We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best - but definitely not the worst!”

Festival del Gelato
Ranked #36 of 207 Dessert in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Duomo
Description: http://maps.google.com/maps?oe=utf-8&client=firefox-a&ie=UTF8&q=gelato&fb=1&ei=OWe-S7SHC4Hu0gTtgs2dCQ&ved=0CBwQtgMwAA&sll=43.772194,11.256233&sspn=0.005082,0.009645&split=1&rq=1&ev=zi&radius=0.24&hq=gelato&hnear=&ll=43.772194,11.256233&spn=0.005082,0.009645&t=h&z=17&iwloc=H
London
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Not the best - but definitely not the worst!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Some unusual flavours like mojito and limoncello (without alcohol), wonderful fondente (very dark chocolate) and mousse gelato that have an extraordinary texture make this gelateria a cut above the average. Good seating in an air conditioned parlour make this a welcome respite from the streets, piazzas and museums. Not top-rated

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pennydoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    177
    60
    26
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maitland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing for the rave reviews”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had two different guide books point us to Festival del Gelato, despite it's touristy look and location. It was our first gelato experience of this trip (though not first ever) and ended up being the most mediocre gelato we had the whole time. If you want options, this is your place as there are more flavor options than any other gelateria we encountered, but the 4 flavors we tried were all "meh".

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Has a million flavours and really like a festival of gelato! On my visits i tried profiterole (more like an actual profiterole than gelato but still great) and riso (like rice pudding), mojito

Helpful?
Thank Daniela G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good for choice and dietary requirements. Gluten free cones!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We originally stumbled on this place after searching for somewhere that did gluten free cones. Then we returned many times to sample just a few of the many flavours!
Great for food intolerances as they have gluten free things, milk free etc. great place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsKK81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Looking for the best gelato”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Here you will find all the good flavour gelato. Best in Florence. Pistachio is my favourite. It's a bit sweet though. I usually don't like sweets but its really tasty.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sbgemstw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Festival del Gelato also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Festival del Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing