We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and place to stay in Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Residenza dell'Orafo
Ranked #55 of 649 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location and place to stay in Florence”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The location of La Residenza dell'Orafo couldn't be better. It's literally about a block from the main train station (St. Maria Novella), 5-10 minute walk to the famous Duomo and just a few minutes further to get to both the Uffizi gallery and Accademia (statue of David).
The hospitality of the staff was superb and everyone there was very friendly and helpful with all of our questions or needs.
Our room was simple but clean, and had everything we needed. They even provided fresh fruit and other snacks for us each day in addition to the included breakfast. Though our room was right above the buses and is supposedly the noisiest of their rooms, it wasn't anything complain about (though we did wear ear plugs at night because we are pretty sensitive to noise). Don't let that deter you from staying at this great place. It will make your stay in Florence that much better!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTFernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laresidenzadellorafo, Responsabile reception at La Residenza dell'Orafo, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your review and for your kind words.

Your opinion is very important for our work.

It was a great pleasure for us to have you as our guest and we hope that we can see you again .

Warmest regards

Raffaella and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    103
    24
    5
    1
See reviews for
126
289
26
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I can be very short about this one: if they have a room available.... BOOK IT! FANTASTIC location right in the city centre of Florence and just a few steps away for the bus station. Great rooms with a romantic touch, comfortable bed and nice bathroom. Staff INCREDIBLY friendly and really made you feel welcome (Thanks, Greta!). Never had a hotel / B&B where they offered you a present when leaving and nice treats when arriving in the room. Would recommend this B&B to everybody. Maybe the only negative part would be the breakfast, which you have to take at a bar nearby. Not really bad, but not great either (great cappucino though!). However, all the positive parts about this B&B faaaar outweigh this tiny negative part.

BOOK BOOK BOOK!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NS T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laresidenzadellorafo, Responsabile reception at La Residenza dell'Orafo, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your kind review.

We are happy to know that you appreciated our service during your stay . We always try to provide and improve our services for our guests to make their holiday memorable.

Hooping to welcome you again,

Kindest regards

Raffaella and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is the first time my husband and I have ever stayed in a B&B and it was such a pleasant experience. The staff were very friendly and helpful, doing everything they can to make us feel warm and welcome. We were even given free drinks and snacks in the afternoon!

The rooms were cutely decorated, relatively large, very clean, and well-maintained. The location was also very perfect as it was a minute walk from the Santa Maria Novella Train station, and about 2 blocks away from both the food and leather markets.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris00016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laresidenzadellorafo, Responsabile reception at La Residenza dell'Orafo, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

You are really kind .... your nice words make us so happy!

We really hope to see you again :-)

Warmest regards

Raffaella and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Really good location, about a 5 minute walk from the train station and within walking distance to all of the main sites, markets and look out point (about a 30 min walk to see fantastic views).

The room was a good size, as was the bathroom and both were very clean.

The staff were very friendly. We were given a welcome drink and snacks and when we left, we were given a little present.I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laresidenzadellorafo, Responsabile reception at La Residenza dell'Orafo, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Client,

I would like to express my sincerest thanks for the review that you wrote .

I am glad that you appreciate our B&B . We always hope that our friendly and informal way to help our clients is appreciated.

It was a great pleasure for me to have you as our guest and I hope that we can see you again .

Warmest regards

Raffaella and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We chose this place based on reviews on tripadvisor and also it's closeness to the main train station. There were six of us and we were in the triple and quad rooms because we love our comfort! We were not disappointed at all. The ladies at the reception were wonderful, the rooms were big, new, clean, comfortable beds and everything worked. There's a supermarket next door for bottled water and a laundromat and the leather market is close by. We LOVE Florence and we LOVE our stay at Orafo.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laresidenzadellorafo, Responsabile reception at La Residenza dell'Orafo, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Client,

I would like to express my sincerest thanks for the observations you wrote in your review.

I am glad that you appreciate our B&B . We always hope that our friendly and informal way to help our clients is appreciated.

It was a great pleasure for me to have you as our guest and I hope that we can see you again .

Warmest regards

Raffaella and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Have recently returned from a week in Florence which was made even more memorable by our choice of staying at La Residenza Dell'Orafo. Excellent location, clean spacious room with drink and nibbles on arrival, the fresh fruit everyday was much appreciated. Giulia and staff were excellent (Giulia even stayed late on the Saturday night we arrived to greet us) All the staff were very helpful, always friendly and enthusiastic to offer advice particularly in choice of restaurants (Ristorante Accademia, Piazza San Marco was our favourite) Breakfast at the nearby cafe was also good with friendly staff. We would not hesitate to stay there again if we return to Florence in the future, thanks Giulia and staff for making us so welcome. Ian & Linda from Leeds

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMK241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laresidenzadellorafo, Responsabile reception at La Residenza dell'Orafo, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your kind review.

We are happy to know that you appreciated our service during your stay . We always try to provide and improve our services for our guests to make their holiday memorable.

Hooping to welcome you again,

Kindest regards

Raffaella and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Excellent, top-quality hostel right in the heart of Florence and for a very reasonable price. Giulia is the epitome of the best of Italian hospitality, bursting with contagious cheerfulness and extreme helpfulness. She also has the good habit of showering you with various little presents, which for us also a included a bottle of very drinkable Chianti upon our departure. I can only recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laresidenzadellorafo, Responsabile reception at La Residenza dell'Orafo, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for choosing "La Residenza Dell' Orafo" for your holidays in Florence and for writing your review.

We are glad that you appreciate our B&B and above all that you considered our staff excellent . We always hope that our friendly and informal way to help our clients is appreciated.

We hope to have the pleasure to host you again in our resort for another wonderful vacation.

Sincerely,

Raffaella and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#79 of 412 in Florence
1,135 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#56 of 412 in Florence
497 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Bellevue House
Bellevue House
#15 of 649 in Florence
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Joli
Hotel Joli
#64 of 649 in Florence
286 reviews
San Lorenzo
Old Florence Inn Bed and Breakfast
San Lorenzo
Alloro B&B
Alloro B&B
#33 of 649 in Florence
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residenza dell'Orafo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residenza dell'Orafo

Property: La Residenza dell'Orafo
Address: Largo Fratelli Alinari 11, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 649 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Florence, one of the most romantic and magical cities of the world, right at the exit of the train Station Santa Maria Novella, a step away from the Palace of Congresses (Conferences Palace) and from the historical center a Bed and Breakfast has recently been opened: “La Residenza dell'Orafo” with cozy and comfortable rooms, great service and an excellent quality price ratio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your La Residenza dell'Orafo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residenza Dell`Orafo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing