We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, Romantic, Delicious!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trattoria Lo Stracotto

Trattoria Lo Stracotto
Reserve with
Trattoria Lo Stracotto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #303 of 2,660 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $38
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: San Lorenzo
Description: TWO YOUNG COUSINS, TOMMASO AND FRANCESCO, OPENED UP THIS TRATTORIA IN SAN LORENZO AREA, WITH THE PURPOSE OF BEING A "NON-TURISTIC" PLACE IN A TOURISTIC AREA. FOLLOWING IN "CAMBI'S STEP, THEY MAKE TRADITIONAL RECIPES AND GENUINE FOOD, TYPICAL TUSCAN CUISINE. HOMELY AND FINE ATMOSPHERE.
Royal Oak, Michigan
1 review
“Wonderful, Romantic, Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We ate at this wonderful small restaurant near San Lorenzo Church and the Medici Chapels on our last night in Florence. Candle-lit, atmospheric and romantic, Great Pasta course and the Bisteca Fiorentina was outstanding. Good service too. All in all, a superb meal and a wonderful dining experience. We'd recommend it to anyone!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ThomasKrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    325
    88
    44
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kennewick
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant near Medici Chapel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Smaller menu but a great variety. Service was wonderful. They were willing to explain things to us, spoke english and had wonderful recommendations to offer. Wonderful wine selection. We had the stuffed chicken breast the first visit and a pumpkin gnocchi on the second. Their dishes were very different down to the dessert. We ordered what was described as apple pie with banana and coffee. We were presented with a banana bread type cake in a custard shape with sauteed apple slices and a coffee syrup at the bottom. Wonderful smooth taste with the brightness of the apple and richness of the coffee.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing meal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were in Florence and using Rick Steve's guide. Picked this restaurant based on the guide and were disappointed. The pasta dishes were average. However, one of my daughter's ordered a steak which was pretty much not edible. More fat and gristle than meat.

In fairness, the restaurant did take the meal off the bill.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Below average. Especially for Asian.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Good ambience. Just the food a little under par. The service was slow. Although full house, but there are only 2 waiter working at the front. Below average!

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sammiraquai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stracotto Review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

A great place to eat for grilled meats: steak or pork. I ordered the roasted pork with some sort of a sauce with the sautéd spinach--I had to refuse the meal because it was inedible--tasted like eating salted cardboard. Fortunately, my partner's portion of grilled pork(which was outstanding) was quite large and I finished his meal. His meal came about 25minutes before the other two entrees!!!! We were told this was the "custom" in this restaurant??? The cheese plate and meat platter were of high quality. The lack of an English-speaking wait staff was a bit problematic. So if you're not able to communicate in Italian I'd be weary of going here. The Italian clientele seemed to be enjoying outstanding service and cuisine.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Lo Stracotto also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Trattoria Lo Stracotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing