We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best gelateria in the world”

Gelateria La Carraia
Ranked #7 of 215 Dessert in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The best gelateria in the world”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This was the best gelato i've tried so far! I've tried a lot of others in Italy, but this one is really the best!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlenaKayumova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,831
    400
    111
    26
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“:-) :-(”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Godd gelato ok but.....Flavoursome options for sure - but come on,
grande should be grande not medium in a grande cone.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carla a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So good we wanted to cry”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This place is ridiculously, ridiculously good and you've got to try it. We went to a couple of other places, including Grom - overpriced and not all that, by the way - and La Carraia was both by far the cheapest and by far the best gelato we found. We came back four times in five days. There's basically nowhere to sit but it's right next to a lovely old bridge with views over the water where you can lean while you enjoy gelato so good that after a long day pounding the paving-stones I literally wanted to cry. Get the chocolate mouse. Get it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alethea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
181 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
“Best gelato found in Florence.”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

After extended stay in Firenze and many gelato stops, this was the best.
Note: We only eat pistachio.

Staff: Plentiful, not one person serving long line.
Price: Best found. (Paid 1,50 euros for double scoop cone.)
Selection: 25+ flavors
Location: Right off Ponte Alla Carraia (on Santo Spirito side); second bridge north of Ponte Vecchio. Look for crowd. Can't miss.

Tip: No matter where you buy your Italian gelato, know it's the real deal by looking at the pistachio. If olive green (not pretty), it's real homemade locally. If pretty green (bright), it's a fake.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dylann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The BEST gelato in Florence”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I've been to Florence four times, and I make it my mission to test gelaterias. Hands down Carraia is my favorite. So creamy and flavorful. It's always the last one I visit before I leave town.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jfoshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria La Carraia also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Gelateria La Carraia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing