to the hotel is 7:30pm, so if you intend on staying out late or having a late dinner you will likely not be able to use the shuttle. It is very difficult to get a cab back. It took us 40 minutes to get a cab near Ponte Vecchio to take us back on of the nights.
*There is (1) one-way road that is along the hotel and road noise does occur if you have a room near the road

I really recommend this place for people staying 3 or more days who do not have a vehicle, who do not mind being held to the shuttle bus schedule. If you do not like to be held to a schedule, this may not be the place for you.

I also recommend this for couples who want to explore Florence, but also come back to a place that is quiet with several amenities.

We love our stay here and would stay again.

Room Tip: suggest a room not along the roadway, road noise can be heard in rooms along the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crazynello01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Definitely recommend this hotel. It's perfect for a couple perhaps celebrating a special occasion or just getting away together. We actually came with our 3 year old and found it to also be kid friendly. It is not located in the city center, but only a few miles away. We traveled here by ourselves in our car and are so happy we had GPS, otherwise it would have been a bit difficult to locate. To get here you will eventually take a very long narrow road with stone walls on either side that will finally lead you to the hotel on the right. They have free parking and wi-fi and a shuttle bus to and from the city at specified times. We had breakfast included and it will definitely keep you full for a while. It's a continental style breakfast with an assortment of juice, water, coffee, cappuccino, fruit, meat, cakes, etc. the rooms are spacious by European standards.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveling-girl-21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

It is an extremely hard to find hotel - the address did NOT show in our Garmin GPS. The actual location of the hotel is (43.762098 lat,11.316646 long): http://goo.gl/maps/htr4F

The service here was absolutely stand out! Upon arrival, the bell boy helped us with our luggage from the free onsite parking right to our room. Later when hiring a couple of bikes, they were brought out immediately and with great help including a map and directions to help.

The restaurant is beautiful to sit outside and with great service and food.

Buffet breakfast is comprehensive, and very tasty :)

Only complaint is the size of the River View room is quite small (although with a large bathroom). While this didn't bother us as we mostly only spent time there to sleep, it might bother others who have large luggage and wish to spend more time in the room. On the other hand, it has a huge outdoor terrace area (bigger than the room/bathroom combined) which overlooks the water directly next to the restaurant.

Room Tip: River View Rooms have a huge terrace and amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jesstelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Mulino was so great. Best hotel we stayed at in Italy for our trip. The staff were super nice, helpful and patient. The Hotel is GORGEOUS! Our room was fantastic, bed was super comfortable. The pool was great - I highly recommend paying the 25 Euro for an hour in the spa - Sauna and Steamroom - get toasty and then cool off in the pool. They have a bus into town which we took one day and they also have bikes. We took those into town one day - but make sure you check the Weather! We got SOAKED riding home! The restaurant is quite good as well. We ended up eating there both nights. I LOVED this place. I HIGHLY suggest staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

It took us some time to find out the exactly location of it, and we were so lucky to come across with a kindly couple, they showed up at the perfect time and pointed out the currect direction.

Although situated a few kilometres out of Florence, there was a regular shuttle bus into the city and return regularly during the day. Please be noted that the shuttle service needs reservation up in front, but the vehicle is very nice and the crew have been very friendly and helpful.

Regarding the hotel itself, it's a very well designed and converted mill, you will agree on this if you have seen the pictures listed on its offical website.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nic_Beijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in September. On booking I had asked for a room with a river view and was not disappointed. The room was spacious, well appointed and with a superb view over the river. Large bathroom with jacuzzi bath. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We used the restaurant at the Hotel on both nights simply because the food is so good. Breakfasts are also superb! The hotel runs a courtesy coach in to Florence City Centre which has regular pick-up times throughout the day. There is also ample parking for cars at the Hotel's underground garage.

Room Tip: Ask for river view room- 106 is beautiful with Tuscan ceilings and Italian antique furniture!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wearytraveller111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 409 in Florence
3,316 reviews
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#13 of 409 in Florence
555 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 409 in Florence
2,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#19 of 409 in Florence
863 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#41 of 409 in Florence
2,200 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mulino di Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mulino di Firenze

Address: Via di Villamagna 119, 50126, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $123 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mulino di Firenze 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mulino di Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing