We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply divine!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gelateria La Carraia

Gelateria La Carraia
Ranked #4 of 216 Dessert in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Free Wifi, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply divine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Favorite place for warm weather... great gelato at a great price! It's a lovely walk and cures anything.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LilySu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,699
    380
    103
    25
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
115 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Terrific gelato!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We tried 4 guide-book recommended gelato shops in Florence, and this was our favorite. The gelato is sooooo creamy! My favorite is Ricotta with Pear, but other flavors were also excellent. And they're very generous with their servings -- the gelato is piled high into a cup.
What a difference from the standard gelato made from powdered mixes!
Expect to see a line of locals waiting to get in. Luckily, the line moves quickly, and you'll soon be enjoying a bit of heaven.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hrsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Gelato - 2nd favorite in Florence”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

This place was almost 1st place in my book - barely got beat out by Gelateria Santa Trinita, but believe me this place was up there. I had the white chocolate pistachio flavor, and that was incredible. Clean and tourist-friendly, but not a tourist trap. They let me and my wife taste a few flavors before making up our mind, and were very kind throughout!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giurgiu, Giurgiu, Romania
Level Contributor
77 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Good home-made icecream, lots of flavours at very good price ( three cups for 2.50 euro ). I liked most Delizio Carraia and Nocciolosa. Next time I will try After Eight and Frutti di bosco.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Simple but tasty flavors.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

This is probably one of the best gelaterias in Florence, specially because of the price which is low in comparison to others around the city. The flavors are basic but very very good and some of their mixes like white chocolate and pistachio are simply delicious.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria La Carraia also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Gelateria La Carraia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing