We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent gelato by the bridge”

Gelateria La Carraia
Ranked #5 of 217 Dessert in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Free Wifi, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Santo Spirito / San Frediano
North, South Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent gelato by the bridge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

One of top two we found in six days in Florence--definitely worth visiting. Between this and Santa Trinita, it's a toss-up. Go to both and decide for yourself!

Helpful?
Thank M2NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,738
    389
    106
    25
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“By far the BEST gelato in Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We love gelato, so at our first opportunity we went to Gron (recommended by Fodor's as the best in Florence). Frankly, we thought it was just "OK". Then, a local guide recommended Gelateria La Carraia (he said it was all homemade) and we were so blown away that we went there two days in a row and had HUGE cups the second day! The vanilla with chocolate bits (Strattiatorre or something like that) was unbelievable. Plus, the workers were SO nice --- they didn't just try to herd you through as quickly as possible.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pianolady609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The tried and tested BEST icecream in Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

This was one of the first places I went to for icecream when I moved to florence. And I must say, I tried ALL of the other ones I could fine, others that were recommended to me, had good reviews etc. NONE of them matched the depth and intensity of the flavour they manage to obtain at carraia. I dont understand how it is possible for them to get more chocolate flavour than an actual chocolato bar. Assuredly not artificial. But please dont take my word for it. GO AND TRY IT! No icecream will ever taste the same again.

Helpful?
Thank floshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fab First night in Florence dessert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Pistachio is my favorite & this Gelateria has a white chocolate/pistachio mix that was delish. Even though I am usually a purest, I highly recommend stopping in here IF you can get in. My husband had 2 scoops, coffee and dark chocolate, and enjoyed his very much as well.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Recommended to us and we were not disappointed. We had 2 flavours in a cone for 2 Euros- mixed berries and pistachio with something. Fantastic combination and slightly crunchy from the nuts. We will return if possible!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Crozpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria La Carraia also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Gelateria La Carraia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing